POSTGAME: GRAND FINAL vs Western Bulldogs

“It didn’t come to blows because a player from Melbourne and a player from the Western Bulldogs that are best mates and used to live together … they met halfway between Level 2 and Level 3 – safe ground – and negotiated a peace treaty … Saved these two clubs coming to blows.

Sorry if it has been said, but who we talking here.

From the foxfooty article above:

“So one of the players took some initiative … took some cash out, a big lot of cash like $10,000, and went up to management and said: ‘Mate, here’s 10K, you open the top level.’ Security escort them straight up.

I call BS on that!  Who in their right mind rocks up anywhere let alone a nightclub with a cool $10K in their pocket?  

14 minutes ago, Premiers said:

“So one of the players took some initiative … took some cash out, a big lot of cash like $10,000, and went up to management and said: ‘Mate, here’s 10K, you open the top level.’ Security escort them straight up.

I call BS on that!  Who in their right mind rocks up anywhere let alone a nightclub with a cool $10K in their pocket?  

Put it on your credit card maybe?

On 10/26/2021 at 2:49 PM, FritschyBusiness said:

Thank you both for elaborating on your points, I couldn't see Petty working at all forward so thats why I was seeking more from you. Definitely got nothing to stress about, (other than whatever injuries we cop in 2022) :)

Petty and Tmac could easily Change  between CHF and FF and CHB or FB during a game or season,

Daniel Turner may be a good backup in defence with some Casey games experience behind him and Majak and Mitch Brown also offer plenty of versatility.

Also Bowey and Sal em  could play wing or HFF and I hope Laurie and Rosman  get a good go at a number of games to build form and confidence.

Nothing ever stays the same that's why we need continue the progress and produce new stars and keep pressure on the premiership heroes!

Luke Dunstan  and JJ say hi to the midfield Club !! 

Gus  is still rapped about the Wingers Club and is looking for some new recruits to add to their mix.

Plenty of good stories to come in 2022 and beyond if we keep putting the same effort in.

1 hour ago, Premiers said:

Only legit way is going to the atm  for 5 days in a row and taking 2k at a time , clean up at the races or at Burswood  casino . 

Guys, I'm filing this news story from the frontlines of the war zone.

There's a ceasefire in place at the moment, but the stereo could start up again any minute now.

Tensions are high. 

As a former demon, Mitch Hannan was the player who negotiated the peace treaty that prevented all-out war. They're calling it the Treaty of Northbridge. 

But I've noticed several MFC players going back to the ATM, and I think we might be bribing our way into another nightclub.

Will try to report more later if it's not too dangerous.

Edited by Grapeviney
  • Haha 6

11 hours ago, faultydet said:

Brian Taylor is in the top echelon of the worst commentators in the history of the game, with Rex Hunt, and Kellie Underwood.

And please don't wind me up with Brayshaws "bang" call. It really does my head in. The combo of his horrible voice coupled with the inability to think of something good to say. My head hurts.

Have a listen from around 1hr36min of this. The commentator who calls the Oliver goal is a life long Melbourne supporter. You can feel the emotion in his call. Brilliant.

Also listen to his call of the final minute or so, almost cheering his team on to a flag.

I don’t want to wind you up but not sure how “wowzers” or “Oliver scores” is any better !? Scores….. It’s not soccer.
People will complain whoever is commentating maybe huddo and commetti the only exceptions. 
My personal fav is the 3AW call with Tim Lane, Bartel, Matthews and Lloyd bit of a nostalgic feeling with Lane calling for mine. 

8 hours ago, DaveyJones'sLocker said:

I don’t want to wind you up but not sure how “wowzers” or “Oliver scores” is any better !? Scores….. It’s not soccer.
People will complain whoever is commentating maybe huddo and commetti the only exceptions. 
My personal fav is the 3AW call with Tim Lane, Bartel, Matthews and Lloyd bit of a nostalgic feeling with Lane calling for mine. 

Nobody is perfect. I've tried calling in my own head during a game and make a hash of it every time. It's more difficult than many think, but these guys are supposed to be professionals.

