Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 After years of pushing aside his affiliation to the MFC at least publicly in the media, it is great to see him embracing the club. He is a club champion and I think it will be great for him and our club that he is finally showing his passion for the club he gave his all to.* * Pending us winning the bloody thing Go Dee's!!! Quote
sue 9,277 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/lyon-to-present-the-cup-should-the-dees-triumph-grant-if-the-bulldogs-prevail-20210914-p58rlz.html Quote
old55 23,860 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 1 hour ago, Wrecker46 said: Lyon was 10 times the player of Grant hopefully this is reflected in the result of match. He would hold the cup up better too. You're kidding me right? Chris Grant 341 games, 554 goals and ripped off by Ian Collins of the 1997 Brownlow https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Grant_(footballer) 6 1 Quote
Grimes Times 1,278 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 43 minutes ago, Pollyanna said: You're kidding me right? Chris Grant 341 games, 554 goals and ripped off by Ian Collins of the 1997 Brownlow https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Grant_(footballer) 51 goals in his first season as a 17yo. Amazing player. Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 2 hours ago, Wrecker46 said: I'm not sure about that. Kate Roffey has form at getting major developments done and has ties to the current state Government. It was a very strategic handover. Thats I heard came out after his exit. Maybe one of the reasons for the change. Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, loges said: I like option 7, mainly because I'd like to see what you really look like. Here’s a sneak peak. I feel for those that can’t make it, especially the old timers. Edited September 14, 2021 by Ethan Tremblay 1 Quote
loges 6,767 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 2 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said: Here’s a sneak peak. I feel for those that can’t make it, especially the old timers. Which one are you? Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 (edited) 5 hours ago, Bates Mate said: After years of pushing aside his affiliation to the MFC at least publicly in the media, it is great to see him embracing the club. He is a club champion and I think it will be great for him and our club that he is finally showing his passion for the club he gave his all to.* * Pending us winning the bloody thing Go Dee's!!! "I don't feel anything." —Garry Lyon, AFL 360, Tuesday 14 September 2021 He's a very strange person, Garry. Not much emotion in the guy, I'll say that much. Edited September 14, 2021 by Chook Quote
Kick_It_To_Pickett 3,293 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 Just now, Chook said: "I won't feel anything." —Garry Lyon, AFL 360, Tuesday 14 September 2021 He's a very strange person, Garry. Not much emotion in the guy, I'll say that much. He just hides his emotion. Was the same when Jimmy died. But when he lets his guard down he loves the MFC. Bit of a defence mechanism 2 Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 Just now, Kick_It_To_Pickett said: He just hides his emotion. Was the same when Jimmy died. But when he lets his guard down he loves the MFC. Bit of a defence mechanism I think that's right. He has been hurt by footy just as much as he's been lifted up by it I reckon. Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 4 hours ago, Pollyanna said: You're kidding me right? Chris Grant 341 games, 554 goals and ripped off by Ian Collins of the 1997 Brownlow https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Grant_(footballer) Grant was a gun but so was Garry. Lyon has a higher goals to games ratio agree with you that Lyon was not 10 times the player... Quote
rpfc 29,027 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 4 minutes ago, Chook said: "I don't feel anything." —Garry Lyon, AFL 360, Tuesday 14 September 2021 He's a very strange person, Garry. Not much emotion in the guy, I'll say that much. He said it was a special moment to be asked and it would be great to play a little role in this - so you are being a bit unfair. He knows his privilege and I appreciate that; he is embarrassed by this unearned spotlight and he shouldn't be. 2 Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 6 minutes ago, Chook said: "I don't feel anything." —Garry Lyon, AFL 360, Tuesday 14 September 2021 He's a very strange person, Garry. Not much emotion in the guy, I'll say that much. You obviously didn’t see him tearing up after the prelim win. His emotion was raw and his interviews were memorable after the game 1 Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 2 minutes ago, rpfc said: He said it was a special moment to be asked and it would be great to play a little role in this - so you are being a bit unfair. He knows his privilege and I appreciate that; he is embarrassed by this unearned spotlight and he shouldn't be. 2 minutes ago, DubDee said: You obviously didn’t see him tearing up after the prelim win. His emotion was raw and his interviews were memorable after the game I misspoke. I think Garry is a deeply hurt person by things he's done, missed out on, and been burnt by. His lack of emotion (or rather, his attempts to push back at emotive displays, especially those prompted by others) is his way of controlling that hurt. Quote
rpfc 29,027 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 1 minute ago, Chook said: I misspoke. I think Garry is a deeply hurt person by things he's done, missed out on, and been burnt by. His lack of emotion (or rather, his attempts to push back at emotive displays, especially those prompted by others) is his way of controlling that hurt. Ah, ok, yes he would prefer to avoid getting into it and even to the detriment of his own contributions. He is human. I just hope we all move on - if the Demons of 2021 and beyond can deliver a flag and a united, forgiving club, we would want for nothing evermore. 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,547 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 Lyon’s the best available given the circumstances. Clearly if it were in Melbourne there would be far better options at our disposal - Ronald Dale, Daniher, Neitz. 1 Quote
Demon17 5,262 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 15 hours ago, Pollyanna said: You're kidding me right? Chris Grant 341 games, 554 goals and ripped off by Ian Collins of the 1997 Brownlow https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Grant_(footballer) Nice call here. As a committed Dee I once had the pleaseure of sitting in the corporate room at a Dees v Dogs game in 1998 as a guest of a Dogs Cttee member. Right in front of me was Charlie Sutton. The game was at Princes park for some reason, dogs won by 3 goals, Grant had 21 disposla and kicked 3. Charlie was held in reverance at the event by all, but Chris Grant turned on a master class in the game and I found his nickname with the Doggies faithful was ' Rolle Royce". He sure was that day and I appreciated him ever since. Both worthy links to each team I reckon. Quote
deebug 1,754 Posted September 14, 2021 Posted September 14, 2021 At least we are able to get a Dee's player to be part of the moment🥰 1 Quote
Demon17 5,262 Posted September 16, 2021 Posted September 16, 2021 On 9/14/2021 at 8:32 PM, Chook said: "I don't feel anything." —Garry Lyon, AFL 360, Tuesday 14 September 2021 He's a very strange person, Garry. Not much emotion in the guy, I'll say that much. So you know him personally do you? Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted September 16, 2021 Posted September 16, 2021 36 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said: A worthwhile 5 minutes. I said this on the Happy Birthday thread, but I'll say it again here: It's absolutely fantastic to see Garry speak so openly of his love for the Dees, and to hear him saying "we" and "us" instead of "they" and "them" (not that he shouldn't be doing that as part of his day job). 1 Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,353 Posted September 16, 2021 Posted September 16, 2021 Lyon is a rude, arrogant man. (Witnessed it first hand on a number of occasions, as have others.) He was one of my favourite players to watch and a legend of the Club. Despite my dislike for him as person, he is clearly a suitable person to present the cup. Quote
DeesignerAU 388 Posted September 23, 2021 Posted September 23, 2021 On 9/16/2021 at 8:31 PM, bingers said: Lyon is a rude, arrogant man. (Witnessed it first hand on a number of occasions, as have others.) He was one of my favourite players to watch and a legend of the Club. Despite my dislike for him as person, he is clearly a suitable person to present the cup. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I always found Garry to be talkative and engaging. I worked at the club mid nineties and there were other players who were rude and not engaging - but Lyon wasn't one of them. And the rudest of the bunch might surprise you but thats for discussion another time. Go Dees Quote