40 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

22 minutes ago, DeeMee said:

Does this mean Melksham is still in?

Surely if May in doubt the Tommo wouldn’t be dropped?

The named bench includes no talls (except TMac) so if May is a late out he is being replaced by Hibberd probably.

Or are we allowed to bring someone into the 26 if there is a withdrawal? If so, what's the point of naming emergencies? I can't keep up.

The names were submitted after training and any potential scan that took place. Why would they drop Tommo if there was  a shred of doubt on Mays injury. I call BS 

17 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Franklin back in. Will we fall for the obvious trick where he plays up the ground and drags May away from defence. (cue the praise for May when Buddy only scores one goal)... Buddy's not the man anymore

May has to go with him. You can’t leave him on his own. 
The drive has to be on the midfield. 
the Swans Forward Line has to be starved of opportunities 

Not a bad team for this weekend given the available troops.

Quite a few options and flexibility in the 26 named. Strange back 6 named with Chandler and Hunter back there. Looking at the team I think they might line up a below at the first center bounce.

B: Lever, May, McVee

HB: Bowey, Petty, Rivers

C: Hunter, Oliver, Langdon

HF: ANB, TMac, Spargo

F: Chandler, Brown, Fritsch

Fol: Grundy, Petracca, Viney

I: JVR, Brayshaw, Sparrow, Dunstan

SUB: Melksham

Mind you, if the Midfield play the way they did last week then it will not matter who is in our front and back 50m arcs. I hope the midfield respond to their collective game last week and lift the intensity and really keep the pressure on the player and the ball.

Will be interested to see how the coached use JVR. Tmac to be second ruck and JVR to slot into his role when he is in there? JRV to start closer to goal when TMac is rucking? Will be watching carefully.

Dees by not very many in a close game at the G!

1 hour ago, DeeMee said:

Does this mean Melksham is still in?

Surely if May in doubt the Tommo wouldn’t be dropped?

My take...

precautionary only

Will play subject to anything ugly of course

8 hours ago, Demonland said:

I once worked with a guy who called me David. I didn't correct him straight away and then it got to the point where it would have been awkward to correct him and then I guess I just became David.

Hi David

IF IF May misses agian then obviously has reinjured and if that is the case im calling it at least 8 weeks out🙄

Just like pre round 1 if there is even the slightest chance May is underdone rest him and make sure he's right long term. We have coverage in defence and if we lose to the Swans I don't think it will be because of their key forwards.

The problem if May is injured again isn’t just for his stopping ability it’s that he’s a brilliant playmaker, takes heaps of intercept marks and wins a stack of the ball…we have a lot of good defenders but he is the general back there

any idea about the situation with Harmes?

5 minutes ago, DubDee said:

any idea about the situation with Harmes?

Yeah that’s an interesting one. Hopefully all is ok. 

May redoing a calf in round 3 after playing 0 games and missing half a season sounds about as MFCSS as you can get. 

We’ll need @kev martin Saturday morning at the Captain’s Run for Maywatch. 

34 minutes ago, picket fence said:

IF IF May misses agian then obviously has reinjured and if that is the case im calling it at least 8 weeks out🙄

That’s a bit much. I reckon if there was anything at all in it, they wouldn’t risk it. It’s during the week so the scans and doctors would have seen the results before teams were named and would have had Tommo in the extended squad.

Edited by Gawndy the Great

8 hours ago, Demonland said:

I once worked with a guy who called me David. I didn't correct him straight away and then it got to the point where it would have been awkward to correct him and then I guess I just became David.

Yeah I've had a few of those. 'Nick' seems to clock up a few hits 

Channel 9 sports news stated May left the ground but returned and completed his session .

Would be annoying if we were rushing to get him back and this happened ad a result.

4 hours ago, adonski said:

Harmes soft dropped?

Possibly, but you’d imagine he’d be dropped regardless.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

2 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

We’ll need @kev martin Saturday morning at the Captain’s Run for Maywatch. 

Will this be at Gosch's? I might even head down if it is!

Edited by layzie

Simon says May Will definitely play, if not Tomlinson will come back into the team. Who said May will not play are we jumping at shadows?

Swans have a good combo of pace through their lines - Florent and Blakey across half back, then Mcinerney, Gulden and Stephen’s on the wings and then Warner and Papley forward of the footy.

Whilst their inside Mids of Heeney, Mills, Parker and Rowbottom are tough competitors and we will be pressed again to win clearances.  

It’s a hard one but watching the GF shows they are vulnerable if you can get supply into the forward line really quickly.  It will start with Centre clearances where we need guns like JV, Clarry and TRAC to be af their best. 

9 hours ago, layzie said:

Will this be at Gosch's? I might even head down if it is!

They usually are layz, couldn't see anything on the club site.

2 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

They usually are layz, couldn't see anything on the club site.

What a joke. 

He goes at the ball hard, he creates a contest and his follow-up at ground level is exceptional.

This is what I enjoyed reading about JVR, Brown anc TMac are both getting on, they’re not done but they have their limitations. Brown’s goal kicking is solid and his marking is at times too (our delivery and slow ball movement doesn’t help his cause) but if he doesn’t mark it then he ability to impact that contest is almost gone, he does lay the occasional tackle. Tmacs issues have been well documented on here. Having JVR and Chandler in the fwd line gives us something different, which is what we lacked last season, we’d become very stale.