Posted
2 hours ago, binman said:

Ok.

But essentially that is exactly what Selwyn Griffiths said in the DL interview podcast way back in March that i have referenced multiple times. 

The coaching and fitness staff map out the whole year and look at all the breaks between games, travel, byes etc. They build a plan around that and maybe have to adjust for injuries and possibly easy vs hard games.

Its no surprise to hear that the players had a special training regimen for the 3 x 10 day breaks that took into account how we faded last year.

In fact I would be surprised and disturbed if we hadn't done that.

AS frustrating as our games against Geelong and the giants has been Goodwin has always focused on the bigger picture which is getting a fit and healthy list to a top 4 position. Its us supporters that feel the angst when we drop winnable games. I'm nervous but I trust them at this point.

Posted (edited)
29 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

The coaching and fitness staff map out the whole year and look at all the breaks between games, travel, byes etc. They build a plan around that and maybe have to adjust for injuries and possibly easy vs hard games.

Its no surprise to hear that the players had a special training regimen for the 3 x 10 day breaks that took into account how we faded last year.

AS frustrating as our games against Geelong and the giants has been Goodwin has always focused on the bigger picture which is getting a fit and healthy list to a top 4 position. Its us supporters that feel the angst when we drop winnable games. I'm nervous but I trust them at this point.

This is exactly right, even at development/Colts level, S & C map out a season plan, it’s flexible in terms of injuries, potential state selection/representation and school footy. The focus is on players being managed so they are as fit as possible come the pointy end of the season. That includes resting players and treating niggles if it means they will be fitter at the back end of the year.

Theres been times when I have witnessed a couple of weeks of low training loads and been sceptical, but the S&C have been spot on.

Edited by Pennant St Dee
Posted
3 hours ago, binman said:

Ok.

But essentially that is exactly what Selwyn Griffiths said in the DL interview podcast way back in March that i have referenced multiple times. 

I don’t agree, for reasons I’ve previously written. 

But you can of course tell me to get stuffed. I said I wanted more - I got it. I’m more than happy to acknowledge that.

It’s undeniably exciting to think about what we might see on-field if our fitness levels peak in the way the club hopes they will.

Posted

What I wanna see over the next fortnight against the lions and crows is…..

a repeat of the performances on Friday 28th May and Friday 4th June 2021

I don’t reckon that’s too much to ask 😅

Posted
59 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I have to say, I'm really hanging on the official team announcement - the most interesting possibilities for quite a while.

Yes...might....might give some context.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I have to say, I'm really hanging on the official team announcement - the most interesting possibilities for quite a while.

probably put team out with the sub on friday night

Posted (edited)

Re: whether Grundy is being omitted, dropped or managed. Assuming that someone is omitted because of team balance, dropped because of poor form or managed due to a need for a rest/niggle (or because of a bigger picture schedule of managing players' loads), I can easily imagine a scenario where all three of those converge. There's too many factors involved for it purely to be one thing most of the time.

Sometimes it's splitting hairs anyway. A player out of form might need a rest. Team balance is both a week-to-week thing and a season-long project. Omitting someone for team balance might (through not accident) coincide with a good time for a rest!

There's also surely a difference sometimes in how the situation is presented to the player and to the media/fans/opposition. That last group contains a pretty wide array of audiences, with very differing levels of priority for the proper running of a football club - and fans expect a much higher level of transparency than they'll ever realistically get.

Edit: I see that "omitted" is the word of choice this time!

Edited by Dees_In_October

Posted

Confirmed dropped:

“We have been transparent that we are continuing to look for ways to be more effective in front of the ball,” GM of AFL Football Performance Alan Richardson says.

“We really like the impact that Brodie is having in the ruck, but think he would benefit from more time as a forward. 

“To provide him with this opportunity, he will spend some time in the VFL and focus on refining his forward craft. 

“To Brodie’s credit, he is completely aligned and on board with this plan. This is a testament to Brodie’s character and the type of person he is.”

Posted (edited)

Grundy out jvr in, all the talk will be about a "failed" experiment. I'm still glad we have Grundy at the club and he still might be best 22 by end of the year. I'm glad the footy department are having a look at different combinations. I look forward to seeing what BBB and JVR look like together.

Edited by Bates Mate
Posted
57 minutes ago, A F said:

I'm wondering if we might rest McVee too. Is it okay to use the term 'rest' @rpfc

Yeah sure. If they are actually being ‘rested’ and not, you know, omitted like Brodie Grundy just was 

Posted
1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Yes, it’s a month on the calendar inviting more aerobic work to be done. It’s over and now we can stop talking about it.

Posted

Big change!   If we play better offensively, Grundy is in trouble

The fwd line looks a lot better with that change though.  Even though JVR was average for Casey last week I still think he deserves the call up

Posted
Just now, YearOfTheDees said:

The clubs reason for Brodie Grundy going back to the VFL simply does not smell right. So if he is to play in the VFL he is out for at least two weeks. 

Yes but they can still put significant training time into him playing as a forward in the interim until the next Casey game.

That actually might be more beneficial as he'll have about two weeks of that and then get to put it into practice at Casey.

Posted
2 minutes ago, YearOfTheDees said:

The clubs reason for Brodie Grundy going back to the VFL simply does not smell right. So if he is to play in the VFL he is out for at least two weeks. 

The club has effectively said that.."spend some time" ...  sounds like more than one game ( to me ) 

Posted
3 minutes ago, YearOfTheDees said:

Named as emergency which is just as odd!