Posted (edited)

Lloyd's right, of course, except for Oliver, who's only just turned 23 and should improve his game considering he's regressed somewhat (immense upside imo).

Brayshaw is talented, but I've heard he's mentally brittle.  I've always been a fan of his latent talent and he's the type of player who could go on to embarrass you, but he's now expendable. 

He should be in his prime and influencing games, but he's a mile off.   

I'm not into hoarding and he's now superfluous when one considers his extended form and attitude.   And I say attitude, because he's still not fit enough OR doing ALL things necessary to reach his potential.

He goes to improve the balance of the list. 

Naturally, if you can't get what you want for him you retain him and hope the penny drops.

Edited by Hannibal Inc.

Posted

I reckon we should seriously think about letting Viney walk via free agency, and allow Brayshaw to play in his actual position.

Posted

I don’t mind Lloyd but seriously there is no chance Oliver is getting traded, even if he asked to be traded I don’t think the club would do it. I don’t think we even need to trade Brayshaw if we had good midfield coaches our midfield should be much better than it is. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Rednblueriseing said:

MASSIVE NO to trade Oliver, he is only going to get better and along with Trac will be top 10 in the league in a couple years, while I think Gus can also, id probably trade him for a gun half back with speed and good disposal or a 1st round pick, nothing less.

Saad.....?

Posted
37 minutes ago, Patches O’houlihan said:

I reckon we should seriously think about letting Viney walk via free agency, and allow Brayshaw to play in his actual position.

Would have 100% been with you before the season started, but just get the feeling something has shifted in him this year, I reckon he's improving as a player this year and at the end of his career will be a far better player than Brayshaw.

Posted

Lloyd’s point is correct though, our mids are all cut from the same mould.

Just don’t expect anyone to cough up something useful for Brayshaw.

Same with Viney, he’s a warrior and bled red and blue from day dot, but he’s not bringing too much value back our way due to his limitations.

Posted
2 hours ago, A F said:

Playing Gus in the middle might actually help him too.

Given Tomlinson's inclusion, I'd expect Gus to play more midfield minutes against Adelaide.

Amazing if you play players in their correct position that generally their form improves. 

Who would have thought that!!!!!

Posted
2 hours ago, adonski said:

I like Lloyd but he has NFI half the time. Bit like when Essendon get over a bottom 4 team and he rates them as premiership contenders, just too reactionary a person.

So why do you like him exactly? You haven't exactly put forward a case for why you would haha.

Posted

We wouldn't have to look at TWSNBN. There ain't anyone brave enough there for us to swap with.

Posted

Lloyd is hoping to shake Oliver out of the tree only for the bummers to pick him up cheaply in a trade ("if MFC want him out, then he is only worth a late second rounder").

Posted
1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Bulldogs - Bont, Libba, Macrae, Dunkley, Wallis

Too many inside mids!!!  Wallis played forward pocket last night.  Maybe they should trade the Bont!!! 

Apart from Libba they can all kick. 

Posted

Petracca, Oliver and Viney is an excellent starting midfield. Oliver is quick off the mark and has the quickest hands I've ever seen

Petracca has X factor, Viney is an animal

Add Jackson in their soon enough with his ruck and 2nd efforts and mobility 

So Loyd can GGF

Posted

It’s all good for this sort of talk when all our list are healthy

Give one of our mids away that haven’t even hit their peak yet and listen to the noise when we have an injury or two....got no depth blah blah blah, stupid trade 

Just look at the Jesse Hogan thread for evidence - and he wanted to leave, so we had to do the best deal possible on that basis 

Posted

If we are going to be serious about maximising this current crop, we need to look to bring some serious outside talent, otherwise they will go to waste.  We can’t trade out picks so what trade stock do we have? A tonne of inside mids. I would say anyone bar Trac is tradable and we would need to trade at least two. 

