Posted
Just now, Freddy Fuschia said:

Did he really mention Nicholls and Smith?

I couldn’t believe it so I went to the source and there he was at 13:50 saying that with time in the gym he might develop into a ruckman but not one with Nic Nat’s power “so you’re looking more at a Tom Nicholls or an Archie Smith type”. 

For the record:-

Tom Nicholls 203 cm, 102 kg played 45 games (7 goals) in 9 seasons with Gold Coast.

Archie Smith 202 cm, 105 kg has played 16 games in 8 seasons with the Brisbane Lions.

No need to develop you’re own Archie Smith type. He will be on the trade table this year since he can’t get a game with Brisbane 😉

Posted

Mac could do what Naitanui did before the draft he said he would request a trade back to WA if he was picked by MFC.

If that was not draft tampering then the AFL have failed

Posted
51 minutes ago, Left Foot Snap said:

I often wonder if our draft and trading strategy last year was influenced by us thinking we were getting Mac as an NGA this year. Can't remember if the rules changed before or after the trade/draft period. If after then its really poor form from the AFL and we should be disappointed. 

The NGA changes were already flagged late in 2019 season, Dogs were worried it would be implemented before they had the chance to get Ugle-Hagan, but the AFL didn’t make the final decision until relatively late in the piece last year. Felt it would be unfair to clubs to change the rules for ‘20 draft, so flagged that change was effective from ‘21.

I think our draft strategy would have been ambivalent to having access to Andrew.

Posted
1 hour ago, Freddy Fuschia said:

Did he really mention Nicholls and Smith?

I couldn’t believe it so I went to the source and there he was at 13:50 saying that with time in the gym he might develop into a ruckman but not one with Nic Nat’s power “so you’re looking more at a Tom Nicholls or an Archie Smith type”. 

For the record:-

Tom Nicholls 203 cm, 102 kg played 45 games (7 goals) in 9 seasons with Gold Coast.

Archie Smith 202 cm, 105 kg has played 16 games in 8 seasons with the Brisbane Lions.

Maybe, he meant Tom Hickey?

Posted

This doesn't phase me too much given our recent recruiting strategy. If we like a player in the draft but don't get him, we follow up. As soon as he's first available for trade we swoop. Give Big Mac 2 years elsewhere if they want to trump us, then trade for him. Unlikely to have played AFL footy by then, but with 2 years development under the bonnet.

Posted
12 hours ago, Redleg said:

Fair argument. You are actually making me feel a bit better if we miss out on him. Cerra, Moniz-Wakefield, young Woewy and a couple of late picks in the ND and RookieD might be a good result for the Premier.

Would you look at Brander if you could get him for say a future 3rd rounder. He is quite versatile. Could replace Hibbo, Melk if we let them go. 

Of course, the scenario that I provided was based on us having to match a pick in the top ten. There’s still the possibility that he could be nominated in the late teens. We couldn’t match such a bid under this year’s’ rules but who knows what we might have done if it was open bidding? As I’ve said - it all depends on what our viewpoint on him is. 

On Brander, I have no opinion of him but I think there’s another thread for that discussion.

Posted

Given our ruck stocks are pretty solid at the moment, and for the next 3-5 years with Max, Luke and Bradke, and we appear to be in our premiership window, recruiting another prospective ruck whose unlikely to impact for 2-3+ years seems unwise, especially if we need to spend most of our draft capital to do so.

I suspect he may drop down the draft order if only for the idea that a 70kg ruck has probable 20+ kg required to be added to be able to hold ground in that position...

Trust our team will make the right call on Mac.

Posted
2 hours ago, PaulRB said:

Given our ruck stocks are pretty solid at the moment, and for the next 3-5 years with Max, Luke and Bradke, and we appear to be in our premiership window, recruiting another prospective ruck whose unlikely to impact for 2-3+ years seems unwise, especially if we need to spend most of our draft capital to do so.

I don't think Bradtke will get another contract and clubs seem to have 3 rucks on their lists...

Posted
4 minutes ago, The Lobster Effect said:

I don't think Bradtke will get another contract and clubs seem to have 3 rucks on their lists...

