Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

PODCAST: Rd 13 vs Collingwood

8 hours ago, Demonland said:

Just putting together my notes for tonights show and I reckon this is a great talking point for next week's Mid Season Review show. Do you mind reposting this in next week's thread?

Just realised no one is gonna get my post — I’m having a dig at myself for asking Andy in live-chat for not having it up yet and why it was so short this week (tuned it on 950 wondering why it had ended so early 😂)

SO glad I can listen live tonight.. but I swear LW you said Tues night hahaha

5 minutes ago, Nudge said:

Just realised no one is gonna get my post — I’m having a dig at myself for asking Andy in live-chat for not having it up yet and why it was so short this week (tuned it on 950 wondering why it had ended so early 😂)

SO glad I can listen live tonight.. but I swear LW you said Tues night hahaha

I did say that it would be Tuesday last week on the Podcast but earlier in this thread I mentioned that we realised that we had tickets to see comedian Michael McIntyre on Tuesday so the Podcast had to be moved to Wednesday. We bought the tickets months ago well before the footy season and being a Tuesday night it didn't register that I would be doing the podcast on a Tuesday after KB.

24 minutes ago, Demonland said:

I did say that it would be Tuesday last week on the Podcast but earlier in this thread I mentioned that we realised that we had tickets to see comedian Michael McIntyre on Tuesday so the Podcast had to be moved to Wednesday. We bought the tickets months ago well before the footy season and being a Tuesday night it didn't register that I would be doing the podcast on a Tuesday after KB.

All good mate I’m not bothered was just anecdotal haha Michael McIntyre is in town? Nice one — hope you enjoyed it mate  

Another fantastic podcast boys. The drive to Shep this morning just flew by. Spot analysis of the game and well done to all the fabulous posters on this site who provided some excellent topics and questions. It is a wonderful format. We have to get the caller Beau/Bo (?) onto Demonland. I'm sure he could add a lot to this website. I don't post much but I'm an avid daily reader.

1 hour ago, mandeelorian said:

Another fantastic podcast boys. The drive to Shep this morning just flew by. Spot analysis of the game and well done to all the fabulous posters on this site who provided some excellent topics and questions. It is a wonderful format. We have to get the caller Beau/Bo (?) onto Demonland. I'm sure he could add a lot to this website. I don't post much but I'm an avid daily reader.

21 minutes ago, Bigfoot said:

Just want to echo @mandeelorian comments on another fantastic podcast from @Demonland, @george_on_the_outer & @binman. The nearly 3 hours just flew by. Quality from the panel and the posters who provided questions. Yes and let's get Bo onto Demonland !!!

#GetBeauOnDemonland

As always, another fab pod folks. Thank you for your commitment, the wide-ranging content, and the huge amount of prep time and effort.  

Long Car based post….. you have been warned….

Had a listen to the podcast last night in my present part of the world. A part of the world that is a giant, very hot sandpit. That is another story.

The podcast was great and a big thank you to Andy, George and Binman for their analysis and thoughts. A great discussion on what was a great win.

Binman went on a couple of times about V8s and Ferraris and I think I understood what he was on about. Mid-point of the season…. Evolution of the team structures and plans into something more sophisticated from our present baseline shown the game against the Pies. Mind you, we could aim for the best of both worlds and look for a V8 Ferrari.

I am a car nut. Lov’em. Had a lot of them from a Hillman MInx through Ford Cortinas, Toranas, American Muscle, Italian exotic, German tech…. British unreliable….

Binman’s comments on the poddy got me thinking about automotive equivalence in our team. No so much brands and particular cars, but more about the heart of the vehicles, the engines.

There have been some wonderful engines over the years.

DEFENCE

6 Defenders…… 6 Cylinders. There have been some great 6’s over the years and the present crop is no exception. However, we could start the discussion on 6’s back in the 50’s with Jaguar’s 3.8 straight six that was the base of the E-Type and S-Type saloons. A good strong reliable engine that evolved and was in use for decades. Strong, reliable and enduring, all good characteristics for a defence. But it an old engine that modern times has passed it by. Definitely not our present defence.

Other great 6’s? Nissan has had a string of excellent straight sixes used to power their GT-R’s great flexible engine and wonderful cars. The BMW 6 is another great engine and was evolved by their M Works into one of the very best modern engines. Both of these could qualify for our defence but there is one 6 That I think stands out above the rest.

The Porsche Flat Six. It has been around for a long time going through a lot of development and evolution and placed in a car hanging over the back axel in a unique car configuration. My personal favourite is the naturally aspirated 3.8l with a sports exhaust in the 911. Don’t get me wrong, I love the new Porsche engines but they have a lot of bits and pieces added to them these days that I do not fully understand.

So, for me our back six is a Flat Six. Reliable, strong, agile, powerful, sophisticated and well evolved.

