BDA 23,048 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 rotten luck but i'm sure he'll be back, fit and firing next season. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 (edited) Of all the injuries this year, this one is the most devastating as a fan. Edited August 8, 2023 by layzie 3 Quote
Fanatique Demon 2,764 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 I definitely feel for Harry. I missed the Sydney Olympics 400m final with the same injury. True story. It’s still fresh in my memory. I had gone to the bathroom and was running back to the TV to watch the 400m final when I slipped on the marble floor and jammed my foot between the couch and floor, sustaining the dreaded lisfranc ligament injury. I was rolling around the floor in agony while the race was run. 4 1 2 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 FMD. Hopefully he’ll be right for pre season 1 Quote
At the break of Gawn 4,515 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Ben Brown out with knee soreness this week. Tom Mac playing in the VFL It’s down to 3 options: Grundy Schache Smith Quote
jules7 816 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 This sucks big time, really feel for Harrison, he is so important to our team. Wishing him a successful recovery. We will miss him and his determination especially in finals. 1 1 Quote
Engorged Onion 10,226 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 5 minutes ago, bandicoot said: Are you equating turner to petty. Petty is pivotal to our flag chances. Supporters are on tensor hooks Nah, its was more the point that irrespective of context (importance of player) the response should (could) be the same. Of course its not, and I just think its hypocritical. Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Just now, Gawndy the Great said: FMD. Hopefully he’ll be right for pre season Yep it’s not just a worry for this year but it’s the sort of injury that can really hamper you for a long long time. Hopefully by managing it well now, it’ll have a better long term outcome for us. The endless list of injuries this seasons can get in the bin! 2 Quote
OhMyDees 1,834 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Super gutted for Petts but at the same time very bullish about season 2024. Reckon he could kick 50+ if his body holds up! Quote
Demons11 7,151 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 1 minute ago, At the break of Gawn said: Ben Brown out with knee soreness this week. Tom Mac playing in the VFL It’s down to 3 options: Grundy Schache Smith Hopefully T Mac back into the seniors in a couple of weeks 3 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Bad news for petts. We need him long term wether forward or back . Take all the time you need 1 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 (edited) Big plugger McDonald back, league in trouble. Edited August 8, 2023 by david_neitz_is_my_dad 1 Quote
Neil Crompton 5,852 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 2 minutes ago, Fanatique Demon said: I definitely feel for Harry. I missed the Sydney Olympics 400m final with the same injury. True story. It’s still fresh in my memory. I had gone to the bathroom and was running back to the TV to watch the 400m final when I slipped on the marble floor and jammed my foot between the couch and floor, sustaining the dreaded lisfranc ligament injury. I was rolling around the floor in agony while the race was run. For a moment I thought you must be a class athlete. Second paragraph soon told me differently. Not to dismiss your horrid injury. Hope all is operating as it should now. 2 2 Quote
Gillies 26 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Isn’t this the same injury Mitch Clark had ? devastated for petts. Seems such a good bloke . 1 1 Quote
SPC 3,596 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 One thing that bugs me about these things is the announcement on Channel 7 news as a scoop. Surely supporters/members could get this info. Not watch a prerecorded presser from Richo. Anyway, feel for Petty. Think this will kill some momentum for us. Hopefully we find a way Quote
dazzledavey36 56,358 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 (edited) It's a huge blow for us. But, in this circumstance we just simply have to move on and focus in on the group we have available. Huge positive is that we'll have a handy full forward exploding into 2024 season. Get well Petts Edited August 8, 2023 by dazzledavey36 8 1 Quote
Chelly 859 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Injury List: Round 22 Tom McDonald - Ankle | Test Clayton Oliver - Hamstring | Test Kye Turner - Groin | Test Ben Brown - Knee | 1 Week Daniel Turner - Hand | 1 - 2 Weeks Bayley Fritsch - Foot | 2 - 3 Weeks Blake Howes - Hand | Season Harrison Petty - Foot | Season Oliver Sestan - Elbow | Season 2 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Focus on the positives… CLARRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEEEE! Can not wait. 1 Quote
Gillies 26 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: It's a huge blow for us. But, in this circumstance we just simply have to move on and focus in on the group we have available. Huge positive is that we'll have a handy full forward exploding into 2024 season. Get well Petts Are there any career ramifications here with a losfranc or can we be sure he’ll be back in 24? Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,326 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Demons11 said: Hopefully T Mac back into the seniors in a couple of weeks This is what I’m hoping for, a mobile T Mac for the last 5-6 weeks. Edited August 8, 2023 by Dee Zephyr 2 Quote
DemonOX 8,857 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Petty is only 23 and the club are doing the right thing by putting him out to pasture until next season. Hopefully now Tmac is back in the reserves he will be fit and firing on all cylinders just in time for the last round and run into finals. God I hope so anyway. 5 Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted August 8, 2023 Posted August 8, 2023 Poor bugger, season from hell for him all round. We just need to move on now. I think many were hopeful but thats footy. On a positive, even though its a big loss, we can still win without him. Not ideal to still be sorting our forwardline out at this time of year. Petty has only played 14 games this year. With only 6 games since round 9, 4 of which he was subbed off in. He has also been subbed off in 3 of his last 4 games and 4 out of his last 7. So as much as it sucks, we ARE used to life without him and need to move on. It probably looks worse after his bag of 6. The big question is, who can fill the void until Fritsch comes back, I'm hoping it isn't Smith or Grundy. It'll all be OK. 1 Quote