Posted
On 5/13/2021 at 5:05 PM, Deemania since 56 said:

There are credible reasons to consider Mitch White from Casey.

The fella can play footy consistently well and in the bigtime, might be a valuable asset either end of the field - with heaps of improving experience gathered through the Casey School of Incredible Footballing Talent.

His career places him as the sole 'Learnings' beneficiary of his favourite coaching influence. His game in all seriousness has improved considerably and his attitudes and efforts are first-rate. An exampe-setter. 

More info please : height, weight, position, “plays like”?

1 hour ago, Clintosaurus said:

Zac Foot and Goober Crossley interest me.

Certainly interesting names - can they play?  Size, position?

Posted
4 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Got to have a player called Goober

I agree. Don’t care how he plays. 

Get him. 

Posted
18 hours ago, monoccular said:

Certainly interesting names - can they play?  Size, position?

Foot is currently playing for Casey and was at the Swans. Goober (Brayden) Crossley was at the Suns and currently at Southport in the VFL. Think he was suspended for a positive cocaine test?

Posted
18 hours ago, Turner said:

Zac Foot, Kobi George and Kobe Farmer all in for the MSD

i think the only players taken will be 5-7 19yo's by the developing bottom sides and then a couple of depth big men. mid sized players would have to be playing out of their skin ie Nathan Freeman levels to have a chance (interesting he hasn't nommed yet) as clubs would surely prefer to blood players already on their list if they lose a senior player to injury 

I don't follow it closely but would have thought there would be a few teams looking to pickup players who did not get a lookin in last years's draft due to lack of exposed form in the covid year who are now showing they should have been drafted?

Posted

Nathan Freeman would be an amazing story. From the Pies to the Saints to obscurity and back. Years of injury and inability to get on the field. Imagine if he was signed up and got onto the park on Grand Final day and played in a winning Demons team. Optimism gone crazy.  

Posted

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019_AFL_draft#Mid-season_rookie_draft

Pickett and John Noble have been the biggest success stories from 2019. With Snelling handy too. Gardner was looking improved this year as well.

I don't know how many picks the club plans on using but I'd be seriously interested in a mature key defender for some depth for the rest of the season, and using at least 1 pick on the best 19 year old we can find too.

Posted
On 5/13/2021 at 5:10 PM, Red and Blue realist said:

Do we know if Kobi George elected to stay in our NGA as a 19 year old? He might not get a look in at the MSD but could be worth a look come the national draft if we get him with the discounts? 

What is the situation with a NGA player who nominates for the mid season draft?

Posted
28 minutes ago, Redleg said:

What is the situation with a NGA player who nominates for the mid season draft?

not tied but if they fall through are then NGA linked once more for the national draft

Posted

This Herald Sun article (firewall) names all of the players who have nominated to date - AFL: What every club needs in the mid season draft.

It seems to me that not as many players from the younger pool have emerged as expected before the start of the season - at least from the young Victorian talent. The NAB Boys League has a disjointed fixture with a number of weeks off and on to the point where even the players are in the dark as to what they’re doing from week to week and it’s difficult for late developers to show their wares. If they don’t overhaul their system, it’s going to be harder and harder in the future for recruiters to spot talent.

I’m hoping that the MFC recruiting team are on top of the situation because looking through the list of 300 names, there’s nothing there that springs out and calls for recruitment. At a guess, I would say Zac Foot, now at Casey and formerly from the Swans or Werribee’s Kye Declase who trained with Melbourne during the supplemental draft period might suit our needs (the latter because he might be tried as cover for Adam Tomlinson). 

Secretly hoping that the club’s recruiters might have a smokey in mind but the odds are against.

Posted
1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

For those who could get over the firewall in my previous post - Over 300 players nominate for AFL Mid-Season Draft

Question without notice: Who is Jamal Lynch listed as being from the Melbourne Demons?

Interesting. Played for St Mary's in the Central GF when I was down there last year. Our NGA territory, and we have a particularly strong connection to the Santa Teresa community, having grassed their oval. A great watch for anyone who hasn't seen it: 

Posted
On 5/19/2021 at 6:13 PM, demonstone said:

I see that Nathan Freeman has yet to nominate, but has until next Tuesday 25th May to do so.

Yes he could be an option for a midfield/wing role and he has great pace. He was top 10 in his draft year and if I recall correctly, it was his hammies, that kept failing him. If they are under control now, he could be a cheap option, that won’t hurt us if he doesn’t make it.

It will be interesting to see the type of players we take in the msd, given our current playing list.

Will this be a needs draft, or a best available at our pick draft?

Posted

Think Jesse Glass-McCasker might be worth a punt.

Young key position player who can play either end. Gives us that key position depth to cover Tomlinson and he spent a few years on Carlton's rookie list, so has learnt under Weitering, Jones, Marchbank etc. So might be some ok insurance policy?

Posted
On 5/21/2021 at 6:58 AM, Purple77 said:

Based on that article alone, sounds Schloithe could step in for Melksham next week. I'm sure it's not as good as it sounds, though. 

Schloithe is an absolute star of the WAFL. Spent time in Freo list but they have a strong midfield through 2014-16 and missed his chance. At 28, he’d be an immediate run on type but realistically only cover for our midfield.  We already have a few like Sparrow as depth. I’d prefer a young quick outside runner with skills like Will Bravo. 

Posted
On 5/21/2021 at 10:45 PM, MadAsHell said:

Think Jesse Glass-McCasker might be worth a punt.

Young key position player who can play either end. Gives us that key position depth to cover Tomlinson and he spent a few years on Carlton's rookie list, so has learnt under Weitering, Jones, Marchbank etc. So might be some ok insurance policy?

Fantastic name for a Whisky distiller. 

If Jackson Callow was available (big if) then he'd be worth a look...'vice-like hands"
https://www.afl.com.au/news/620397/who-needs-a-key-forward-18yo-beast-dominating-in-sanfl

Posted

I really rated Freeman pre draft, but unfortunately i think the game has moved past one paced inside mids now. and we're really seeing that play out with the poor form of St Kilda, and the individuals like Cripps. 

I'd like to see us target another small pressure forward, and otherwise the best ball users we could possibly find