MIDFIELD

Have to go with a V8 here. However, do we go down the track of the large displacement American V8s or do we go with the smaller displacement turbo assisted European? Hard choice.

Not the best V8 produced but one of the most significant was the Ford Flathead, the first V8 produced for use in mass production. That was 1932 and with 65hp was the fore runner of all the rest to follow. Not for our present midfield.

Looking at American contenders there is the Ford Boss-302 small block that was developed in 68 and used in the Mustangs and others. Over the years it was developed and evolved and was still used in 2007. A lovely versatile engine that started off simple and has developed into a more complex iteration that is still based on the simplicity of its origins.

How about the LSI that powered the Corvettes from 1997 onwards? It had innovation with an aluminium alloy block making it a lightweight V8 compared to others. Was developed over time to produce 350hp. Lightweight? Not our midfield.

The Daddy of all the US V8s has to be the 6.2l Hemi Hellcat that was in the 2015 Dodge Challenger. Over 800 horses in its latest iteration. Big, Brash and Ballsy….. a riot on Wheels. I drove one of these not so long ago and it is an experience not easily forgotten. I would like to forget it as it scared the hell out of me. So much raw power…so little control….

The Europeans have approached v8s differently to the US. Smaller capacity, turbo charges, high revving with sophisticated management systems makes for a potent combination. Mercedes has the 4l twin turbo charged AMG developed engine that is simply wonderful. Has all the attributes you would want in a midfield. Powerful, versatile, agile and responsive… yes please….. except that maybe BMW M Division has something to rival the Merc. BMW’s 4.4l  N63. I am not talking about the original version, that had a few problems with reliability. This version was used from 2009 through 2012 with some of the kinks ironed out. A completely new version was released in 2013 and it was a beauty. Still in use today and has all the attributes of the Merc engine above with over 520hp. A contender

Last and possibly best of the Europeans? The Ferrari 3.9l F154 twin Turbo…. A Ferrari V8 for Binny. It was introduced in 2013 and is used right across the Ferrari range rom the SF90 Stradale through the Portofinos and the Roma to the F8 a lovely engine with all the tributes we want in the midfield. With over 700hp and a great management system it is strong,  versatile, lovely to watch with a sound under full acceleration to rival 84,000 at the MCG. Give me a Ferrari V8 powered midfield any day of the week. We have the management systems to control the power and properly direct it.

Forwards

I will keep this simple I am looking at 12 cylinders. Why? Well in the first half of the season we have had at least 12 players tried there.

Something cobbled together? How about the Bentley W-12? It was made up of two 6’s welded together. Lots of power, over 700hp. But they no longer produce it. It is past it, old technology and very much past its use-by date. Could describe our present forward setup. Still producing the power but in transition.

So where do we go? Most of the great 12s come from F1. Not sure we want to go there. Much to temperamental and requiring specialists to keep them running.  

I would not turn my back on the Rolls Royce 27l Merlin a 12 that was used in the Spitfire and a few specialist cars. Old fashioned but a brute of an engine that proved to be reliable and went a long way to winning a war. If we had brute power in our personnel, this is the way to go.

You have 12s being produced by Ferrari, Bugatti, Mercedes, BMW, Aston Martin and Lamborghini. And these are all wonderful engines, all seriously complex and all seriously powerful.

What I want to see in the forward setup in the grand final this season is the engine from the McLaren F1, the BMW S70. 30 years old and still one of the most innovative engine developments placed in one of the most innovative cars of all time. It is still the fastest naturally aspirated car of all time.

I want a forward structure that develops into something that is ahead of the pack… a benchmark. I do not know what it looks like but we do not have the bits for a conventional structure so we need to innovate, we need to be the McLaren F1

Now all we have to do is get these engines working together. 26 cylinders… 2000hp with strength, power, durability and agility.

I can dream can’t I?

On 6/13/2023 at 6:01 PM, HarpenDee said:

In rd 13 2022 the 10-2 demons played the 7-5 pies who ran over the top of us. @binman analysis of that fixture is that was to be expected as we were loading and more heavily than Collingwood due to our 10-0 start and so therefore it was predictable that would happen. 

Do you therefore think that we should temper our excitement over this win? Do you think it is more of a routine win than a statement win given Collingwood are probably loading more heavily than us around the bye given our 7-4 start vs their 11-1. Was plenty of talk from Goody and others inside the walls that we were targetting this match and probably more so than Collingwood?

Or is the lid off and should i be booking flights back from London for the Granny?

Thanks for reading my Question Andy @Demonland and thanks for your answer @binman .

Just wanted to clarify I'm not an anti-loader and wholeheartedly agree with your answer. I agree it would be dangerous for us to drink our own bathwater after this result. (and already eyeing up a punt on GWS in the NT - GAMBLE RESPONSIBLY).

Pies in September will be a very close game.