Posted

It'll be very interesting to see how aggressive we are at the trade table and how much we simply just back in what we have and add to the core 

Posted
41 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

It'll be very interesting to see how aggressive we are at the trade table and how much we simply just back in what we have and add to the core 

I reckon it'll be heavily dependent on what happens in the next 2 weeks. If we lose one of these games, then get bundled out in week 1, the club will be pretty aggressive around the fringes. If we make it to the last 4 when all is said and done, then it might be looked at as an acceptable return from this group and we might stick fat.

Posted

Brodie Kemp from the Blues is someone i'd be having a look at. was potentially a super high pick in his draft year with some serious qualities as a player, but an ACL pre-draft caused him to slide. 

I think he's someone we could bring in and hope to get the best out of, his upside is enormous and doesn't seem to be able to get a consistent look at the Blues

Posted
1 hour ago, Dwight Schrute said:

Brodie Kemp from the Blues is someone i'd be having a look at. was potentially a super high pick in his draft year with some serious qualities as a player, but an ACL pre-draft caused him to slide. 

I think he's someone we could bring in and hope to get the best out of, his upside is enormous and doesn't seem to be able to get a consistent look at the Blues

Could be wrong, but I think someone here said that he has issues between the ears? 

Lacks the needed desire, discipline, attitude.. etc

Posted
1 hour ago, Dwight Schrute said:

Been played as an undersized key defender at the Blues (when he can get on the park). Had ACL, then syndesmosis and back issues. His issues pre-draft were his size for a mid (193cms) with explosive burst of speed and kicking, hence there was hype he could become the explosive forward-mid type. At AFL level those strengths are nowhere to be seen, not sure if they were overplayed as he was a bit of a man child against kids and so against men he's average. He's been below average at AFL level thus far and looks unlikely become anything more than a role player type at this stage. If you believe the footy forums also, he has poor work ethic and is a bit of a [censored], so not the most coachable type.

Wouldn't bother unless we can get him for a token fourth round pick.

Posted

Where has all this Naughton talk come from? Is it just wishful thinking or was there rumors in media or on footy forums? He would compliment our forward line perfectly with his size and aerial ability. If we could turn Jackson into Naughton it would be the biggest coup in recent memory!

Posted
12 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Where has all this Naughton talk come from? Is it just wishful thinking or was there rumors in media or on footy forums? He would compliment our forward line perfectly with his size and aerial ability. If we could turn Jackson into Naughton it would be the biggest coup in recent memory!

I’ve only seen it mentioned by one person on Demonland. Hope it’s legit though!

Posted
1 hour ago, JTR said:

Could be wrong, but I think someone here said that he has issues between the ears? 

Goes with the territory of playing for Carlton.

Hope its not permanent 

Posted
1 hour ago, Matt said:

I’ve only seen it mentioned by one person on Demonland. Hope it’s legit though!

Surely that is all that is required to prove the point - on poster on this forum. 😄 

Posted
17 hours ago, JTR said:

Playing for Carlton will do that to ya

Posted

Everything will depend on the Jackson trade. If that gets held up, it will hamper our ability to get other players. If it gets done quickly, then we will have capital. If we get the 2 first rounders we are demanding for Jackson, then i imagine we will try and work that into 3 picks inside the top 20. we want a very early first round pick, under 10, then another first rounder, that late first round pick will hold the key to everything, turn pick 14 in to 18 and 20 for instance, then we have some serious ability to move. The thing that might be an issue is a future first rounder, but as we have been we will be active in pick swaps in recent times.

Lets hope the Jackson deal does not go to the last minute. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Demon3 said:

Everything will depend on the Jackson trade. If that gets held up, it will hamper our ability to get other players. If it gets done quickly, then we will have capital. If we get the 2 first rounders we are demanding for Jackson, then i imagine we will try and work that into 3 picks inside the top 20. we want a very early first round pick, under 10, then another first rounder, that late first round pick will hold the key to everything, turn pick 14 in to 18 and 20 for instance, then we have some serious ability to move. The thing that might be an issue is a future first rounder, but as we have been we will be active in pick swaps in recent times.

Lets hope the Jackson deal does not go to the last minute. 

If we can turn Jackson into Cadman and Grundy + 1st rounder we will be doing very well.

Hope freo have their ducks lined up to get us the draft capital required.

Posted
On 8/6/2022 at 7:41 PM, chook fowler said:

I really don’t care what anyone thinks - apparently Naughton is unhappy at the dogs and wants a trade. I respect the source so make of it what you will.

Freed from something dire 

Posted

I wouldn’t mind the Dees giving a call to Jake Riccardi’s manager. At the Giants, he’s in and out of the team. He has some good moves and at 196cms is a target type forward.  Would be reasonable trade pickup (cheap) and he might be interested in a move.  

Posted
12 minutes ago, Alex Flood said:

Is Peter Wright a realistic target ?

I think it depends on what ends up happening at the Hangar. But he is one player that they wouldn't want to lose. There aren't many of them atm.

He is precisely what we need in the forward line - great contested mark and kick. Has a good footy IQ as well.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Gunston looks still gettable... Given TMac and Brown have one good leg between them, I'd have a crack.

I'd contemplate Gunston in closer to goal as a third tall and then get Fritta up on the HFF roaming around.

I know defensive pressure is very important to our game plan but we don't have enough consistent avenues to goal or strong marking players at Half Forward.

ANB, Kozzie & Spargo would very rarely team up for 4-5 goals between them and none of them are a concern for contested marking - I will add I haven't actually looked at the stats.

From an opposition coaching point of view, if you have 3 blokes solely there to chase and 'corral' opponents, it means you can have 3 players assigned that don't need to think too hard about their defense. How many times have we been cut to pieces through attack out of the Half Back line.

Posted

Might be a good time to pick at the Essendon carcass. They are lurching from shambolic to full catastrophe. Wonder if they have anyone interesting and out of contract 

Posted
49 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Gunston looks still gettable... Given TMac and Brown have one good leg between them, I'd have a crack.

Gunston makes a lot more sense to me than Grundy.

Jackson is not a player that is easily replaced because he is versatile. Silvani did a wonderful job as a second ruckman on Saturday and TMac or Weideman can play the role reasonably well.

Posted
40 minutes ago, Go the Biff said:

Might be a good time to pick at the Essendon carcass. They are lurching from shambolic to full catastrophe. Wonder if they have anyone interesting and out of contract 

There could be a real treasure trove of players available this season. With the likes of Saints and Bombers, possibly looking to reset and let go some of their more mature talent to get back into the draft.

They will most likely want to hold onto their a-grade talent unless they request a trade out. Time for the recruiting dept to reach some of these managers if they havent already. 

Who would you have on your shopping list? The obvious (but probably untouchable) is Max King and even Peter Wright. Would you look to get in Merret on JJ's wing? So much to think about!

Posted
13 minutes ago, CYB said:

There could be a real treasure trove of players available this season. With the likes of Saints and Bombers, possibly looking to reset and let go some of their more mature talent to get back into the draft.

They will most likely want to hold onto their a-grade talent unless they request a trade out. Time for the recruiting dept to reach some of these managers if they havent already. 

Who would you have on your shopping list? The obvious (but probably untouchable) is Max King and even Peter Wright. Would you look to get in Merret on JJ's wing? So much to think about!

How good it is not to be the basketcase of the competition. Grim memories from circa 2011-2012 are slowly dying out.