16 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

That was fun in the end, but excruciating for 95% of the game.

Our refusal (mostly May) to kick to the other side of the ground out of defence when we had free players in the last qtr was nearly the death of me. Long to Brown all night was terrible, also the fact we never where at the fall of the ball. The bloke playing on Brown had an AFL record for spoils . 

Love it. 

First.  Yes boring boring slow and predictable from May. Blues setup as we are SO predictable.  

Second. Yes a second rate defender Lewis Young on Bbb was actually starting to bully him about. 12 intercept possessions.  Really !!!
BBB got the last quarter goal but otherwise he was a “gimp” to a 2nd rate defender. Worrying signs. 

Edited by spirit of norm smith
P

There were 3 comments from the supporters around me that encapsulated tonight:

1. ‘What’s with Ben Brown and marking?’

2. ‘Please Melbourne, PLEASE do something different’ (referring to constantly kicking it straight up the line in field)

3. ‘F me, we kicked it to someone in front of goal for once’

I’m usually not negative about wins, but the frustration of myself and a lot of supporters around me was palpable. Options EVERYWHERE on the ground to switch play and give us better opportunities going inside 50 that we ignore.

I’m not trying to sour a great win, was amazing to grab it, but, the frustration for the fans around me was palpable. Just not taking the opportunities available and persisting with the same thing every week. 

In saying all of that, we have the players to win the flag, just gotta make some tweaks IMO.

17 minutes ago, praha said:

Melksham effectively locked his position in the team for finals. Hunt as well. Gonna be tough for Harmes to get back into the squad

ANB may be feeling a little nervous

3 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

Koz got dragged to the ground 3 times off the play in the last. They targeted him.

whistle know where to be seen.

Jayden was enormous in those last two minutes @Lucifers Hero! Driving the ball forward.

Edited by old55

Crazy season. we are 2nd at the moment will be 3rd at the end of the round. So so many ways this can end up next week. 

Loved the win, but our handball was putrid. 

Lost count of the number of errant ones turned over.

Jacko at least 4 times.

We have to fix that quickly.

It was frustrating watching Dees exit defensive 50 in the last. Every kick without exception went to outer wing and came straight back in. Why so predictable. Thank goodness for Hunt he break lines and plays with dash. We look so much better when we show some dash and carry. There just has to be more of that. So pleased for Melksham has been bashed terribly on this site plus the podcasters have not rated him. Yes George that you. It was only when we through caution to the wind and took game on that we looked ourselves. Let hope they keep that up next week.

Was at the game tonight. Nearly left when Curnow kicked his goal but figured there was still enough time and one of these coin flip games was bound to go our way eventually. Glad it did. That’s the kind of finish you’ll remember forever. Andrew Leoncelli in Adelaide style if you don’t mind.

We definitely have a problem with Ben Brown and key forwards in general, but all we have to do is beat Brisbane (and we can) and we’re very well placed for an assault in September. 

Might be worth throwing Joel Smith into the mix next week. He kicked 4 on one leg in a preseason game in 2019 and I think the time has come. 

Haven’t hugged random strangers like that since Jack Watts’ goal on QB in 2017.

‘And the Blues fans hearts break all around the country’ - commentary after Kozzie’s goal
. almost brings a tear to my eye 😅

16 minutes ago, Green Demon said:

The Dees are not playing well but if we can stay in the top 4, anything can happen. If we had won by 30 points I would not have been jumping around the place like I had kicked that last goal. Enjoy!

That the issue, we need something to go our way to win, completely different to last year. Where it was the opposite 

1 minute ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

That’s the kind of finish you’ll remember forever. Andrew Leoncelli in Adelaide style if you don’t mind.

And what a goal that was!

There’s a lot of whinging about umpire standards and how the game is played these days, but if tonight’s game doesn’t tug at your heart strings you aren’t human. I might drive to QLD next week. 

2 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

It was a win. Would you prefer they saw it as a loss?

It's definitely a win by Brown. I'm not blaming Brown. My criticism is of our one dimensional game plan even when the game is slipping away. It was a bad option. Brown was against 3 Carlton players and we were fortunate that the ball hit a Carlton player in the head.

Our final goal was a result of Lever kicking the ball at right angles into the corridor. Post game, Trac said it was a shocking kick by Lever that came off, but I think Lever had the smarts to realise that Carlton would have been set up down the line.

I left with 2 mins to go. Shameful

3 minutes ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

Was at the game tonight. Nearly left when Curnow kicked his goal but figured there was still enough time and one of these coin flip games was bound to go our way eventually. Glad it did. That’s the kind of finish you’ll remember forever. Andrew Leoncelli in Adelaide style if you don’t mind.

We definitely have a problem with Ben Brown and key forwards in general, but all we have to do is beat Brisbane (and we can) and we’re very well placed for an assault in September. 

Might be worth throwing Joel Smith into the mix next week. He kicked 4 on one leg in a preseason game in 2019 and I think the time has come. 

Not a chance based on tonight that we beat lions, we have learned nothing from last week

Just now, Garbo said:

Not a chance based on tonight that we beat lions, we have learned nothing from last week

That’s the thing though, it’s not based on tonight. The game will start 0.0.0 vs 0.0.0 and our form over the season gives us a big chance. I’d give us not much chance of beating Geelong next week but Brisbane really aren’t that good. 

3 minutes ago, Garbo said:

out away record is 6-0 this year. we'll beat the Lions next week

3 minutes ago, danielE288 said:

I left with 2 mins to go. Shameful

Same. I was so frustrated with how we’d played & just couldn’t handle the thought of watching happy Carlton supporters. Footy karma got me though 😂

7 minutes ago, mo64 said:

It's definitely a win by Brown. I'm not blaming Brown. My criticism is of our one dimensional game plan even when the game is slipping away. It was a bad option. Brown was against 3 Carlton players and we were fortunate that the ball hit a Carlton player in the head.

Our final goal was a result of Lever kicking the ball at right angles into the corridor. Post game, Trac said it was a shocking kick by Lever that came off, but I think Lever had the smarts to realise that Carlton would have been set up down the line.

Agree with your first paragraph. There seems to be only one plan, long bombs to the left forward pocket.

Tracc was right it was a shank. I thought Lever was poor and actually cost us 3 goals.

We had a lot of players down and still won, that's good.

6 minutes ago, mo64 said:

Totally agree Levers a smart player. That kick was a mongrel but opened the ground up. If he had kicked down the line we would have lost.

4 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Lions were pretty poor against the Saints. We could quite easily pinch that game up there, especially now we’re coming off a win. Our side is still traumatized from our past losing culture. When we come off wins we play better. We are a confidence team. Next week we’ll be up and about. Brisbane might be complacent. Pressure is on them.