Posted
7 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

It’s an absolute travesty this game is again at Kardinia in front of 4 toothless Geelong fans and their mangey dog.

#movethegame

Unfortunately, that isn't going to happen the AFL insists on the MFC going down there each and every season - drives me insane the inequity of this fixturing farce. 

Posted
23 minutes ago, Wodjathefirst said:

If both Tomlinson and Smith stay in the side that is to play against Geelong and put In extremely good games again,  it will give the selectors plenty to think about how to fit Petty back in the following week (if he is fit).

I wouldn’t even consider putting  forward a suggested scenario of who comes in / goes out. I presume (hope) that the selectors take the opportunity to look at the long game and rest / rotate players in order to make sure we have the fittest list available at year end to choose from.

Even if unfortunately we lose a ‘star’ to an injury come finals we should then be able to cover them with a player that is blooded and understands  our processes and can play their role in our system.

I like our selectors having big headaches. It gives them opportunity to maximise the strength and depth of the squad.  I feel bad for the players who miss out.

Agree. If Smith and Tomlinson keep getting games and then say BBB gets fit for one last tilt at a flag with Tom Mac and Petty is already back, we are adding depth and versatility to the list.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Sydee said:

Some of his MOTY attempts recently have been totally unrealistic IMO. I'm not wanting him to stop trying to take big marks - his flair is exciting and brings people to the game but flying in a pack of giants is not what he is there to do - in those situations he should be positioning himself in a dangerous position to pick up the inevitable spoilt ball. 

Yep, he's so good at picking it off the deck and dancing his way towards goal.

Don't mind him going for an occasional hanger but a few too many take offs at the moment.

Posted

We need to play to Kossie's strengths more. We don't kick into space enough when he's one out inside 50 where he can showcase his speed. Also, I'd love to see him given bursts at stoppages to get him some touches. Definitely too important a player to drop, nor Chandler who is a valuable weapon in the forward line 

Posted
12 hours ago, Palace Dees said:

Compress_20230612_224926_6836.jpg.754118c4eed7698fdf8668dcebee2f6a.jpg

Cute, but shallow.

Maybe try making a case with words than silly little pictures.

IMO Smith can play a defensive forward role as well as , if not better than Neal-Bullen.

In addition Smith provides another target inside F50 and can take a contested mark, something that Neal-Bullen doesn’t do.

Furthermore, Smith gives the team more flexibility should there be an injury, especially down back, again something Neal-Bullen cannot do.

Posted
16 hours ago, dee-tox said:

JJ will be the unlucky one for Clarry.

Not sure what to do with the small forwards. They are all not performing but i guess we don't have many options.

Bowey to come in and play Spargo's role?

Can't see how he could be any worse given Spargo's form since his return and may add the zip and some classy entries inside 50 hitting up a few more targets.

Something we could really do with as most can't hit the side of a barn with that last crucial kick bar Viney (on occasions) and to a lessor degree Lingers & Hunter.

He also reads the play well behind the ball on the press adding further intercepts and potential extra connections inside 50 when we do.

Clarry obviously straight in for JJ who is again super unlucky.  But unless JJ shares the wing wIth Hunter every other match or so who else comes out for him?  And can't see the FD doing a shared option.  They seem seem pretty settled on Hunter bar injury.

Posted
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Its actually worse, it's a thursday night, meaning get st-ffed families with school kids from Melbourne as well.

Gees forgot it was a Thursday, so we get stiffed again with no proper bye two years in a row. Collingwood of course get the sunday game and an extra 3 days off

• Angry 2
Posted
48 minutes ago, Abyssal said:

Cute, but shallow.

IMO Smith can play a defensive forward role as well as , if not better than Neal-Bullen.

In addition Smith provides another target inside F50 and can take a contested mark, something that Neal-Bullen doesn’t do.

Furthermore, Smith gives the team more flexibility should there be an injury, especially down back, again something Neal-Bullen cannot do.

Are you seriously comparing Smith to ANB? ANB wasn’t drafted to take contested marks or plug holes down back if a tall goes down or to go to a Charlie Cameron type.
I’ve  liked what Smith has brought the last couple of weeks but I don’t agree he can do the ANB role. Don’t think he has the tank. 
Once Petty comes back I think Smith will unluckily make way. 

Posted

Almost every week someone wants to replace the sub with another player. This week, its Oliver for Jordon. Unless those making the suggestion want Oliver to be the sub (which I'll assume is unlikely), another player has to make way. That player might end up as sub. But the sub, in this case Jordon, is already considered to be an "out".

Posted
2 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

pickett didn't win a lot of the footy, but stopped the overlap run from out of the filth defence and his pressure was immense on both quaynor and noble

This.

Similar to ANB who also doesn't get the stats but is integral to what we do, particularly defensively.