Oliver is the first to come to mind and would probably attract the most trade value. We need to look at it as he doesn’t have a great defensive game, he’s a less than average kick and doesn’t have great composure with ball also lacks creativity and vision.

Brayshaw has already bought his ticket to Fremantle I reckon. We are playing him in the outside to protect him from any more concussions or injuries that would jeopardise a trade.

Sparrow too raw - let him develop some more, but he’d need to show something this year as he’s been in the system long enough. 

Harmes is good as a defensive midfield - should keep.

Viney is similar to Oliver in the contest just less skillful and is better defensively a keeper as well.

Who we target is also important. Need to go after proven A grade talent. Skillful, pace and someone that can kick! 

Posted
13 minutes ago, CYB said:

If we are going to be serious about maximising this current crop, we need to look to bring some serious outside talent, otherwise they will go to waste.  We can’t trade out picks so what trade stock do we have? A tonne of inside mids. I would say anyone bar Trac is tradable and we would need to trade at least two. 

Oliver is the first to come to mind and would probably attract the most trade value. We need to look at it as he doesn’t have a great defensive game, he’s a less than average kick and doesn’t have great composure with ball also lacks creativity and vision.

Brayshaw has already bought his ticket to Fremantle I reckon. We are playing him in the outside to protect him from any more concussions or injuries that would jeopardise a trade.

Sparrow too raw - let him develop some more, but he’d need to show something this year as he’s been in the system long enough. 

Viney is similar to Oliver in the contest just less skillful and is better defensively a keeper as well.

Who we target is also important. Need to go after proven A grade talent. Skillful, pace and someone that can kick! 

Mate its his second year of AFL footy on the back of missing half a year through a knee injury last year and having no VFL this year.

Posted

Trade out Clarrie or Gus so we can watch them become stars of the game at another club under a better coach? Nuts!

I would rather trade the coach and find one who can maximise their potential.

Enough. The boys deserve better from the club. And more support and belief from us.

Posted
2 hours ago, CYB said:

Oliver is the first to come to mind and would probably attract the most trade value. We need to look at it as he doesn’t have a great defensive game, he’s a less than average kick and doesn’t have great composure with ball also lacks creativity and vision

ok the Hogan trade (not the May recruitment) worked out ok but, like Hogan, Oliver is a generational player.

Prefer to get rid of Goodwin a long time before Oliver and others are sacrificed to save a mediocre coach

We've almost wasted Gawn .... lets burn another

Posted

oliver would have more value in a trade

but i doubt we'd get anything close to what i'd value him for

in terms of a pick we might get a second rounder for brayshaw, if we're lucky

who needs a slow inside-only mid who doesn't really tackle? i'd say only carlton (as support for cripps) or essendon (as someone with a bit more brawn) would be interested

Posted
6 hours ago, Vineytime said:

Brayshaw and  sparrow are the ones I’d look to trade for some outside class. 

100% agree. Brayshaw and Sparrow out. I can't see Sparrow ever being much. He isn't quick like he was advertised and his ball drop is with 2 hands. Trade them both.

Trading Oliver? yeah no.

Posted
3 hours ago, CYB said:

Oliver is great defensively. One of a few that consistently busts his [censored] off. 

People are nuts to contemplate trading a 23 yr old, 2 x bnf and all-australian because of the flaws in his game. his kicking is on par with treloar, macrae and other all-australians. 

Do people forget the last time we tried to hit the draft to attain speed and foot skills? We picked up watts, Strauss and blease in the same draft! That put us back a couple of years. 

Posted

Oliver has massive upside but he needs a good midfield coach to get the best out of him, he just seems to make decisions really rushed. There's a difference between someone who can make quick decisions and someone who's rushed because what he does puts players in worse positions under more pressure.

I feel like Gus has reached his ceiling and is on the decline (that said could get back to being a good footballer), he just doesn't seem to be coming close to hitting his 2018 form.

I'd hope for an early to mid second rounder for Gus. First rounder for Oliver but I would be firmly against it.