1 hour ago, It's Time said:

I don't think Jason Taylor would agree with you. I'm sure he'd be saying there was no luck involved just elite professional talent spotting and pick negotiating. 

Rivers was always going to be the litmus test for me for that draft. I was in the get Young at pick 3 at all costs camp because we so needed his elite kicking. But the hope was that once we got Jackson, Rivers could produce a similar output to Young, then Jackson becomes a bonus compared to getting Young at pick 3. As it's turned out Rivers has delivered in spades arguably out performing Young. He went at 100% DE against GWS. In my book it's hard to argue against 100% all some on here no doubt would

Rivers is ahead of Young, and will be a better player all throughout. Rivers can impact games, whereas Young can just hit a target, even his decision making is not great in a quicker game of AFL. Rivers was made for AFL. Real impact player.

5 minutes ago, KingDingAling said:

Rivers is ahead of Young, and will be a better player all throughout. Rivers can impact games, whereas Young can just hit a target, even his decision making is not great in a quicker game of AFL. Rivers was made for AFL. Real impact player.

Sample space is small for Young but he doesn't meet the eye test for mine. Looks scared. 

18 minutes ago, adonski said:

Sample space is small for Young but he doesn't meet the eye test for mine. Looks scared. 

Interesting insight. Thought Young was excellent against us. 

• 3 weeks later...

Our last 4 drafts - starting to look very good (as anyone's will after winning 6 straight).  Other than due to injury, very few wasted picks (Dunkley is no longer with us and I feel Baker's chance might have passed him).

Obviously last years kids are yet to get a taste of senior level but all have shown promising signs so far and unless there's significant injuries / form issues are unlikely to be needed to be called upon at senior level with so many others knocking down the door at Casey.

We all know things can change quickly but this is pretty impressive as it stands.

Melbourne Demons AFL Draft Picks at the end of Season 2017 2017 AFL Draft Summary  

Type Round Pick Player Current Team Games Since
Drafted *
 National 2 29 Charlie Spargo Melbourne 40
 National 2 31 Bayley Fritsch Melbourne 66
 National 2 37 Harrison Petty Melbourne 12
 National 3 48 Oskar Baker Melbourne 12

Melbourne Demons AFL Draft Picks at the end of Season 2018 2018 AFL Draft Summary  

Drafted *
 Midyear 1 3 Kyle Dunkley   5
 National 2 27 Tom Sparrow Melbourne 11
 National 2 33 James Jordan Melbourne 6
 National 3 53 Aaron Nietschke Melbourne 0
 National 4 56 Marty Hore Melbourne 14
 National 5 75 Toby Bedford A Melbourne 2
 Rookie 1 15 Kade Chandler Melbourne 1

Melbourne Demons AFL Draft Picks at the end of Season 2019 2019 AFL Draft Summary  

Drafted *
 National 1 3 Luke Jackson Melbourne 12
 National 1 12 Kysaiah Pickett Melbourne 20
 National 2 32 Trent Rivers Melbourne 15

Melbourne Demons AFL Draft Picks at the end of Season 2020 2020 AFL Draft Summary  

Drafted *
 National 1 21 Jake Bowey Melbourne 0
 National 1 22 Bailey Laurie Melbourne 0
 National 2 34 Fraser Rosman Melbourne 0

3 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said:

Our last 4 drafts - starting to look very good (as anyone's will after winning 6 straight).  Other than due to injury, very few wasted picks (Dunkley is no longer with us and I feel Baker's chance might have passed him).

Obviously last years kids are yet to get a taste of senior level but all have shown promising signs so far and unless there's significant injuries / form issues are unlikely to be needed to be called upon at senior level with so many others knocking down the door at Casey.

We all know things can change quickly but this is pretty impressive as it stands.

