Posted
3 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Can anyone lip read ?

After Brayshaw kicked his goal he walked back to the wing with Langdon and it’s clear on the replay he says something to Ed. To me it looked like he said “ I’m fu__ed”. 

The more I watch the replay the more I fall in love with Gus and I didn’t think it was possible.  After playing predominantly as a defensive winger I think he was given a little more license to attack since the Cats R23 clash. His last quarter was pivotal that night, finals series was excellent and he was just brilliant on Premiership night. Just reminded a few that Top 3 picks don’t grow on trees. 

Good ones!

Posted

I remember in the Ben Brown thread pre-season we said tongue-in-cheek that his recruitment would me we would start getting more free kicks.

Well, more than one-fifth of the frees awarded to Melbourne in the granny went to BBB!

Posted
4 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Negative ghost rider. I attempted some stalking but couldn’t locate them. Pretty sure Maxy rode past me on a push bike though. 

Pretty sure?  6 foot 10 human being with a bald head and long beard?   😁

Posted
2 hours ago, Bay Riffin said:

yes it worked out so well for us. Thomlinson went down, then later in the season Hunt. Many people here were bagging Petty who had a poor debut 2 years ago, and I thought geez we don't give young players hope if they stuff up. He was a slow burn for the first 3 weeks just doing his job, then he ramped it up e.g the Port game and became a strong force at times. By the end of the season May was having the luxury to play a more free role to be used as an outlet much like on grand final day.

Interestingly when Petty was recruited we weren't looking for tall backs Taylor was saying, we had a few but were after runners.  Taylor said Petty drifted to our pick in the mid 30s and he thought we have to take him, he's too good. much like Jackson, most thought its not what we need at the time, but he went on gut I reckon.

With Hunt, lets not forget our biggest trouble down back was small forwards right up till this year. That problem almost disappeared with Hunt playing within his limitations and using his speed defensively. Then he went down and I thought we are in trouble, but what are the odds of a first year debutant in Bowey coming in and filling the void. Hunt had taken years to develop down back. and Bowey, wow, he was very good in his 3 finals.

That depth won us a premiership. Jason Taylor take a massive bow.

Story on dees website about the defensive unit.  No mention of Hunt.  I'm a bit disappointed by that.  A little.  That man deserves as much praise as anyone on the team.  He stood up this year Jayden Hunt.  He was excellent.

Posted
2 hours ago, Bay Riffin said:

yes it worked out so well for us. Thomlinson went down, then later in the season Hunt. Many people here were bagging Petty who had a poor debut 2 years ago, and I thought geez we don't give young players hope if they stuff up. He was a slow burn for the first 3 weeks just doing his job, then he ramped it up e.g the Port game and became a strong force at times. By the end of the season May was having the luxury to play a more free role to be used as an outlet much like on grand final day.

Interestingly when Petty was recruited we weren't looking for tall backs Taylor was saying, we had a few but were after runners.  Taylor said Petty drifted to our pick in the mid 30s and he thought we have to take him, he's too good. much like Jackson, most thought its not what we need at the time, but he went on gut I reckon.

With Hunt, lets not forget our biggest trouble down back was small forwards right up till this year. That problem almost disappeared with Hunt playing within his limitations and using his speed defensively. Then he went down and I thought we are in trouble, but what are the odds of a first year debutant in Bowey coming in and filling the void. Hunt had taken years to develop down back. and Bowey, wow, he was very good in his 3 finals.

That depth won us a premiership. Jason Taylor take a massive bow.

He was quite mouthy and smirky during the grand final… I liked it! Looked like he was into Schache in particular.

Posted
3 hours ago, monoccular said:

That is how we succeed : strangle like a boa constrictor then slice up like Jack the Ripper

Ha, ha ... Nice description.

Posted (edited)

I'm still buzzing.
That whole season and finals series the players put together was just off the charts.
The 43pt comeback and after the siren goal to Gawn to put us on Top in Rd23.
And then a pair of devastating 3rd qtr blitzes in the Prelim and Grand Final that won't be forgotten.
What a forken rush.

Edited by Fork 'em
Posted
22 hours ago, Deestroy All said:

The dust is starting settle, especially in my dry tear ducts, I’ve yet to fully read this thread yet but I’ll get out my thoughts while I take a break from constant replay and footage. 

The 2 weeks of commentary about how the bulldogs would win sucked me right in. I’m pessimistic about us at the best of times. MFCSS was strong with this one. Gawn was gunna get bashed, Josh [censored] Schache was going to stop Lever, their midfield would run wild and Noughton would kick 18. 

First quarter I just thought we looked on and instantly settled my nerves which in turn made me angry for letting myself get my hopes up. I’m a lunatic. 
But we looked on, Trac’s clean pick up and goal from 50 had me in awe, our superstar was ready to go. 
The rest of the quarter felt like the prelim. The misses were starting to worry me. Biggest worry going in was inaccuracy. 

2nd quarter my world crumbled. Bont was the most hated man on earth, and [censored] Collingwood. 

3rd quarter I realised Johannisen was still on a list. Bont kicked his 3rd and it broke me. This year I’ve been comfortable we’re never out of it. But Bont looked like a man possessed, I thought there’s no stopping this. Helmet Daniel was racking em up. I’d seen it all before. 
Then bang, bang, bang, bang! Absolute football perfection. The greatest football I’ve seen from anyone ever. Seeing Treloar hang his head and Bont saying wtf, I knew. Euphoria kicks in. 