Jason Taylor mentioned on Cal Twomeys podcast few weeks back that they may look to add a young developing ruckman in the draft.

Posted
1 hour ago, The Lobster Effect said:

I think that Bradtke has had very little football in the past 2 years to prove himself and I think they will retain him if the development coach and the ruck coach believe he has an upside.

Posted
On 9/19/2021 at 10:27 AM, monoccular said:

It is just yet another AFL knee jerk rule change - like the deliberate rushed behind (one GF circa 2007), the pre finals bye (one failed 'resting players' in round 23 circa 2015) , statue on mark for ? whatever reason.  

Some administrators  just think they have to make changes for the sake of it.

To be fair it is a pretty shonky rule. First brought in to appease Eddie and the northern states getting access to kids. 

On 9/19/2021 at 10:38 AM, Left Foot Snap said:

I often wonder if our draft and trading strategy last year was influenced by us thinking we were getting Mac as an NGA this year. Can't remember if the rules changed before or after the trade/draft period. If after then its really poor form from the AFL and we should be disappointed. 

I doubt very much of it since he was rated 40-rookie early on this year but has shot up the rankings this year. 

Posted
1 hour ago, durango said:

I think that Bradtke has had very little football in the past 2 years to prove himself and I think they will retain him if the development coach and the ruck coach believe he has an upside.

He played 9 games for Casey this year and quite frankly, failed to impress. We won’t keep him.

Posted
1 hour ago, durango said:

Hope they do retain him. He played key position a few games with Casey and I thought he went ok. He is still learning the game.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Hope they do retain him. He played key position a few games with Casey and I thought he went ok. He is still learning the game.

You'd like to think a bloke that's been on your list since 2018 has figured the game out by now. Don't reckon he'll get another contract. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Smokey said:

You'd like to think a bloke that's been on your list since 2018 has figured the game out by now. Don't reckon he'll get another contract. 

We will see. Plenty on here thought JJ was hopeless and would be delisted. Might be in the GF side.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Smokey said:

He played 11 in his first year (2019) then Covid and 9 this year. Not a lot to go on but those who watched his most recent games at Casey weren't that excited. I didn't see them but followed him in earlier games and was impressed by his foot skills, mobility and clean hands at ground level for a beanpole and thought there might be something there.  His ruck craft was hard to read as he was always getting rag-dolled. He hasn't put on the size you would expect (given the old man's gargantuan stature) so I'm guessing they think he's not going to or there's a contest issue. Finishing the season in the backline would suggest he aint a ruckman.

If that's the case, we'll be looking at draft ruck prospects. Fingers crossed that Andrew slides. Taylor mentioned recently the need for rookie rucks to be in a separate category (like internationals) and therefore be given more time to develop on the list. This will  encourage clubs to train them rather than constantly pilfer them from other clubs. Great idea!

Posted
On 9/19/2021 at 10:53 AM, FlashInThePan said:

No need to develop you’re own Archie Smith type. He will be on the trade table this year since he can’t get a game with Brisbane 😉

Retired yesterday 

'I’ll always be a proud Lion': Ruckman retires after eight-year career

To suggest that Andrew might not reach the level of Nic Nat but could become a Tom Nicholls or Archie Smith type has to be pure satire on Knightmare’s part.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Retired yesterday 

'I’ll always be a proud Lion': Ruckman retires after eight-year career

To suggest that Andrew might not reach the level of Nic Nat but could become a Tom Nicholls or Archie Smith type has to be pure satire on Knightmare’s part.

Brisbane had already delisted him. Pity he retired because he was a certainty to make it into the top 20 of Knightmare’s chart.

Posted (edited)

i'll still be very surprised if he goes top 20 (essentially any club's first pick)

htf did they decide on 20? surely a first round pick makes more sense. maybe because of f/s, academies,  pick swaps,  first round picks might extend to pick 20 or beyond?

Edited by daisycutter

Posted
On 9/25/2021 at 4:06 PM, whatwhat say what said:

if he becomes a player bt is gonna struggle big time saying didomenicantonio

WOWEEE DOUBLE D