7 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Ive never really cared what the makeup of the team.is..   just needs to be the best to do the job..  Bowey has slipped.  That's entirely different from any appreciation or otherwise of Salem.   If C.S. never plays another senior game im not about to lose sleep....  All that is required is someone to do the job.....properly.   Burning players fails that metric.

Possibly among the most important disposals is that off the hbl rebounding.

That kick or handpass either sets up the attack.. or gifts the opposition as our defenders will be caught out of whack if the ball suddenly comes flying back...or the oppo gets to break the line.

Every time youre coming out of that hbl its effectively a douple point play..   

I just think Bowey has slipped a cog.

Salem is irrelevant in that appraisal. 

Hmm interesting you think he is slipping.  Thought he has been pretty solid player this year, more consistent than most anyway!  Our rebound off the half back is an interesting one.  It seems we prefer to use Rivers/Hibberd as running HB options, McVee has lost a bit of his dash last few weeks and i think Bowey is like our designated inside preferred kicker. 

Ideally would like to see him with more run and gun in his game as he is really creative i am not sure HB allows him to do that all that often.  He was pretty highly rated as a junior as a HF and even wing at times....would like to see him tested in these roles. Flexible players are valuable ones, Goodwin should experiment with him a little.   Would be a shame to see him pegged as HBF for life, much like Salem :P

17 minutes ago, A F said:

McVee has struggled the last two weeks. Had three kicked on him in 5 minutes against Richmond. As soon as Salem is fit, he comes straight in for McVee IMV. 

As for moving to QLD, are we serious here? There's about 39 things on every weekend in Melbourne. In QLD you sit on a beach and then get cycloned.

I've got a mate that moved up there too. An absolute nuffy, love him, but he likes the very slow life. It'll get warmer in Melbourne (climate) and extreme coldness as well (climate). Whereas, QLD'll just burn. We're in a very privileged position those of us living in Melbourne. 

I'm not sure what you're talking about with the QLD stuff mate??

12 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

All good, DD. I read that as the AFL ticket gets you into both matches, and that there isn’t a separate VFL ticket. 

In any case myself and my mob will be there cheering the mighty Dees on.

1 minute ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Hmm interesting you think he is slipping.  Thought he has been pretty solid player this year, more consistent than most anyway!  Our rebound off the half back is an interesting one.  It seems we prefer to use Rivers/Hibberd as running HB options, McVee has lost a bit of his dash last few weeks and i think Bowey is like our designated inside preferred kicker. 

Ideally would like to see him with more run and gun in his game as he is really creative i am not sure HB allows him to do that all that often.  He was pretty highly rated as a junior as a HF and even wing at times....would like to see him tested in these roles. Flexible players are valuable ones, Goodwin should experiment with him a little.   Would be a shame to see him pegged as HBF for life, much like Salem :P

His disposal is my only concern.  His "footy" is fine.... but in the end it's what you do with it.  Imo.. his finishing has slipped.Now is this a case of he's expanding his outward view and options...but just not hitting that mark ? I dunno.  Weightingof delivery is a skill...but before you do so you have to know whether to loft the ball over your team mate to allow him to turn/ release his opponent or keep it low to protect it.

He seems to get this wrong. Increasingly of late ) effectively creating a contest where there ought not be one.  Its wastes otherwise good 'footy'.

When he comes forward he seems better... but his primary job is not forward.

Just my opinion 

34 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Christopher Skase put me off returning to Qld forever. Never been back.

Should never have tried again with an AFL club on the Gold Coast. People go there to play golf,eat seafood and die. 

5 minutes ago, Deebauched said:

Christopher Skase put me off returning to Qld forever. Never been back.

Should never have tried again with an AFL club on the Gold Coast. People go there to play golf,eat seafood and die. 

Well, the golf and seafood sounds enticing.

2 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Hi-Dilly-Ho Ned Flanders is playing for the Gold Coast

A left footer 🤔

19 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Hi-Dilly-Ho Ned Flanders is playing for the Gold Coast

Was in the same draft year as Kozzy, LJ etc.  Pretty sure he was rated as a top 10 pick much of the way through (somewhere around 8 for quite a while) before GC got him at pick 11

Edited by Demon Dynasty

What's the deal with the VFL team yet to be announced, despite the game being in less than 24 hours and the players will have already flown up there.

I've searched everywhere - including the Casey demons twitter account and nada for both us and the Suns. Seems very strange. 

Any insight you could share @KC from Casey?

2 hours ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Competition at HF is pretty tight with Kossie, ANB, Chin in there and Spargo out.

When Salem is fit there will may be someone else injured in the backline to ease his path. If not I'd prefer him to push Gus to the midfield but that's probably at the expense of JJ.

3 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Ive never really cared what the makeup of the team.is..   just needs to be the best to do the job..  Bowey has slipped.  That's entirely different from any appreciation or otherwise of Salem.   If C.S. never plays another senior game im not about to lose sleep....  All that is required is someone to do the job.....properly.   Burning players fails that metric.

Possibly among the most important disposals is that off the hbl rebounding.

That kick or handpass either sets up the attack.. or gifts the opposition as our defenders will be caught out of whack if the ball suddenly comes flying back...or the oppo gets to break the line.

Every time youre coming out of that hbl its effectively a douple point play..   

