ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 37 minutes ago, No. 31 said: When the new metro tunnel is completed in the the next 18 months or so, you will be able to do Arden Street Station or Parkville Station to Caulfield in about 20 minutes or less (direct). For those that say Caulfield is not central, the current demographic centre of Melbourne is located just a few kms north of Caulfield in neighbouring Malvern. https://blog.id.com.au/2018/population-forecasting/is-the-demographic-centre-of-melbourne-shifting/ Metro tunnel was scheduled to be completed by 2025. So more like 3 years to go. 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 23 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said: Metro tunnel was scheduled to be completed by 2025. So more like 3 years to go. even if we decide on caulfield today we wouldn't be there before 2025 anyway 3 2 Quote
No. 31 1,404 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 33 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said: Metro tunnel was scheduled to be completed by 2025. So more like 3 years to go. Initially slated for a 2025 opening but rumours that it may be a late 2024 opening. As already pointed out, it would be several years before a training facility was constructed even if it got the green light today. 3 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,855 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 another vote for caulfield here, and not just cos it's 10 mins up tooronga road... 2 Quote
Gorgoroth 13,220 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 For me, what’s going to give the players the best facilities. Go there then. end of discussion. 3 2 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,457 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 Develop Gosch’s Paddock build facilities underground if needed We are not a Horse Racing Franchise 4 2 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 2 hours ago, Demons1858 said: What movement? Its the same old we will update you soon just that it was delivered during what was probably a boozy lunch By comparison to the last few years of inaction it's almost cyclonic in its revelations but I can understand your concerns. Co-incidentally Moonee Valley race club unveiled its works plan yesterday. Very similar to Caulfield but perhaps not as big 2 Quote
poita 3,944 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 17 hours ago, Demons1858 said: l don't class caulfield as being central, goschs paddack is central Given that the population centre of Melbourne is roughly Glen Iris (2 suburbs away), it is about as central as we can hope for. 3 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 On 4/4/2023 at 12:21 PM, Supreme_Demon said: Great to hear there has been some progress! 😎👍🏻 Looking forward to hearing more news on our Home Base for the Melbourne Football Club in 6 months time. Don't hold your breath. 4 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 On 4/4/2023 at 2:24 PM, george_on_the_outer said: Have heard all this before. The same story as 6 months ago.....and when you are as old as me, the same story as 30 years ago!! Spot on I will believe when they turn the first sod. Provided I am still alive. 2 2 Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 7 hours ago, daisycutter said: even if we decide on caulfield today we wouldn't be there before 2025 anyway We could do a 3k time trial around the track…. 3 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 23 hours ago, Demons1858 said: l don't class caulfield as being central, goschs paddack is central Got trains, trams (67) near enough, Monash Freeway not far, lotsa space, and that very Melbourne leafy sense of relaxed prosperity..... And I live nearby, so it's a lock. 3 2 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 13 hours ago, Freddy Fuschia said: The actual development of the racecourse has not, to my knowledge, started or received final approval from the authorities. There has been development of the area that was once open space and car parking between the racecourse and the railway line where some ugly high rise units have emerged out of the ground along with a shopping precinct based around a large Coles Supermarket. The development is still a watch this space for the future. That Coles is an absolute bewt. The chicken from the Korean place in the plaza is worth a go, too... 2 2 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 12 hours ago, Kozquito said: I feel like I’m the only one who doesn’t want Caulfield…? Goschs all the way. The visibility is infinitely better, there is enough room for new training facilities and admin to be added on to aami and we seem to be doing fine on the freshly redeveloped ground at goschs. I live in the north side and every dees supporter I know just about lives here. The south east ain’t the heartland of our young supporters and while it is 15 mins by train from flinders it’s not that easy to get to at all from north or west, I wouldn’t call it central at all. Good point this past one.... jokes about the river aside. That bloody bay gets in the way.... 1 