Posted
2 minutes ago, Ethan Trembley said:

I’m non-binary and go for Essendon. 

Good to see you Ethan I thought you might have been flung!!!!!

Posted
44 minutes ago, Damo said:

Vanders and Bedford are ready to go.

I am a massive Bedford fan but he hardly impacted today (had 8 touches). Brown and Jones are the only two today that should be seriously considered for playing the Giants, Definitely something to work with in both Turner and Declase.

Posted
16 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Ben Brown.  Jonesy. Melksham. Turner. Vandenburg.  

I definitely would like to see Brown in a for solid block of games. At least 4 weeks and see how the forward lines gels. 

I'm not against this but it's an important decision with a fair bit riding on it.

When selected, Brown has been poor and like you say, if they're going to select him, he needs a fair run of games but top 4 is on the line and our current lineup has been the most effective.

That said, with the way Essendon defended us (and the way we entered 50), we could have done with a stay at home tall to make some of the Bomber defenders accountable.

I would argue that Essendon are better than most at covering the ground and getting players into our front half to flood. Against most teams, dropping a pressure player for a tall would be unnecessary at best, detrimental at worst.

Posted

Not for next week and I only caught the last half but Bedfords  run and carry and accurate disposal was one step ahead. I am a fan and think he could make an impact, there may be a spot. Vanders wont get faster and even Jones looked quick at this level. But Vanders is pressing for a wing/HFF where there may be a chance sooner or later. Jones played mainly in the middle where it is impossible to stake a claim.

Id just promote BBB for the moment. Point is we are being spoilt for choice.

Posted
9 minutes ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

I am a massive Bedford fan but he hardly impacted today (had 8 touches). Brown and Jones are the only two today that should be seriously considered for playing the Giants, Definitely something to work with in both Turner and Declase.

Agree about Bedford- he can be electric at times but goes missing for long periods. Needs 2-4 consecutive good games.

Posted
40 minutes ago, forever demons said:

that was not a good game od

I wonder how many he would have kicked if he had a good day.

Posted
Just now, Clint Bizkit said:

How many goals did Brown kick?

Posted
Just now, Clint Bizkit said:

5. And they were good. And terrible. But they were gifted to him.

He marked well, but didn’t dominate as he marked them.

Hope that’s clear.

• Haha 9

Posted
2 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

5:2

One was a gimme handball from AVB and he missed one he should have kicked.

Weid missed at least 2 if not 3 and had one good snap for a goal

Posted
3 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

No clearances though.
He did get back off the mark well, though perhaps overdid it at times, especially when kicking for goal.

Posted
Just now, Chook said:

No clearances though.
He did get back off the mark well, though perhaps overdid it at times, especially when kicking for goal.

do you think he would play better with a haircut like Weid's

Posted (edited)
18 hours ago, Jaded said:

Ben Brown needs to play. I think we can all agree that Tmac needs to play as a high leading forward and Fritsch at full forward won’t get us many marks or goals. We need to give Brown a solid run in the seniors. 

Absolutely, Ben Brown must come in next week, and get the rest of the year, forward line was a dogs breakfast last night. Fritsch is a third forward, need Brown FF TMac CHF Fritsch FP 

Edited by Dave1711

Posted (edited)
28 minutes ago, Chook said:

No clearances though.

Did he put his head over the ball at least?

Edited by Clint Bizkit
Posted

Sorry everyone, I didn't get home and switch on the telly until after Essendon hit the lead in the 3rd. I was then able to concentrate and get the lads over the line. I'll try to not let it happen again.

Posted
2 hours ago, Jaded said:

What’s happened to Weid’s goal kicking? His confidence is shot. He needs to talk to a sports psychologist. 

We need to try something else. Play him at  CHB in the twos . It worked with both G Lyon and Neitz.  They both returned as much better forwards 

Posted
1 hour ago, Cheesy D. Pun said:

I'm not against this but it's an important decision with a fair bit riding on it.

When selected, Brown has been poor and like you say, if they're going to select him, he needs a fair run of games but top 4 is on the line and our current lineup has been the most effective.

That said, with the way Essendon defended us (and the way we entered 50), we could have done with a stay at home tall to make some of the Bomber defenders accountable.

I would argue that Essendon are better than most at covering the ground and getting players into our front half to flood. Against most teams, dropping a pressure player for a tall would be unnecessary at best, detrimental at worst.

I disagree that he was poor v Swans in difficult slippery conditions. From memory he kicked three out of not many 

Posted
46 minutes ago, Dave1711 said:

Reckon Bowey looks the goods, he’s smart and has good style, should give him a couple games this year, Jones & Brown should be in ones

I think Bowey needs the full year in Casey. He needs another 1-2 years of footy and in the gym. I’d like to see him as a wingman who can deliver into forward 50. I agree that his skill is definitely on show already.  

Posted
6 minutes ago, Farmer said:

We need to try something else. Play him at  CHB in the twos . It worked with both G Lyon and Neitz.  They both returned as much better forwards 

I’ve thought this for a while and thrown it up a couple of times. It’s a tricky call because in his last year on his contract it’s basically sending a message that he’s failing as a forward and he’s a magnet that gets thrown around now. But I do think playing him as a defender would teach him a lot, I wish they’d tried it earlier to be honest. 

Posted

Wow 2 games clear on the ladder and dominant seconds win. Brown kick five sorry but there are only positives for mine

Posted
20 minutes ago, Farmer said:

Might work.  My memory tells me Neita started as a defender, and moved forward out of necessity when Schwarta went down.  However, there are two notable blokes who both definitely started as forwards (with limited success), only to carve out terrific careers as defenders, by name of Steven Smith and Gary Hardeman.

Posted

Not only can Weiderman not hold a mark, or kick straight, when the ball hits the deck he’s totally exposed and shows no desire to chase and tackle. There is no way we want him as a defender, he would get toweled up by any half decent forward