View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

“I’m a bit staggered by Melbourne to be honest,” Cornes told SEN’s the Captain’s Run.

“I like James Harmes. He comes into the Sunday Footy Show often, he has a laugh, he is a terrific guy, but when we comment in the media, we don’t comment on their personality and their character.

“Melbourne has given Harmes a five-year contract. He’s 24 years old, a good player, plays a role through the midfield, but a five-year deal for James Harmes?”

“On the back of the long-term deal they gave Steven May that didn’t work, on the back of giving Jake Lever a long-term deal that didn’t work, giving up pick six which could have been Ben King.

“I just think some of the decisions coming out of the Melbourne Football Club this year are staggering for me.

“When you look at the players that have been given long term deals, you’re looking at the likes of Rory Sloane, Lachie Neale, Charlie Curnow, Dylan Shiel, Nathan Fyfe, Toby Greene, Chad Wingard, Jared Polec.

“James Harmes getting a five-year deal, it absolutely staggers me. I just can’t get my head around it. Is his footballing ability worthy of a five-year deal when he still had one more year to go (on his contract)? I’m not sure.”

Cornes believes that in hindsight, the Demons would want to take the Steven May trade back.

“What would you rather have? An unfit Steven May who can’t get out on the park and is 28, or would you rather have one of the brightest key forward prospects in the game in Ben King at pick six,” he said.

“I know a lot of that is hindsight, but gee they’ve given up a lot to get Lever and May.”

Given his IQ I totally understand why he is having trouble understanding some of our recent decisions. 

He is right that we gave up a lot for May and Lever, but those players can still prove to be worth the price we paid.

Cornes isnt even rated by Port people. (Well, he is, but the rating is "[censored]")

Safe to say he is just an attention [censored].

Edited by ding
Censor working overtime today lol

10 minutes ago, Demonland said:

“I’m a bit staggered by Melbourne to be honest,” Cornes told SEN’s the Captain’s Run.

“I like James Harmes. He comes into the Sunday Footy Show often, he has a laugh, he is a terrific guy, but when we comment in the media, we don’t comment on their personality and their character.

“Melbourne has given Harmes a five-year contract. He’s 24 years old, a good player, plays a role through the midfield, but a five-year deal for James Harmes?”

“On the back of the long-term deal they gave Steven May that didn’t work, on the back of giving Jake Lever a long-term deal that didn’t work, giving up pick six which could have been Ben King.

“I just think some of the decisions coming out of the Melbourne Football Club this year are staggering for me.

“When you look at the players that have been given long term deals, you’re looking at the likes of Rory Sloane, Lachie Neale, Charlie Curnow, Dylan Shiel, Nathan Fyfe, Toby Greene, Chad Wingard, Jared Polec.

“James Harmes getting a five-year deal, it absolutely staggers me. I just can’t get my head around it. Is his footballing ability worthy of a five-year deal when he still had one more year to go (on his contract)? I’m not sure.”

Cornes believes that in hindsight, the Demons would want to take the Steven May trade back.

“What would you rather have? An unfit Steven May who can’t get out on the park and is 28, or would you rather have one of the brightest key forward prospects in the game in Ben King at pick six,” he said.

“I know a lot of that is hindsight, but gee they’ve given up a lot to get Lever and May.”

No worries Kane you are entitled to your opinion.

If May has a good year and Harmes gets back to his best, watch that opinion change.

BTW, Kane, how have Curnow, Polec, Wingard and even Greene gone, since getting their long term deals, which you say are ok?

I actually like Cornes but he is building his media profile on sensationalist journalism. Not sure if he actually believes all of what he says.

The acquisitions of Lever and May can only be judged quite a way down the track. Especially Lever who is only 23 years old.

Sure a four year extension for Harmes is fair period of time but he wouldn't be on massive cash would he? We are not warding of a rival bid here just one less player to sign up next year. Decent list management. 

13 minutes ago, Demonland said:

I enjoy listening to cornes passion but he needs a headline weekly for media relevancy. 

His language and sentence structure is apalling and he states something hasn't worked when its 20% into the plan. 

Simply like these retired footballers who have nothing to really talk about in the off season so they just find something to  say. 

Harmes came of the rookie list and has not looked back. Yes, 2019 not the best but name 5 who were.

Happy to back him and contracts these days don't mean too much anyway!

I'm not sure why people let these sort of opinions bother them so much, but I guess that goes for most things in life.

Ignoring that it's Cornes who is actually saying it, it's a valid opinion for someone to hold.

If you aren't a Melbourne supporter (or you are one that is capable to being critical of the club) you would understand this view. It's an opinion.

The May deal really depends on if the club is competing for a flag in the next 3 years. If we aren't it's a shocker.

I'd like to think that James will lift a cog to prove he was worth the extension. I was a tad disappointed he didn't this year (IMO).

The fact that Cornes can’t understand the decisions we have made assures me that we’re on the right track!

Cornes staggered by Dees Decision.

Can simplify this.... Cornes staggered by Dees Decision.

54 minutes ago, Demonland said:

More words, Cornes needs to stop writing words in his opinion pieces and show some action. Actions speak louder than words cornflake. 

what is the fascination of 5 year deals?  not like he is on a mill/yr.  just locks in a good loyal young player.

if we gave him a three year deal followed by a 2 year deal, is that better Chad?

what a moron

I think Cornes has a personal animosity towards Goodwin.

But Cornes doesn’t Like Crows, past or present!

Edited by Thehardtackler

LOVE THIS STUFF!

Any cheap media hits like this from guys who get headlines is good for us. Especially targeted at particular players.

AFL players shouldn't need any further motivation but its nice to have little things like this to stir a little bit.

Harmes is arguably our most competitive player (along with Jetta and Viney probably) and anything that will fuel the fire is welcome.

Thanks Chad.

Agree with him on the May trade, that was a shocker.

Lever however was a great pickup for a couple of  late 1st rounders.  The ACL was just bad luck.   Injury permitting he will show next season why we got him.

And theres nothing wrong with the Harmes deal, he is a gun and super consistent.

Edited by JakovichScissorKick

34 minutes ago, M_9 said:

I'd like to think that James will lift a cog to prove he was worth the extension. I was a tad disappointed he didn't this year (IMO).

Off memory I think he started poorly but unlike a few of his higher profile team-mates (eg - Brayshaw) he lifted significantly from about the Hawthorn game onwards, where he polled 3 brownlow votes.

I don't understand the 5 year deal either, as a stand alone deal it doesn't really make a lot of sense.

All I can think is that it's part of a longer term list strategy that will help us keep the team together whilst adding important pieces along the  way.

Front ended/back ended/whatever...

10 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I also think that Cornes is underrating Harmes. 

I would like to see how Cornes and Harmes stack up at the same age. I reckon Harmes would be ahead on games and value. Blokes don't get put on the backline to think, but to see and get......No footballer alive would say he wasn't lucky whilst playing either.

23 minutes ago, demonstone said:

That joke's wearing rather thin, chookrat old son.  Might be time for a new one.

Demonstone, the joke will continue until at least the JLT cup or AFXL commences. 

10 minutes ago, willmoy said:

I would like to see how Cornes and Harmes stack up at the same age. I reckon Harmes would be ahead on games and value. Blokes don't get put on the backline to think, but to see and get......No footballer alive would say he wasn't lucky whilst playing either.

Cornes needs to back up his words with actions. Say "I don't think Harmes is worth a five year deal" and then challenge to fight him to prove it.