Spud 288 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 1 hour ago, The Lobster Effect said: Thanks, I've logged into that page but it's just blank in the barcode section and says contact club. The issue is I have MCC as well and so paid the $220 to upgrade to dual Premium MCC/MelbFC membership so this year I can sit with friends who only have MFC membership (other years I could just walk from MCC to sit in general admin with friends but because of COVID you can't do that anymore). I should have just forked out the $239 for the Dees membership. I'll get the barcode eventually but it's just a pain they can't email it to me within 5 days, bit of a joke. I needed an extra ticket for Saturday and purchased a membership today to do so. I went into the "contact us" button on the membership website (under more tab) and then added info into "request a call back" outlining I needed the barcode. Got the barcode emailed to me 20 minutes later. I'd say try that, I was surprised and impressed having read your post. Quote
picket fence 18,188 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 That's not the worst of it. I am a signed up member. I logged on the the ticketek App and presented the Barcode which MFC gave me and tried to get 1 Ticket and the site wanted to charge me 40 bucks plus for a ticket. NOT HAPPY!! INFACT SNARLY!! 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 3 minutes ago, picket fence said: That's not the worst of it. I am a signed up member. I logged on the the ticketek App and presented the Barcode which MFC gave me and tried to get 1 Ticket and the site wanted to charge me 40 bucks plus for a ticket. NOT HAPPY!! INFACT SNARLY!! that was because you selected a seat that is an upgrade to your membership. it's not very clear that's for sure if you're not familiar with ticketek 2 1 Quote
MarkMacca 133 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 I used three member barcodes to get tickets and could not find any tickets that were no cost unless they were for 1 year olds to 5 year olds. Can some one please advise what to click on to get entry to the ground with MFC membership, without paying more ... Quote
Pulp Fritschon 774 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 7 minutes ago, MarkMacca said: I used three member barcodes to get tickets and could not find any tickets that were no cost unless they were for 1 year olds to 5 year olds. Can some one please advise what to click on to get entry to the ground with MFC membership, without paying more ... After entering barcode - select/scroll down right hand side and select General Reserved (second option from bottom) 2 Quote
MarkMacca 133 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 1 minute ago, Pulp Fritschon said: After entering barcode - select/scroll down right hand side and select General Reserved (second option from bottom) Thank you. Ill try that. (Sigh.) 1 Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 (edited) I know we all want to go and we’re all very special but as others have said I expect the footy clubs member depts have been cut back due to covid. I see it as a massive positive that the lines are busy, please try and be gentle with them/the club, it’s tough times still. Having worked in call centres many monks ago it is a thankless task for not much money. Stick fat and keep trying, it’s not personal. ps the booking system run by those money grubbing merchants is a different story, it is so hard to work out/less than intuitive. Edited March 16, 2021 by Cards13 2 Quote
picket fence 18,188 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 2 hours ago, daisycutter said: that was because you selected a seat that is an upgrade to your membership. it's not very clear that's for sure if you're not familiar with ticketek Thanks Daisy my Daughter finally nutted it out to me and secured a ticket? But shouldn't be so hard to work the system? 3 Quote
TopCorner 103 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 Hmm, I'm unable to reserve a ticket. I've tried both General Reserved and Best Available. I was under the assumption tickets were guaranteed? There aren’t enough tickets to meet your request right now. Please try Best Available with a reduced quantity of tickets. If you receive this message even when selecting only one ticket, all remaining tickets are being transacted by other customers. Quote
TopCorner 103 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 6 minutes ago, TopCorner said: Hmm, I'm unable to reserve a ticket. I've tried both General Reserved and Best Available. I was under the assumption tickets were guaranteed? There aren’t enough tickets to meet your request right now. Please try Best Available with a reduced quantity of tickets. If you receive this message even when selecting only one ticket, all remaining tickets are being transacted by other customers. Got through - just needed multiple attempts. 2 Quote
Demons1858 1,827 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 (edited) l got tixs today in mcc after 5pm for 2 junior mfc members and l as a provisional new mcc member. have also got a mcc/mfc membership. my learning today is that the booking system works very well but could do with some better explanations and more detailed scenario based how to videos ... next booking will be a breeze for us all now that we have got the hang of it ... ps mfc membership staff are great and super knowledgeable but need more hands on deck to help in key moments ... 30 min plus wait time is common at the moment Edited March 16, 2021 by Demons1858 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 4 hours ago, picket fence said: That's not the worst of it. I am a signed up member. I logged on the the ticketek App and presented the Barcode which MFC gave me and tried to get 1 Ticket and the site wanted to charge me 40 bucks plus for a ticket. NOT HAPPY!! INFACT SNARLY!! Perhaps it's because no one loves you picket! Quote
picket fence 18,188 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 14 hours ago, daisycutter said: that was because you selected a seat that is an upgrade to your membership. it's not very clear that's for sure if you're not familiar with ticketek Yep correct, my daughter sorted it Go Dees Quote
praha 11,267 Posted March 16, 2021 Posted March 16, 2021 I can't tell if it's the system, or people just don't know what they're doing. I was in and out in 3 minutes. No problems. No booking fee. Tickets received. And this was for the AFL members when Richmond and Collingwood would have been scrambling for seats. 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 (edited) 22 minutes ago, praha said: I can't tell if it's the system, or people just don't know what they're doing. I was in and out in 3 minutes. No problems. No booking fee. Tickets received. And this was for the AFL members when Richmond and Collingwood would have been scrambling for seats. It’s one of the benefits being afl club support Praha. If we ever do make it to another GF, we’re pretty much guaranteed a seat due to there being so few MFC club support members. Edited March 17, 2021 by Demon Disciple 2 Quote
