Mitch Brown to replace Fritter... 

Petty to replace May Day... 

Hibberd SUB 

I’d bring in vanders split the role fritsch played between him and Melksham 

Edited by Garbo

19 minutes ago, deanox said:

What is good is that there are actually heaps of options.

-Gawn forward, LJ more ruck.

-Petty forward, Hibberd back.

-Melksham forward, Sparrow in middle.

-Mitch Brown or Majak Daw.

All are real options, and all come before Weid and Brown return from injury.

Also May is out, and we've got Petty and Hibberd as potential replacements. 

We've got Sparrow waiting in the wings for the midfield. Harmes is a few weeks away.

Bowey and Laurie may be a way off but they are a chance to get games if needed as a rotation.

Lockhart will come back from injury and put pressure on Jetta.

When a team plays well it looks likenit has depth.

Our risk is needing too many of these depth players at once.

Melksham forward and Sparrow in the middle would be my pick.

57 minutes ago, deanox said:

I'd consider Petty forward and Hibberd back for May.

We'd still have the flexibility to throw Petty back if we need the extra height.

Petty won't play there long, but I'm expecting Brown back for the tiges.

No, no no no no. Dunno why Demonlanders keep on about this.  If you had watched lots of him at Casey as I have you would know he is a natural defender.

I doubt he will ever play forward again.

All clubs cop injuries but just wonder when will the footy gods ever shine on us ??? First May  a defender now a forward & both on fire!

2 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

No, no no no no. Dunno why Demonlanders keep on about this.  If you had watched lots of him at Casey as I have you would know he is a natural defender.

I doubt he will ever play forward again.

Yeah I don't get this. Is it because he played OK as a forward a few years back in maybe 2-3 games when we were desperate due to injuries? I get that he could probably perform well but he is well and truly a backman first and formost.

Plus the swinging of backs to forwards and visa versa within games isn't very common. You come in with a solid set structure and game plan. Those things only happen when absolutely necessary in dire situations most of the time.

1 minute ago, Hogan2014 said:

All clubs cop injuries but just wonder when will the footy gods ever shine on us ??? First May  a defender now a forward & both on fire!

Mate we have played 4 games. Worry about finals time. 

Some people are forgetting we are comming up against the best ruckman this year in McEvoy. He also swings forward so to have Max spending more time down forward could be fraught with dangers. I would keep the options open on that. I do not believe for 1 minute that Melksham can replace Fritsch. I would bring Brown in because he will at least provide forward pressure and Petty in for may. Melkshan to Casey and Chandler bought in as sub. Just forget about Daw for crying out loud.

1 hour ago, binman said:

Yep, melksham is the logical replacement.

Arguably melksham's best role is the one fritter is currently playing. Like fritter he has good hands ans is generally an.acuuraye kick

Might be good for him too as the kpi is goals not disposals. 

Play Melk deep With Chandler coming in to play Melk’s high half forward role. Keeps the pace/ pressure in the 50. Marking power the obvious risk although you just hope Jakey and TMac bring their hands

Edited by The Jackson 6

Makes this Sunday’s game absolutely critical to win given we have May and Fritsch also out for Richmond.

You know Fritta’s stocks have risen in a short time as his omission (for sleeping in) against St Kilda last year barely raised an eyelid around here.

13 minutes ago, hemingway said:

Pessimism is only a scratch away. 

No need to scratch mate, it’s a Raven that sits on my shoulder...

”Till the dirges of his Hope that melancholy burden bore 
Of ‘Never—nevermore’.”

?

Thank god no one has suggested Smith. Someone has however suggested Vanders. Forget Daw. Too slow, and doesn't have a football brain. Oskar Baker .... very much doubt that he'll make it.

These players are barely depth.

M. Brown for Fritsch is a possibility. I 'get' the suggestion of Melksham playing Fritsch's role, but he's not in the same league. He's lucky to be getting a game at all.

3 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

No need to scratch mate, it’s a Raven that sits on my shoulder...

”Till the dirges of his Hope that melancholy burden bore 
Of ‘Never—nevermore’.”

?

Brilliant

3 minutes ago, bingers said:

Thank god no one has suggested Smith. Someone has however suggested Vanders. Forget Daw. Too slow, and doesn't have a football brain. Oskar Baker .... very much doubt that he'll make it.

M. Brown for Fritsch is a possibility. I 'get' the suggestion of Melksham playing Fritsch's role, but he's not in the same league. He's lucky to be getting a game at all.

Spot on 

8 minutes ago, bingers said:

I’m not advocating for Daw, but isn’t he lightning quick? Won the grand final sprint in an absolute canter one year didn’t he?

I’d play Melksham deeper forward, with Sparrow back into the 22.

I like Mitch Brown.

1 hour ago, Jaded said:

Just blows to have injuries before we face Richmond on the big stage. It’s a golden opportunity to get some prime time exposure but most importantly beat a contender. Gonna be tough to do without our full back and our most productive forward. 

Ben Brown will come in against the Tigers

KozzieShow.com will just have to kick 10.

2 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

I'd probably just keep Sparrow in, rather than as sub. He's better at the grunt and pressure up the ground than Melksham. I reckon Melksham's best shot is as a leading forward/half forward type rather than a mid now.

Petty comes in for May, probably Hibberd as sub.

Good call - I think that'll be it.

Two key starters down has me feeling that I'll be happy to just get the W this week. Melky seems the most suitable stand-in for Fritta so it's maybe fortunate that we gave him a run last week in hindsight.