Tried to calm myself at 3qtr time. Resist the urge to pick up my phone (which is constantly buzzing by now) and msg anyone, can’t jinx it. 

Last quarter euphoria continued. I’ve seen my beloved Liverpool win Champions League and Premier League in the last few years, but this is a happiness levels above. 
I start crying seconds before Luke Hodge says “I wonder if Melbourne supporters are shedding a tear yet” I hear that and start laughing, I’m a crying laughing maniac. 
We’re up by 55, it’s safe to pick up my phone - Treloar kicks a goal GOD DAMN IT. Reply to my best mate, a Collingwood supporter fully invested in us winning. Start bawling. 

We [censored] did it. I can’t believe it. I can’t believe how absolutely dominant we’ve been since Geelong were 44 up. We didn’t just win the premiership we [censored] annihilated the supposed next best teams. This is the stuff of dreams.  

In the first qtr when we easily got to a 21 point lead  - I started worrying that the experience wouldn’t be as enjoyable if we cruise to a 80-100 point win without being challenged. 

got my wish 2nd qtr, with the tension of a close game. 

here’s hoping to being just as passionate a supporter in future years, but slightly more normal, now that the curse has been buried. 

Posted (edited)

I want to touch on the significance of the Harmes kick to Fritsch in the third quarter.

Up until that point, Harmes was having a pretty average game I thought and it was his errant handball that set up Bontempelli’s third goal.

Therefore, the fact he was able to cleanly gather a loose ball (at a time when we couldn’t collect a ground ball if our lives depended on it) and put that beautiful kick to Fritsch under pressure was a huge moment.

Edited by Clint Bizkit
  • Like 21
Posted (edited)

It was great (inter alia) how the Dees didn't just chip the ball around to waste time once they/we had a match winning lead. Totally went for the jugular which made it an even better spectacle, even for neutrals.

Edited by bingers

Posted
9 hours ago, bingers said:

It was great (inter alia) how the Dees didn't just chip the ball around to waste time once they/we had a match winning lead. Totally went for the jugular which made it an even better spectacle, even for neutrals.

Yeah I think people would’ve forgiven us for slowing the game down after we got 40 odd points in front but the boys were just having fun and didn’t want to stop. My only sadness about the game is that neither Kozzie or Gawn got a major in the game. 

Posted
On 9/29/2021 at 7:05 AM, rpfc said:

I won’t…

I won’t.

robert redford yes GIF

Thanks Jeremiah 

Posted

Cup coming home today im hearing? Only flight from Perth today sheduled 18:25. Anyone within 15kms pictures please !

Posted

I have now watch the complete season and my analysis of the team improvement was that the rucks at Melbourne have become the 4th midfielders and we have 2 ruckman which means the pressure from the ruck division is never released.

Also I noted when ball is on the forward line both Tom and Ben do their share of ruck work which puts more and more pressure on the opposition ruckmen to cover more ground and allows our ruckmen to set up behind the ball to take marks from the opposition relieving kick.

Posted

This is probably going to sound churlish, but I was annoyed at Channel 7 showing a close-up of Abbey Holmes interviewing Max straight after the final siren.

All I wanted to see was the players and fans celebrating the moment.

Posted
14 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I want to touch on the significance of the Harmes kick to Fritsch in the third quarter.

Up until that point, Harmes was having a pretty average game I thought and it was his errant handball that set up Bontempelli’s third goal.

Therefore, the fact he was able to cleanly gather a loose ball (at a time when we couldn’t collect a ground ball if our lives depended on it) and put that beautiful kick to Fritsch under pressure was a huge moment.

He had made 3 rather big blunders including on the outer wing when he was running into the fwd line off the wing and with Petracca off to his left, His kick was smothered and the ball rebounded for a dogs goal. Petracca was filty he didnt get the handball. I was screaming at harmes for being stupid.

He stepped up though in the end

Posted

So Bevo has revealed the Dogs were using Man of The Hour by Pearl Jam as their inspiration for GF success. This explains a bit, that song is about a son reflecting on the life of his father on the day of his funeral, written for the movie Big Fish. As far as motivational songs ago, Bevo needs to do a re-think. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, The Chief said:

So Bevo has revealed the Dogs were using Man of The Hour by Pearl Jam as their inspiration for GF success. This explains a bit, that song is about a son reflecting on the life of his father on the day of his funeral, written for the movie Big Fish. As far as motivational songs ago, Bevo needs to do a re-think. 

It's so slow it probably put them to sleep

Posted
19 minutes ago, The Chief said:

Also I'd say they were only in the game for an hour, so perhaps it worked.

Posted
26 minutes ago, The Chief said:

You can only go to the well so many times using left-field things to get a football team to perform.

Posted

One highlight of so many for me was TMac hitting pause on the celebrations and driving home the goal after the siren - clinical, take no prisoners!

• Like 14
Posted
52 minutes ago, The Chief said:

Bevo should've stuck with that random late 1960's boxing match which inspired them to beat us last year at Metricon.

Posted
21 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

You can only go to the well so many times using left-field things to get a football team to perform.

I honestly think he coaches in an outdated way. He relies a lot on an ‘us vs. the world’ mentality, which can get you going, but as you say is very hard to sustain.

All that stuff after the prelim about how they were so disappointed that the video of them celebrating had been released, and then taking shots at anyone who had said Treloar was under performing in a different role. It all just felt like they needed to create a feeling of being backed into a corner.

You don’t need to play on emotion, you just need to play for the team, and sometimes that’s actually about calming down and focusing simply on the next moment.