Posted
1 minute ago, Demonstone said:

No, the post was about picking up Kennedy after he retires.  I think we have a crossed line!  (is that still a thing?)

very crossily of me then, dc

Posted

I can't believe people are having a serious conversation about Brodie Grundy. 

Toby Nankervis is the perfect example of letting someone else do the work developing a ruckman and then bringing him in at a low price. See also Darcy Cameron, Marc Pittonet, Oscar McInerney. Not necessarily superstars, but all capable ruckmen in top 8 teams who make a contest and bring the ball to the ground for their midfielders.

If (when) Jackson leaves, this has to be the way forward. No point spending truckloads of money and high draft picks on a bloke in the second half of his career. Find a ruckman in the AFL system seeking more opportunity and then pick up the best state league ruckman as a mature backup.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Retired players have to wait 18 months before going back into the draft.

He will be pushing towards 40 by then.

I think he is originally a Perth boy.

So he doesn't retire and is trades for pick 9999 .... although Hodge did it ... he was born in melb and lived in a bunch of places before parents settled in WA permanently

Edited by Demons1858
Posted
6 hours ago, Tony Tea said:

I'd have Kelly or Whitfield. They are both superb kicks and would complement our inside game with outside run.

They will cost to much 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

We should be asking about Whitfield. Also Bruhn.

We have a red headed Whitfield running around in the magoos in Bowza

Posted
20 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

We should be asking about Whitfield. Also Bruhn.

Too much $$$$$$$$$$$$

Posted
5 hours ago, poita said:

I can't believe people are having a serious conversation about Brodie Grundy. 

Toby Nankervis is the perfect example of letting someone else do the work developing a ruckman and then bringing him in at a low price. See also Darcy Cameron, Marc Pittonet, Oscar McInerney. Not necessarily superstars, but all capable ruckmen in top 8 teams who make a contest and bring the ball to the ground for their midfielders.

If (when) Jackson leaves, this has to be the way forward. No point spending truckloads of money and high draft picks on a bloke in the second half of his career. Find a ruckman in the AFL system seeking more opportunity and then pick up the best state league ruckman as a mature backup.

The suggestion is Grundy is a good fit if he came for little in a trade and the pies paid a good chunk of his salary. 

if they’re desperate to free up cap space I think it’d be silly not to seriously consider it at the right price. 

Posted
9 hours ago, Dwight Schrute said:

The suggestion is Grundy is a good fit if he came for little in a trade and the pies paid a good chunk of his salary. 

if they’re desperate to free up cap space I think it’d be silly not to seriously consider it at the right price. 

Between he and Gawn we'd have over a million in cap space dedicated to two aging rucks who can't do much else. No thanks.

Posted
19 hours ago, John Demonic said:

The more times goes on, the more I feel like Kelly and Whitfield are highly paid irrelevant stat padders. Good players no doubt, but what individual accolades have they achieved that would make one of them worthy of being involved in an LJ trade, that would make us think we have 5+ years of their best ahead of them? They've both been AA once, 5 years ago. No thanks tbh. I know Logue is the other half of your trade, but I just don't feel like any one of them are difference makers.

At last some perspective  Both players are damaged beyond repair from their GWS experience

Posted
11 hours ago, Dwight Schrute said:

The Grundy topic is pretty divisive at the moment. I can definitely see why some think he'd be a good fit and could allow Max to do more. At first glance for me it just doesn't feel right, it feels like Batman asking Superman to join him to be the new Robin. I just can’t get my head around how it works, especially with that kind of contract involved.

Not saying my mind is 100% made up on it, he may well be someone who can help us. Maybe some more info comes to light from now until October that will have us thinking differently but right now I just don’t see it.

Posted
2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Between he and Gawn we'd have over a million in cap space dedicated to two aging rucks who can't do much else.

That's a tad unfair to Max.  He drops back to take saving marks in defence and presents a threat up forward also.

Grundy, on the other hand, is more one dimensional.  However, if the MFC Football Department think he can add something to our team, I would trust their judgement.

