Accepting Mediocrity 1,418 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 1 hour ago, CYB said: If Franklin gets picked then the AA process is flawed and is simply grown men getting together at playtime talking about their favourite players. Unpopular opinion maybe but I don't think Franklin would be undeserving. He's ranked equal second for goals per game - you could make a strong case that he's been the second best tall forward after Hawkins. Unlike McKay, he actually does something when the ball is on the ground. Missing 6 games is really the only thing counting against him. The guy is a dead set freak. 6 Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,792 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 Fritta a tad lucky I reckon 4 1 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 Gawn, Oliver, Petracca and Lever to get the nod for me. 4 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,855 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 19 minutes ago, Nascent said: Gawn, Oliver, Petracca and Lever to get the nod for me. + may, for mine 5 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 11 minutes ago, hardtack said: Salem must be a sneaky chance. Nah. They’ll need to fit in 18 midfielders. 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,334 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 40 minutes ago, Nascent said: Gawn, Oliver, Petracca and Lever to get the nod for me. Exactly the way I had mine. 1 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 1 hour ago, Demonland said: Hardly long enough to be called in a tweet. 1 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 1 hour ago, Accepting Mediocrity said: Unpopular opinion maybe but I don't think Franklin would be undeserving. He's ranked equal second for goals per game - you could make a strong case that he's been the second best tall forward after Hawkins. Unlike McKay, he actually does something when the ball is on the ground. Missing 6 games is really the only thing counting against him. The guy is a dead set freak. The Colman medalist is an always a lock in for Full Forward. Quote
RickyJ45 417 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 Suprised Guthrie didn't make it in front of Fritta. They must have punished him for that Out of bounds on the full in the dying seconds....:) Quote
TheWiz 787 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 Would love to know if Mark Ricciuto still believes that Jake Lever is a $500k player and Adelaide are happy that he left. 5 1 10 Quote
Bay Riffin 1,518 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 2 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said: Probably the most accurate 40-player squad in quite a few years, they didn't get too much wrong. I am actually surprised Fritsch made the squad. Only big error is Travis Boak. I maintain that Gawn and Darcy were both better ruckmen over the 23 rounds than NicNat. Fritsch kicked 47 goals, the most of any mid / small forward. why are people surprised?. I'd have him AA team on a flank, name me 3 or 4 smaller types who are ahead of him ? 4 1 Quote
Bombay Airconditioning 6,508 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 3 hours ago, titan_uranus said: Caleb Daniel also missed out. And…. 1 Quote
Bombay Airconditioning 6,508 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 2 hours ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said: Fritta a tad lucky I reckon 47 goals the most of any mid sized fwd. Don’t think luck had anything to do with it, all players regardless of position have quiet games. Quote
Bombay Airconditioning 6,508 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 Weitering May Stewart Rich Allir Lever Miller Oliver Walsh Petracca McKay Bont Greene Hawkins Fritsch Gawn Wines Mitchell Zorko Steele Laird Macrae 1 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 1 hour ago, hardtack said: Salem must be a sneaky chance. More than a sneaky chance He's been consistently very good all season playing in the one position. Rarely wastes a possession and racks them up to boot He'll be taking Brownlow votes off Petracca & Oliver too. All 3 of their christian names begin with C so the forced delay will be in play on Brownlow night C ....................... Spargo 1 9 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 2 hours ago, whatwhat say what said: + may, for mine Would be stoked if May got selected and would be deserving as well. Just realised that Andrews wasn't included in the top 40 so that must increase his chances. Still some strong candidates like Stewart, Aliir and Weitering to contend with however. Look forward to thursday night, should be a good evening for the dees. Quote
Jjrogan 1,485 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 Tom Mitchell is the epitome of an ineffective player. He leads the competition in disposals per game. He is ranked 92nd for score involvements per game. 92nd! If you adjusted score involvements for disposals he would be off the charts and not in a good way. One in every 6-7 times he touches it does hawthorn even score. But apparently circle work handballing and kicking is a skill to be recognized by All Australia selectors. Give me a break. 2 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,823 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 (edited) I could not and will not understand if Maysie is not selected in the All-Australian best 22. Lever and him have been like Batman and Robin all season forming the most formidable backline in the history of the game. Absolute outrage if he's not selected. We won 17 games this year really they all should be in. Edited August 23, 2021 by Win4theAges 3 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 I’d love if the followers line was Gawn, Oliver, Petracca all together 2 Quote
Wrecker46 3,130 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 4 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said: 47 goals the most of any mid sized fwd. Don’t think luck had anything to do with it, all players regardless of position have quiet games. I think the way our forward line works is the forward who has the defender who we don't want getting involved leads to where the ball isn't going. We are playing selfless football. Some of Frittas "quiet" games are because he is doing the team thing and taking the best defender away from the footy. 1 Quote
Demon17 5,262 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 8 hours ago, Win4theAges said: I could not and will not understand if Maysie is not selected in the All-Australian best 22. Lever and him have been like Batman and Robin all season forming the most formidable backline in the history of the game. Absolute outrage if he's not selected. We won 17 games this year really they all should be in. They both stand between the cup and any other team getting it. Will be in as a duo for sure. I think Salem is the other key to us as shown we he was out or off his game. He's in also I reckon. Unlike Daniel Rich who can be exposed, Salem can't be. Quote
poita 3,944 Posted August 23, 2021 Posted August 23, 2021 Congratulations to the 7 Demons named - all very deserving. Otherwise a bizarre squad. I count 8 genuine forwards, 8 genuine defenders, 3 ruckmen and 21 midfielders. Either the selectors are going to pull their favourite trick of naming a ruck, 4 KPPs and a truck load of midfielders, or almost every one of those forwards and defenders is going to be in the final team, which bodes very well for the chances of May, Salem and Fritsch. Quote