hemingway 7,633 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 (edited) 13 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said: Perhaps it's because no one loves you picket! Reckon I would rather share a post game shower with an unloved Fence than a character with, well, how I can put it nicely, pathological deep seated perversions! Edited March 17, 2021 by hemingway 1 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 50 minutes ago, hemingway said: Reckon I would rather share a post game shower with an unloved Fence than a character with, well, how I can put it nicely, pathological deep seated perversions! That’s the best compliment I’ve received in ages . Thanks Ernie 4 Quote
Eelesie 217 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 (edited) Sorry if its been mentioned somewhere else, but what is this about? Seems to be a link to a free 3 game membership for us. Any Idea why the club is sending these out (on ozbargin website)I have removed the link, but anyone can head and look, or I can PM it (I have gone to the site and had a look, a collingwood mate sent it to me, so that was a fun text exchange :/) The link is to mfcde.es so the domian looks correct. "Just got an SMS from the Melbourne Demons inviting me to take up a free 3-game membership. I believe it can be used for home games at the MCG (possibly not for sellout games but uh… will any be selling out?) The text message was targeted but it looks like anyone can submit the form at (Link Redacted) Paying it forward because I got my original free membership after seeing it on OzB!" Edited March 17, 2021 by Eelesie Image Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 11 minutes ago, Eelesie said: Sorry if its been mentioned somewhere else, but what is this about? Seems to be a link to a free 3 game membership for us. Any Idea why the club is sending these out (on ozbargin website)I have removed the link, but anyone can head and look, or I can PM it (I have gone to the site and had a look, a collingwood mate sent it to me, so that was a fun text exchange :/) The link is to mfcde.es so the domian looks correct. "Just got an SMS from the Melbourne Demons inviting me to take up a free 3-game membership. I believe it can be used for home games at the MCG (possibly not for sellout games but uh… will any be selling out?) The text message was targeted but it looks like anyone can submit the form at (Link Redacted) Paying it forward because I got my original free membership after seeing it on OzB!" I would stay well clear. Ring the club and check. 1 Quote
Eelesie 217 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 7 minutes ago, old dee said: I would stay well clear. Ring the club and check. All good OD, I have hit year 17 on membership, so i'm already spoken for! 1 Quote
chookrat 4,268 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 19 hours ago, picket fence said: That's not the worst of it. I am a signed up member. I logged on the the ticketek App and presented the Barcode which MFC gave me and tried to get 1 Ticket and the site wanted to charge me 40 bucks plus for a ticket. NOT HAPPY!! INFACT SNARLY!! I had the same thing Picket. By 5.45 all of the GA tickets were gone. I'm at two kinds with this, on one hand I'm annoyed that I have to pay around $75 for a couple of tickets, but on the other hand appreciate that MCG capacity is limited to 50%, it's round one, we haven't had footy in Melbourne for more than 18 months, and that our club league isn't awash with cash but either are alot of our supporters. I would hope that the cost does not make it unaffordable for our members and it would be good if the club is able to facilitate access to round one to those who couldn't otherwise afford to go. Quote
whatwhat say what 23,863 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 i went in at 10am yesterday and got 4 afl member tix with no dramas on level 2 in afl members, which is my 'traditional' preferred spot any idea re crowd expectation at this point in time? Quote
58er 6,872 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 On 3/16/2021 at 12:33 PM, Dee Zephyr said: I’m good thanks 58er, was just putting my 2 cents in with Lobster’s issue..I had my fun with the membership department yesterday. Gave them a call for an enquiry, was on hold for a while due to ‘extremely’ high level of calls, eventually I took the call back option and within 20 minutes they called me back, problem was it was just a recorded message asking me to re-enter my phone number and when I did that the machine lady thanked me for contacting the club and hung up on me. It’s just a messy time unfortunately and I can understand people’s frustrations, just have a look at what we have to go through to get entry for a R1 home game. Good enjoy our Round 1 win !!! DZ Quote
poita 3,945 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 2 hours ago, Eelesie said: Sorry if its been mentioned somewhere else, but what is this about? Seems to be a link to a free 3 game membership for us. Any Idea why the club is sending these out (on ozbargin website)I have removed the link, but anyone can head and look, or I can PM it (I have gone to the site and had a look, a collingwood mate sent it to me, so that was a fun text exchange :/) The link is to mfcde.es so the domian looks correct. "Just got an SMS from the Melbourne Demons inviting me to take up a free 3-game membership. I believe it can be used for home games at the MCG (possibly not for sellout games but uh… will any be selling out?) The text message was targeted but it looks like anyone can submit the form at (Link Redacted) Paying it forward because I got my original free membership after seeing it on OzB!" I received the text directly from the club from the same account that sends my monthly billing reminders and other information. I have a couple of reasons for thinking it was legitimate, but if it was an open site it is likely that it has been abused by all and sundry. If so, then this was an appallingly managed promotion that once again sheds doubt on the ability of the club to properly process even simple tasks. I can't wait until Anzac Eve or Queens Birthday and we can't get into the games because the club has given away a bunch of free MFC memberships to Richmond and Collingwood supporters. The site is now saying "This exclusive Community offer has closed. Please contact the club directly if you have any queries". 1 Quote
Demons11 7,149 Posted March 17, 2021 Posted March 17, 2021 On 3/13/2021 at 12:17 PM, Sir Why You Little said: I have to get a ticket to get into the MCC Reserve what a disgrace!!! Why is it a disgrace? Have you been under rock for 12 months? Life has changed and I having to get a ticket to the MCC reserve is surely not that hard. Talk about privileged 1 Quote