Melbourne Demons AFL Draft Picks at the end of Season 2017 2017 AFL Draft Summary  

Drafted *
 National 2 29 Charlie Spargo Melbourne 40
 National 2 31 Bayley Fritsch Melbourne 66
 National 2 37 Harrison Petty Melbourne 12
 National 3 48 Oskar Baker Melbourne 12

Melbourne Demons AFL Draft Picks at the end of Season 2018 2018 AFL Draft Summary  

Drafted *
 Midyear 1 3 Kyle Dunkley   5
 National 2 27 Tom Sparrow Melbourne 11
 National 2 33 James Jordan Melbourne 6
 National 3 53 Aaron Nietschke Melbourne 0
 National 4 56 Marty Hore Melbourne 14
 National 5 75 Toby Bedford A Melbourne 2
 Rookie 1 15 Kade Chandler Melbourne 1

Melbourne Demons AFL Draft Picks at the end of Season 2019 2019 AFL Draft Summary  

Drafted *
 National 1 3 Luke Jackson Melbourne 12
 National 1 12 Kysaiah Pickett Melbourne 20
 National 2 32 Trent Rivers Melbourne 15

Melbourne Demons AFL Draft Picks at the end of Season 2020 2020 AFL Draft Summary  

Drafted *
 National 1 21 Jake Bowey Melbourne 0
 National 1 22 Bailey Laurie Melbourne 0
 National 2 34 Fraser Rosman Melbourne 0

The hit rate on kids drafted after pick 25 is remarkable. 

1 hour ago, deelusions from afar said:

I've watched Baker closely the last 2 games & have been impressed. Reckon he is ready to go.  In any other year he would b in the firsts.

Slightly unrelated,  but how good is it that we don't need to rush our most recent draft picks. I understand Laurie is out of action at the moment, but it is a real luxury to let these young kids develop fully before coming into the seniors, especially after they played very little footy last year. In recent years I feel we've brought a lot of draftees in too soon compromising their growth.

Also, hopefully given they will have had to fully earn a call up they will end valuing the opportunity even more when it comes. 

On 4/5/2021 at 7:36 PM, It's Time said:

I don't think Jason Taylor would agree with you. I'm sure he'd be saying there was no luck involved just elite professional talent spotting and pick negotiating. 

Rivers was always going to be the litmus test for me for that draft. I was in the get Young at pick 3 at all costs camp because we so needed his elite kicking. But the hope was that once we got Jackson, Rivers could produce a similar output to Young, then Jackson becomes a bonus compared to getting Young at pick 3. As it's turned out Rivers has delivered in spades arguably out performing Young. He went at 100% DE against GWS. In my book it's hard to argue against 100% all some on here no doubt would

Young is looking like 3rd best half back at best in that draft behind Ash and Rivers.

I think 2019 was the icing on the cake.

Big wins in Hibberd, Melksham, Lever, May, Tomlinson and Langdon through trades imo have been monster wins too.  And Ben Brown could be the missing piece.  

9 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

I think 2019 was the icing on the cake.

Big wins in Hibberd, Melksham, Lever, May, Tomlinson and Langdon through trades imo have been monster wins too.  And Ben Brown could be the missing piece.  

& Hibberd 

On 9/15/2020 at 10:28 PM, CYB said:

I disagree. Frosty is an athletic mobile lockdown defender. Playing under the mantra of play-on-at-all-costs doesn’t suit his skill set. However since we have dialled down the rpm’s  his disposal would not have hurt us as much. 

He could quite easily take down 1st defender allowing May to do some major rebound damage or even switch up into the forward line as an elusive Plan B. 

Letting him go at the expense of O Mac is yet another mammoth of a [censored] up. 

Think of it this way, Clarky sees value in him - Goodwin does not. Who would you trust?

Goodwin

On 4/5/2021 at 4:09 PM, Cranky Franky said:

So you pick 2 players that were recruited by a club & "failed" .  In isolation that doesn't actually prove anything unless you could demonstrate statistically that their recruiting success rate is any better or worse than other clubs.