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 9 hours ago, Demons1858 said: So its a 27 min drive right now on the maps app from Flinders st to the Caulfield track, would be 40min plus at peak time l would suggest. Not central but obviously better than Casey, Moorabbin, Dingley, Tulla etc. Makes it hard to pop into training if your not already in the sth east, acknowledging many mfc supporters are My folks live near the new Anzac station and I live in Caufield very close to the racecourse. Never takes me more than 15-20 to get to my folks and that's straight up Dandenong Road..... 1 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 1 hour ago, Grr-owl said: Got trains, trams (67) near enough, Monash Freeway not far, lotsa space, and that very Melbourne leafy sense of relaxed prosperity..... And I live nearby, so it's a lock. Also got stacks of interconnecting buses including many via Chadstone. Heaps of bus routes also head into Chadstone from pretty much allover Melbourne. 3 Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted April 9, 2023 Posted April 9, 2023 Something in the paper today about Hawthorn getting $15m from the State Gov for Dingley. Is this new? 1 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted April 9, 2023 Posted April 9, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 8:24 PM, In Harmes Way said: We could do a 3k time trial around the track…. We could but you would have to go around about 1.5 times. 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted April 9, 2023 Posted April 9, 2023 27 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said: Something in the paper today about Hawthorn getting $15m from the State Gov for Dingley. Is this new? the budget for Dingley is $130M so they'll need a lot more 1 Quote
george_on_the_outer 7,875 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 (edited) On 4/9/2023 at 10:58 AM, Clintosaurus said: Something in the paper today about Hawthorn getting $15m from the State Gov for Dingley. Is this new? On 4/9/2023 at 11:27 AM, Diamond_Jim said: the budget for Dingley is $130M so they'll need a lot more Confirmed: https://www.zerohanger.com/hawthorn-receive-state-funding-boost-for-new-training-facilities-135274/ And they have plenty in the bank, since they have sold some of their pokies venues, and are in the process of selling more. Unlike us, they have started fundraising with their members, and will have this facility operating by 2024!!. Edited April 11, 2023 by george_on_the_outer 2 1 Quote
Supreme_Demon 4,141 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 (edited) 23 minutes ago, george_on_the_outer said: Confirmed: https://www.zerohanger.com/hawthorn-receive-state-funding-boost-for-new-training-facilities-135274/ And they have plenty in the bank, since they have sold some of their pokies venues, and are in the process of selling more. Unlike us, they have started fundraising with their members, and will have this facility operating by 2024!!. It greatly annoys me how Hawthorn gets things so easily. They have gone from Glenferrie Oval to Waverley Park and now to this place in Dingley. Whereas, we are still struggling to sort out even ONE location! We will have to do our own fund raising too I reckon. Whether it is for Gosch's Paddock or Caulfield Racecourse remains to be seen. How much will it all cost to get our Home Base built is another question....$100 million? $200 million? Even $500 million? If I ever win the lottery I am happy to contribute a significant amount. Edited April 11, 2023 by Supreme_Demon 2 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 3 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said: It greatly annoys me how Hawthorn gets things so easily. They have gone from Glenferrie Oval to Waverley Park and now to this place in Dingley. Whereas, we are still struggling to sort out even ONE location! We will have to do our own fund raising too I reckon. Whether it is for Gosch's Paddock or Caulfield Racecourse remains to be seen. How much will it all cost to get our Home Base built is another question....$100 million? $200 million? Even $500 million? If I ever win the lottery I am happy to contribute a significant amount. 100 bucks each member to start with .... 😬 2 Quote
Roost it far 10,136 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 Hawthorn can have Dingley all to themselves. Let’s just go to Caulfield and be done with it. 1 1 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 (edited) On 4/9/2023 at 11:27 AM, Diamond_Jim said: the budget for Dingley is $130M so they'll need a lot more Good luck getting it from normal lending channels. Ppl i talk to on the gravy train say their usual business lending book has been cut by 50% (so far!) under instruction from the top brass. Credit squeeze is on Edited April 11, 2023 by Demon Dynasty 3 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 4 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said: 100 bucks each member to start with .... 😬 If we go the Caulfield option we might even get a kick starter out of Diamond Joe and some of his business buddies. A bit of loose change... say $25 mill ! 3 Quote