Diamond_Jim 12,778 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said: Been use to this for 20 years. Yep I generally try to have a second team that is of interest to me but neither of today's team excite. The Bulldogs win really brought home to me our lack of success. We are alone now on the bottom rung of the failure ladder with only the Saints anywhere near us. Go Storm !!! Quote
sue 9,277 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 This thread brought to you by the Hairshirt Manufacturers of Australia. 1 Quote
hardtack 11,107 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 I actually love it because I can watch without the added stress of having a vested interest in the game. Of course I want to see us make the GF, but if the stress I felt in 2018 for just a Prelim final was anything to go by, I'm not sure how much I could enjoy sitting through the big one. I never got to 'see' any of our wins (just heard them on the radio - no live TV coverage back then) as my parents were not really into footy, so we didn't get to go to games, and I was too young to travel from Croydon to the 'G' solo. Fortunately the club saw fit to transfer this year's GF Guarantee payment to cover 2021, so all extremities are crossed for next year. Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 Can’t stand it, in the dark doldrums pre 4 years ago I used to enjoy most finals and loved the grand final. Now a days I just feel it’s another wasted year let alone not even making the finals. I think I’ll be in bed around half time and really looking forward to the Storm attempt to send Smith off with another premiership. 1 Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 I won't be watching so I couldn't give a stuff. Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: Been use to this for 20 years. 2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: Been use to this for 20 years. Try 54 of the last 56 2 Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 22 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: Yep I generally try to have a second team that is of interest to me but neither of today's team excite. The Bulldogs win really brought home to me our lack of success. We are alone now on the bottom rung of the failure ladder with only the Saints anywhere near us. Go Storm !!! I will be watching tonight for one reason my 10 year old Grand daughter is a cats supporter and she is keen so we will watch it together. I will be mainly silent as have no love for either. This IMO shows the MFC"s big problem, they need to get on the winning list immediately not in five years time. Kids like winners. 2 Quote
P-man 13,367 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 I’m just glad the Grand Final is featuring two likeable teams with so many likeable players. 1 1 Quote
DubDee 26,699 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 42 minutes ago, Cards13 said: Can’t stand it, in the dark doldrums pre 4 years ago I used to enjoy most finals and loved the grand final. Chin up mate, we’ll be on the bottom again in a few years 1 Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 Slow roasted pork belly Cold beers Bunny the waitress and whipped cream 1 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 1 minute ago, McQueen said: Slow roasted pork belly Cold beers Bunny the waitress and whipped cream You confused me for a moment there Steve - I thought you were on my guest list. However, it's whipped waitress at The Manor 1 3 Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 1 minute ago, Bitter but optimistic said: You confused me for a moment there Steve - I thought you were on my guest list. However, it's whipped waitress at The Manor I don’t doubt for a second you’re a level or two above me mate. ? 1 Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 1 hour ago, Wiseblood said: I won't be watching so I couldn't give a stuff. Fairly negative for you wiseblood! I do however understand. 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,468 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 (edited) I am going to watch this instead B. Wilson 3 votes Edited October 24, 2020 by Sir Why You Little Quote
drdrake 3,203 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 I hope it is a draw and we have a re match next week. As we enter into a third wave we need something to watch 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,599 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 The rule was changed a couple of years ago and we would now have extra time in the unlikely event of a draw. This would take the form of two five minute periods and, if scores are still level, next score wins. Quote
DubDee 26,699 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 Middle of GF day and a few beers in and I still couldn’t give a rats who wins Quote
ProperDee 1,698 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 Thunder and heavy rain over the Gabba as I write. I hope it’s a debacle. 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,468 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 We must fight to keep the Day Grand Final next year. This day has no atmosphere at all. No build up If it rains all day and night in Brisvegas the TV Ratings won’t stack up 1 Quote
Hogan2014 390 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 On 10/19/2020 at 12:31 PM, Diamond_Jim said: Does the Richmond team deserve three flags in four years? It doesn't come anywhere near the great teams that have done this in the past IMO but #@^& happens Go the near suburban felines Storm v Penrith Panthers is the bigger game !! (lots of cat teams this year as against the more usual bird teams) It’s called luck at times also .. the 2 flags they won both sides crumbled but history will show them as premiers... cats will be a tougher proposition... the hawthorn & cats premiership sides were are better but that’s how it is & as mfc supporters we would take a flag regardless! Quote
picket fence 18,190 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 I hope its a last man standing match! Would love Lynch to get well and truly fixed up! Fairly of course! Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,468 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 7 minutes ago, picket fence said: I hope its a last man standing match! Would love Lynch to get well and truly fixed up! Fairly of course! Is this the style you are thinking of picket? 1 1 Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,459 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 Love footy so whilst disappointed it's not us, will still be watching. Richmond to win Dalhaus first goal Kane Lambert Norm Smith Quote
rufus 1,162 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 To see the Demons in another of these games, and to 'play like Demons' as Checker famously said, is (outside family things) something i want to see more than anything else. Unfortunately we are a number of years off. Watch the prolonged intensity of tonight's game and it will be hard to think of a time in recent years when we've competed at the required level for long enough. We have the talent to build towards this...just hoping somewhere along the line we can find the right mix of attitudes to drag our club to the promised land. Think it needs to start with a few years of relentless effort and competitiveness before we could be considered in the mix. Quote
rufus 1,162 Posted October 24, 2020 Posted October 24, 2020 49 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: We must fight to keep the Day Grand Final next year. This day has no atmosphere at all. No build up If it rains all day and night in Brisvegas the TV Ratings won’t stack up Agreed 100%. Even if not raining, the dewey nights are not conducive to a great spectacle. Quote