In any case Fitzpatrick virtually cost nothing & Vickery had teased at Richmond & was worth a punt. 

No, the point was that to assume a player is good just because he was picked up by the Hawks/Clarko is illogical. Plenty of others on that list too.

On 7/31/2020 at 9:12 PM, Elegt said:

clearly not picking the right players for us. Wasting draft picks. Why these guys are on our list bewilders me

-wagner brothers

-kolodjasnij

-baker

-spargo

-chandler

-preuss

-bradke

Questionable selections

-pickett for a first rounder, quite possibly the number 1 pick

-passing on hayden young (great footskills off the hbf. Exactly what we need)

-recruiting lever and may with 3 first round picks

-getting two wingers who can't kick

-jordon with a second rounder 

Taylor needs to go

Your questionable selections are Pickett, taking LJ at pick 3 instead of Hayden,  Lever, May, Langdon, Tomlinson and Jordon.  Somehow you managed to go 0/7 on that, which is incredibly impressive.

Thats 1/3rd of the starting 18 of an undefeated team and all of them are guns.

Jason Taylor might be the best recruiter in the country.

Edited by Pickett2Jackson

26 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said:

Your questionable selections are Pickett, taking LJ at pick 3 instead of Hayden,  Lever, May, Langdon, Tomlinson and Jordon.  Somehow you managed to go 0/7 on that, which is incredibly impressive.

Thats 1/3rd of the starting 18 of an undefeated team and all of them are guns.

Jason Taylor might be the best recruiter in the country.

Mate I reckon @Elegt is long gone... you're shouting into the wind.

On 4/5/2021 at 8:53 PM, KingDingAling said:

Getting way ahead of yourself. rapt to have Rivers at the Dees but Hayden Young is going to be an absolute jet. 

9 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Mate, we're all mad Deez . . . tilting at windmills is what we do. 

10 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Wait for us to lose a game...

On 4/26/2021 at 3:43 PM, Knuckles said:

Slightly unrelated,  but how good is it that we don't need to rush our most recent draft picks. I understand Laurie is out of action at the moment, but it is a real luxury to let these young kids develop fully before coming into the seniors, especially after they played very little footy last year. In recent years I feel we've brought a lot of draftees in too soon compromising their growth.

Also, hopefully given they will have had to fully earn a call up they will end valuing the opportunity even more when it comes. 

And the abridged, hub based season last year was possibly the perfect oppertunity to give opportunities to and develop Kossie, Jacko and Rivers, who I think we're ready to play and perform at the top level.  Shorter games and season would have ment that we weren't smashing their developing bodies, but I think all of those players would have benefited massively from being played at the top level, as well as being around the footy environment 24/7 to build the right habits and lifestyle.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

2 hours ago, Patches O’houlihan said:

Getting way ahead of yourself. rapt to have Rivers at the Dees but Hayden Young is going to be an absolute jet. 

Agree with every word.

Happy to have Rivers but Young will be a fine player.

On 7/31/2020 at 9:12 PM, Elegt said:

clearly not picking the right players for us. Wasting draft picks. Why these guys are on our list bewilders me

-wagner brothers

-kolodjasnij

-baker

-spargo

-chandler

-preuss

-bradke

Questionable selections

-pickett for a first rounder, quite possibly the number 1 pick

-passing on hayden young (great footskills off the hbf. Exactly what we need)

-recruiting lever and may with 3 first round picks

-getting two wingers who can't kick

-jordon with a second rounder 

Taylor needs to go

This is beautiful 

35 minutes ago, 12345_54321 said:

This is beautiful 

Yes there should be a Demonland Hall of Shame to honour those who have made the demonstrably ridiculous statements or predictions.  Maybe we could vote 3, 2, 1 entry.

3 hours ago, Engorged Onion said:

Mate I reckon @Elegt is long gone...

I thought the mods gave him the lemonade and sars a while back, describing it as a "delisting".