I just think Bowey has slipped a cog.

Salem is irrelevant in that appraisal. 

I can't agree about Bowey. His disposal is unarguably elite for his position. not based on opinion, based on statistical evidence. For some reason many posters seem to think their own eye and faulty recollection are a more accurate measure, it's hard to argue when facts don't come into it and people just think they are right regardless.

The loopy kicks you are talking about, from my viewing (warning, opinion to follow...) seem to happen when the back half is full of players and there is no option of punching a flat pass, you have to go either over or under. If you look at any pressured back half play from pretty much any player, you will see some instances where they pass the ball to someone else and put them under pressure. It is just the nature of trying to exit a congested area.

16 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Who and where ? 

The Swan Valley Vampires. 

We can then begin a ‘Gothic’ round in the early 2030’s where the Demons, Devils and Vampires mercilessly feast on all the other hapless club animals in Perth Stadium that will aptly be renamed the ‘Blood Bath’. 

That’s my Elevator speech for when they begin the recruitment process for Dill. 

16 hours ago, Winners at last said:

Chol and Casboult are barely AFL standard.

Chol kicked 44 goals last year.

More than Kozzy, Riewoldt, Breust and Mihocek and more than any Melbourne player other than Fritsch. 

21 minutes ago, FlashInThePan said:

I can't agree about Bowey. His disposal is unarguably elite for his position. not based on opinion, based on statistical evidence. For some reason many posters seem to think their own eye and faulty recollection are a more accurate measure, it's hard to argue when facts don't come into it and people just think they are right regardless.

The loopy kicks you are talking about, from my viewing (warning, opinion to follow...) seem to happen when the back half is full of players and there is no option of punching a flat pass, you have to go either over or under. If you look at any pressured back half play from pretty much any player, you will see some instances where they pass the ball to someone else and put them under pressure. It is just the nature of trying to exit a congested area.

Strangely  i seldom if ever rely on stats.  Applying a numerical outcome via an arbitrary metric concerning an action/reaction with no scientific control seems futile. 

Then there's watching. Archaic I appreciate. 

19 hours ago, loges said:

Why would Hibberd be a late out ?

Because Gold Coast will stretch our defence. Bringing Casboult in is a ploy by Dew to stretch us. There's no way our tall forwards are going to be just JVR and Gawn. We've gone 3 talls up forward all year so I can't see Goody then throwing Petty down back to cover Chol or Lukosius. 

Also, Hibberd has a sore achilles

Edited by At the break of Gawn

2 hours ago, MoeSyzlak said:

Chol kicked 44 goals last year.

More than Kozzy, Riewoldt, Breust and Mihocek and more than any Melbourne player other than Fritsch. 

He seemed to get a few 'Joe the Goose' type goals.

Have you seen any GC matches this year? His efforts have been deplorable, particularly for a guy so big and athletic.

1 minute ago, Winners at last said:

He seemed to get a few 'Joe the Goose' type goals.

Have you seen any GC matches this year? His efforts have been deplorable, particularly for a guy so big and athletic.

Watched a few last year and thought he was more than handy. Had hoped we would pick him up. 

Haven’t watched any suns game this year but have heard he has been very lazy and average. 

5 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Just a few other posts in this thread. Sorry mate. Should have made that clearer. Little bit of Friday morning ranting from AF.

3 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Strangely  i seldom if ever rely on stats.  Applying a numerical outcome via an arbitrary metric concerning an action/reaction with no scientific control seems futile. 

Then there's watching. Archaic I appreciate. 

Statistically speaking I would agree with you.

1 hour ago, MoeSyzlak said:

Watched a few last year and thought he was more than handy. Had hoped we would pick him up. 

Haven’t watched any suns game this year but have heard he has been very lazy and average. 

The correct answer is "sorry I got it wrong & Chol has been quite an effective forward for GC"

20 hours ago, DubDee said:

Top of 12oC down here on Saturday?  not even winter yet FFS!

No wonder half me mates are moving to QLD

Harden up DubDee. That's a summers day in Dublin. 

1 hour ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Because Gold Coast will stretch our defence. Bringing Casboult in is a ploy by Dew to stretch us. There's no way our tall forwards are going to be just JVR and Gawn. We've gone 3 talls up forward all year so I can't see Goody then throwing Petty down back to cover Chol or Lukosius. 

Also, Hibberd has a sore achilles

Let me guess, he was icing it after the game. Short odds he'll be icing again this week and next week and the week after that and probably every week for the rest of the year 

6 hours ago, monoccular said:

Agree 100%, when he is near 100%.  
When he shows his best  form and stamina at Casey, even if it takes a month,  he should be straight back in, but not before. 

Give me the 2021 Salem & I’ll be vey happy

On the other hand 2022 Salem after a long injury was pretty ordinary 

2023 Salem after another long injury really  concerns me, no way he’s a walk up start, he will have to earn his place

We got the trifecta of umpires this week 31, 32, and 33. Have no idea on rule of the week, but i guess we will have to wait to see what comes up tonight. The ambiguity of the push in the back rule, which is so open to interpretation by one individual one week and then differs the following week.  Then what about the tearing off of the head from the torso, and the degree of how dazed the individual is or for that matter who they are, and are playing for.

Both these rules will come into play heavily tonight, consistency will be appreciated