Posted
21 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Are you seriously comparing Smith to ANB? ANB wasn’t drafted to take contested marks or plug holes down back if a tall goes down or to go to a Charlie Cameron type.
I’ve  liked what Smith has brought the last couple of weeks but I don’t agree he can do the ANB role. Don’t think he has the tank. 
Once Petty comes back I think Smith will unluckily make way. 

Firstly, I wasn’t comparing Smith to Neal-Bullen. I’m saying Smith can do Neal-Bullen’s role and much more, ie take a contested mark, add another target, give a point of difference and add flexibility if needed. I believe Smith makes us a better team than Neal-Bullen.

Also, if as you say, a hole needs filling down back, who better than Smith to do it?

The fact that Smith has played on “ Charlie Cameron” and , from recollection, did a reasonable job, should you know,

1. He has the tank.  2. He can play an important defensive role 3. He can adapt to any position on the ground, something Neal-Bullen cannot do.

Posted
4 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Hibberd will play against Geelong - it will be the battle of the Zimmer frames

Hibbo is aging like a fine wine. Has not lost any of his speed off the mark.

We need to bubble wrap him in the lead up to finals, because especially against sides with good medium forwards like Pies and Brisbane, he is absolutely critical. 

• Like 16
Posted
1 hour ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Clarry obviously straight in for JJ who is again super unlucky.

It can't be a straight swap because JJ was the sub.  Somebody else has to come out of the 22.

Posted
53 minutes ago, Abyssal said:

Firstly, I wasn’t comparing Smith to Neal-Bullen. I’m saying Smith can do Neal-Bullen’s role and much more, ie take a contested mark, add another target, give a point of difference and add flexibility if needed. I believe Smith makes us a better team than Neal-Bullen.

Also, if as you say, a hole needs filling down back, who better than Smith to do it?

The fact that Smith has played on “ Charlie Cameron” and , from recollection, did a reasonable job, should you know,

1. He has the tank.  2. He can play an important defensive role 3. He can adapt to any position on the ground, something Neal-Bullen cannot do.

I wasn't aware that Joel Smith "has the tank", ie, has great aerobic capacity. I've never really seen that in him. What I did see yesterday, though, was enough to convince me we should persist with him as a key forward for a bit longer.  

Posted
15 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

The most important leg in football. White as the pure alpine snow too. 

Let's leave Mount Buller out of our own threads eh Jaded?

Posted
3 hours ago, Abyssal said:

Cute, but shallow.

Dont think you understand what Nibbles does for the team

Posted
4 hours ago, Redleg said:

Its actually worse, it's a thursday night, meaning get st-ffed families with school kids from Melbourne as well.

It does make me think about the long term future of Kardinia Park as an AFL ground. If the Cats play "big" games in Melbourne (eg Easter Monday vs Hawks), then all that is left are "small" games at their ground. Surely we have to go all in on a small number of major venues (ie 9 Victorian clubs at 2 major stadiums rather than 8 or 9 individual grounds) or Geelong play all home games, without exception, in Geelong. The crowd on a Thursday night at Geelong is in danger of being outnumbered by seagulls ...

Posted
14 minutes ago, Red and Bluebeard said:

The crowd on a Thursday night at Geelong is in danger of being outnumbered by seagulls ...

And tradies who clocked off at 1:45pm from their 4 hours on site and stayed around for a beer and free entry to the game. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Hibbo is aging like a fine wine. Has not lost any of his speed off the mark.

We need to bubble wrap him in the lead up to finals, because especially against sides with good medium forwards like Pies and Brisbane, he is absolutely critical. 

That chase down and pressure to get the ball over the boundary line down the Richmond end was amazing. Achilles looked fine. Give him another year.

Posted
59 minutes ago, Red and Bluebeard said:

It does make me think about the long term future of Kardinia Park as an AFL ground. If the Cats play "big" games in Melbourne (eg Easter Monday vs Hawks), then all that is left are "small" games at their ground. Surely we have to go all in on a small number of major venues (ie 9 Victorian clubs at 2 major stadiums rather than 8 or 9 individual grounds) or Geelong play all home games, without exception, in Geelong. The crowd on a Thursday night at Geelong is in danger of being outnumbered by seagulls ...

The current capacity for the ground is 21,000. They would get 55,000 plus if they played at the G, or 45,000 plus at Docklands.

Its a disgrace. This game should never have been scheduled there this year. The media should be asking why the AFL is locking out 30,000 people?

Posted
2 hours ago, Abyssal said:

Smith is a great athlete but does anyone really have the aerobic tank that Nibbler has? 

I do think he offers more on the defensive side that Brown or T-mac though and he's got great closing speed. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

The current capacity for the ground is 21,000. They would get 55,000 plus if they played at the G, or 45,000 plus at Docklands.

Its a disgrace. This game should never have been scheduled there this year. The media should be asking why the AFL is locking out 30,000 people?

They would if they were Pies, Bombers or Tiger fans, but that of course won't happen, as they never play there.