Jaded No More 68,976 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Harmes to DeGoey ASAP. Need to fix the set up in the middle. I would play TMac deep and push Weideman up the ground. We don’t look dangerous with Weideman deep. 3 Quote
Red But Mostly Blue 4,631 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 We're making an art form of slow starts. 1 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Our midfielders are getting killed at the fall of the ball. Not working hard enough, and not winning enough contests. Thats the game. 4 Quote
John Crow Batty 8,891 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 I wish we had Mitch Brown as sub to replace you know who. 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,614 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Well...I guezz we habe been in worst holes at half time this year. We certainly cant play much worse. Goody needs to kick our fwd line in the butt. They are shocking. 1 Quote
titan_uranus 25,245 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Couldn’t be playing worse. We look slow, tired, unstructured, unskilled. Everything we haven’t been this season. +4 inside 50s but three goals down. Kicking it to Moore isn’t helping but that’s in part because Weideman is just so far off it he’s not worth aiming for. So many of their goals have come from our forward half turnovers. About the only positive is that we’re only 16 points down. We’ve flipped switches a number of times this year. Let’s hope we can again, because we’re sure as hell not winning this the way we’re playing so far. 3 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,162 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 How Harmes was not sent to DeGoey by about the 10 minute mark of that quarter is astounding. 4 Quote
Deesprate 1,324 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 2 minutes ago, gs77 said: If you're clearly out of range after the siren why not kick a torp??? Totally agree. Blighty always bang on about this. Inexplicable. 3 Quote
Rob Mac...... 643 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 We desperately need a real genuine KPF instead of Weideman. Quote
DubDee 26,660 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 37 minutes ago, Dr.D said: [censored] hell Oliver. that was 30 minutes of dribble. no work rate whatsoever. he basically didn't even get to any contests. let alone win any. you owe us now I reckon Clarry more than anyone has some credits in the bank. He can’t win every game for us. He get 20+ touches in the second half. No doubt 1 Quote
Lil_red_fire_engine 11,374 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 (edited) Melbourne has a recognisable brand that we as supporters love. This is the exact opposite of that. Second to the ball. Outnumbered at the contest. Players trailing their player when in transition. No creativity, run or dare when in possession. Feels like a team that was ready to absorb an emotional start rather than take charge and not give them a sniff. Edited June 14, 2021 by big_red_fire_engine 1 Quote
jnrmac 20,340 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Terrible first half. Letting them run ragged. Paying them no respect. Can't pick up our men. They've had 11 marks in their fwd 50. The defence is a rabble today. Their mids are waltzing it out of the centre and Our fwd line is non existent. Weid can go back to the 2nds Not much to fix up at half time. A giant rocket up the backside is well called for 1 Quote
deebug 1,754 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 2 minutes ago, leave it to deever said: Come on down another Brown. Either one will do. If only the VFL was still going? Quote
Red But Mostly Blue 4,631 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Pies haven't been able to score all year, and here they are scoring no worries at all. We're being shown up by total spuds. Why do we have to wait until half time to make changes? Why the hell hasn't Harmes been put on de Goey earlier?! Quote
Dr.D 1,771 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 BLOODY HOPELESS MELBOURNE. Oliver: You set up this loss with your putrid first quarter. You're a leader and you showed complete lack of effort. Petracca: Hollywood handballs, terrible kicking. Getting smashed at clearances. Gawn: 9 hitouts in a half. not good enough. Can someone get on DeGoey!? Can someone get on Maynard!? Can someone get on Crisp?! Can someone get on Mihocek?! Can someone get on Hoskin-Elliott?! Can someone get on Pendlebury?! Can someone get on Noble?! Can someone get on Mayne?! Can someone get on Madgen?! HOPELESS! This is why I don't trust us. Regardless of what happens, we've shown we can produce vfl standard footy and amateur level defensive pressure. Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 There are a few lazy efforts today. Midfield not working anywhere near hard enough. There still is hope though. Quote
titan_uranus 25,245 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Collingwood is scoring from 57% of their inside 50s. I think Adelaide is the only side who’s been above 40% in that metric against us all year. Petty getting belted by Mihocek didn’t help. Quote
ding 5,126 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 5 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said: Game going to the narrative of Buckley going out a winner. 2 Quote
Kiss of Death 770 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Anybody else sick of watching the opposition sweep the ball out of the back of the centre square after a bounce? 2 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,162 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 7 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said: Fast break, then the forwards are leading deep into pockets????? Wtf Mate...two talls and i have not seen one of them lead straight up at the ball carrier. All of them pretty much lead to the boundary every time including the medium in Fritchkrieg. Awful play just awful and entries inside 50 far too shallow when not going wide!???? 2 Quote
layzie 34,527 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Lucky to be this close, need to get it together in the second half. Looking flat, shellshocked, lacking ideas. Clearly hanging out for the bye. Apart from needing to get our hands on it more I'm not really sure what the answers are but I'd like to see us take the game on a bit more. Hopefully Collingwood lose their legs and their dare a bit but we've got a lot to do to get back into this game. You're the hunted now, top of the ladder with a nice big target on your back for every other side to shoot at. With that comes a responsibility to perform. Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 1 minute ago, big_red_fire_engine said: Melbourne has a recognisable brand that we as supporters love. This is the exact opposite of that. Second to the ball. Outnumbered at the contest. Players trailing their player when in transition. No creativity, run or dare when in possession. Feels like a team that was ready to absorb an emotional start but rather than take charge and not give them a sniff. Very well put. Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 I thaught this might happen. They are not switched on at all. Quote
WA Demon Boy 966 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Lol Gary just loves to sink the boots in at times doens't he? I understand it's his job but sometimes I can hear the joy in his voice when we're down 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,266 Posted June 14, 2021 Posted June 14, 2021 Lol.. people just waking up now to how useless Weideman is? Dear lord.. Defence a shambles. Lever hates defending and would rather just sit out for the easy ball.. [censored] man up! Max getting taught a lesson by Lunch who's played 4 games.. that's right 4 [censored] games! This is Adelaide written all over again. 1 Quote