Tim Lane has always been my favorite. Followed by a young Commetti.

I linked the other one simply so people could listen to a died-in-the-wool demon fan call the game.

14 hours ago, roy11 said:

“It didn’t come to blows because a player from Melbourne and a player from the Western Bulldogs that are best mates and used to live together … they met halfway between Level 2 and Level 3 – safe ground – and negotiated a peace treaty … Saved these two clubs coming to blows.

Sorry if it has been said, but who we talking here.

It was Santa and the Easter Bunny, seconded by Aladdin and the Bunyip, brokered by the Fairy Godmother.

14 hours ago, Premiers said:

Do young people know what cash even is any more? They do everything on their phones.

13 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Put it on your credit card maybe?

Oh, but the article said cash, and the entire story is based on unimpeachable fact and doesn't in any way come across as being made up and embellished on the run. The only thing missing is that when they got up to level 3 they found Lassiter's gold in a cupboard.

The more I watch the game the more I pick up on things that I seem to have missed. But what I did enjoy was when there was 4 minutes to go and the assistants came down and they show Yze sitting on the bench and after we kick another goal he is smiling. I reckon obviously he is rapt because we won but also from a previous players point of view that the club I played for has finally done it. 

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

I just read that ‘story’ about the supposed nightclub incident. Imagined that this was your job? ‘well I heard that someone said something over a balcony and then all hell broke loss (but nothing happened)’.

I’d be embarrassed if I was Campbell Brown. Surely you can do something else with your time. There’s a job shortage. Take advantage.

1 hour ago, FlashInThePan said:

Melbourne CEO shoots down 'beat up' reports around nightclub stoush with western bulldogs

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/10/27/melbourne-ceo-shoots-down-beat-up-reports-around-nightclub-stoush-with/

A beat up? By a would be footy journo?  Who'da thunk it?!

Interestingly Pert never says that nothing happened, just that what was reported was overblown. So maybe there was some degree of argy bargy going on. If the Dogs were upset the Dees sang a song then that is great, shows how petty and fragile they are

The question of switching Petty forward or keeping him back might rest on whether TMac is able to return to form (his back half wasn’t great) and whether Weid is able to make good on his talent. Brown looks settled in his position and his fitness now so that second tall forward spot is on offer (Tommy’s to lose currently). If, and it’s a big if, nether Tom or Sam are able to claim that spot then Petty as a forward becomes a possibility. 

For now though he looks like a natural defender and it’s up to Tomlinson to knock him off his perch. What a problem to have! 😄

32 minutes ago, Winners at last said:

I know I should wash out my mouth, but I'm pretty much 'over' watching replays of the match.

Ok, who ARE you??? And what have you done with the real ‘Winners at last’?????

1 hour ago, The heart beats true said:

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

I just read that ‘story’ about the supposed nightclub incident. Imagined that this was your job? ‘well I heard that someone said something over a balcony and then all hell broke loss (but nothing happened)’.

I’d be embarrassed if I was Campbell Brown. Surely you can do something else with your time. There’s a job shortage. Take advantage.

In Brown's defence, the stairwells between floors are regarded as neutral territory under the Geneva convention. And groups of tanked up young men often negotiate "peace treaties" when they're in the mood for a bit of biff.

5 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Doubt Campbell Brown embarrasses easily. Mal would have given plenty of direction.

1 minute ago, Mono said:

Doubt Campbell Brown embarrasses easily. Mal would have given plenty of direction.

When Brown was at Gold Coast Suns he punched a young team mate. Broke his jaw.

Having Mal Brown as his father is a wonderful pedigree.

Clearly a top bloke.

38 minutes ago, Bimbo said:

I can recommend a rest watching the Brisbane or Geelong finals or round 23

I'm going through the games we've played this season, only the ones we won, and you can see the improvement as the year goes on. I can't see the point in watching the games we lost, why disappoint myself.

When I finish i'll watch the GF again, rinse and repeat.