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonstone said:

That's a tad unfair to Max.  He drops back to take saving marks in defence and presents a threat up forward also.

Grundy, on the other hand, is more one dimensional.  However, if the MFC Football Department think he can add something to our team, I would trust their judgement.

Max can play up forward but (other than a freakish Prelim final) his goalkicking is suspect at best. He can drop back but not as a key position defender. Grundy is very similar although not as good a contested mark around the ground.

Someone worth looking at as a stop gap backup ruck could be Darcy Fort? Seems on the outer at Brisbane who won't play two rucks and can kick a goal.

Posted
15 hours ago, adonski said:

We have a red headed Whitfield running around in the magoos in Bowza

Different tanks, but in time, I agree.

I hope Bowey can get back in the team this year. I'd have him ahead of Hunt.

Posted
21 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Max can play up forward but (other than a freakish Prelim final) his goalkicking is suspect at best. He can drop back but not as a key position defender. Grundy is very similar although not as good a contested mark around the ground.

Someone worth looking at as a stop gap backup ruck could be Darcy Fort? Seems on the outer at Brisbane who won't play two rucks and can kick a goal.

I reckon his goal kicking last year and early this year was excellent.

I'd suggest he's not at full fitness and that's making his goal kicking harder IMO.

Posted
2 minutes ago, A F said:

Different tanks, but in time, I agree.

I hope Bowey can get back in the team this year. I'd have him ahead of Hunt.

Hunt provided a contest and run and carry. His pace is something we might need in the next 5-6 weeks. If he can keep his head, I’d be in favour of retaining Hunt. Bowey lost several one on one contests and his usual assured kicking was strangely disappearing.  He’s a ripper but time in the VFL was warranted.  

Posted
8 minutes ago, A F said:

I reckon his goal kicking last year and early this year was excellent.

I'd suggest he's not at full fitness and that's making his goal kicking harder IMO.

Fair point but his routine is all off. Not alone either, Petracca is also a serial offender.

Posted
6 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Hunt provided a contest and run and carry. His pace is something we might need in the next 5-6 weeks. If he can keep his head, I’d be in favour of retaining Hunt. Bowey lost several one on one contests and his usual assured kicking was strangely disappearing.  He’s a ripper but time in the VFL was warranted.  

I wasn't against Bowey being dropped, I'm just saying I'd prefer Bowey now. He too has toe, so I'm not sure it's enough nowadays to get Hunt a game.

2 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Fair point but his routine is all off. Not alone either, Petracca is also a serial offender.

Agreed mate.

Posted
49 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Darcy Fort would be a good fit. 

Posted
26 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Bowey was v good this week in the VFL game - not suggesting he should replace Hunt atm but certainly working back into some good form - keeps the pressure on our small backs which is always a good thing 

Posted

Oliver Henry from the Pies is out of contract. The kid is pretty talented and doubt that the Pies would let him go. Worth reaching out to his management and asking the question. Straight swap for Weid :D

Posted

The Dogs are an interesting watch, you've got a long list of key forwards and well doccumented salary cap issues. 

Could we make a significant offer to Jamara with the money we would have spent on Jackson? it'd be a really bold move, but he'd have to be wondering how does he fit in with Bruce, Naughton, Lobb? Darcy and co next year. 

Posted (edited)
43 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

The Dogs are an interesting watch, you've got a long list of key forwards and well doccumented salary cap issues. 

Could we make a significant offer to Jamara with the money we would have spent on Jackson? it'd be a really bold move, but he'd have to be wondering how does he fit in with Bruce, Naughton, Lobb? Darcy and co next year. 

Not a chance. The future of the Doggies will be Naughton and JUH up forward. Darcy will play down back. 
Bruce has probably 1-2 seasons left.

If they get Lobb as reported he’ll play as the second tall leaving JUH to do some major damage as a roaming HF. 

Edited by CYB
Posted
57 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

Bruce will be gone for starters.