Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, binman said:

Above average?

Yep, 66.1% kicking efficiency for the season which is above average. Elite in relation to average marks per game for the season.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted

A quick look through his instagram reveals a very unusual character. Makes me more concerned about what dazzle has said. I'll take a chance on a knockabout country lad who makes a poor decision, but I'm seeing a lot of photos - including with Tom Bugg's business partner - that don't impress me.

Plus the more you watch of that kicking the more frightening it is.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Redleg said:

That is interesting, as he is listed as a delisted player on the AFL site under Collingwood. That means that players are not wanted but if someone shows interest, the club can ask for something. 

If no one shows interest he can be taken for nothing. If I wanted a player in that category, I would tell them to say they are probably retiring and then get them for nothing.

I think in this case a trade merely ensures that the player gets to his club of choice with as quickly & with as little fuss as possible. So Collingwood don't want him but will trade him where he wants for a 6th round draft pick that they won't use

FWIW I'm not interested in Murray. We already have a player with blistering speed & questionable kicking skills in Jayden Hunt. Not sure that getting another one improves us. If we are gonna roll the dice on a risky selection with potential upside, I'm in the Harley Bennell camp.

Edited by Go the Biff
Posted

Most of my mates are pies fans, so I watch quite a few of their games. I was always impressed with Murray and rated him higher than Maynard for them. Would happily take him. 

Posted

Murray has attributes we need, but there's better options out there. Tom Cutler from Brisbane should be one we chase instead.

Posted
2 hours ago, AllMyTeamsAreWank said:

Most of my mates are pies fans, so I watch quite a few of their games. I was always impressed with Murray and rated him higher than Maynard for them. Would happily take him. 

I've rate him highly, which is why I'm very concerned that Collingwood would delist him or give him away for virtually nothing.

Something's clearly not ok...

Posted
1 hour ago, Lord Travis said:

Murray has attributes we need, but there's better options out there. Tom Cutler from Brisbane should be one we chase instead.

This 100 times over.. I am honestly suprised we have not been linked to him, (althogh who knows we may be but most of this stuff gets out) he is a good footballer, with great ability to read the play and has lovely skill and is a decent finisher.

Posted
22 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

I say yes only because he is quick and we lack pace especially with Frost gone. His kicking is woeful but that can be worked on especially considering we get him for nothing.

Pace. Yes. 

Kicking. No. 

If Goody should learn ANYTHING, disposal efficiency is CRITICAL 

Posted

Highlights look good. Certainly has some pace and can take a good mark and looks to have a bit of mongrel in him. If he's turned his life around and is fair dinkum and fit and ready to go I'd give him a look provided we give up very little and have a watertight contract in place that protects us from any extra curricular indiscretions.

Posted
On 10/3/2019 at 7:04 PM, Redleg said:

If the off field is manageable, I'd say yes, as he has speed and can deliver off the HBF and will be cheap.

I think Jetta and Hibberd are fading.

Cheap speed AND he delivers?? Get me his number

• Haha 10
Posted

I'd take him as a (near) freeby. Has pace to burn. His kicking isn't any worse than 90% of our list. I remind you all that Bartram was a disgraceful kick, but he worked on it, learned his limits and became solid if not damaging.

Posted

Wasn’t he delisted? No deal would be necessary, other than agreeing terms with the player.

Posted

certainly worth chasing. It would be fair to say there are a lot of players out there who have or played under the influence of drugs, he was just unlucky enough to get caught at a time when they decided to punish someone. Hopefully he has learnt his lesson.

Posted

PIES DONE WITH MURRAY 

Collingwood has told banned defender Sam Murray that there won't be a spot on its list for him in 2020. As reported by AFL.com.au He is free to play AFL next season by his manager Nick Gieschen didn't say if there was interest from other clubs at this stage. Clubs on the lookout for a rebounding back-flanker could do a lot worse than Murray.

Nick Gieschen: Sam Murray has learnt a lot about himself through the process and has realised footy is important to him. He will be very transparent on the way he lives his life.#AFLTrade

From the AFL site.
Posted

I'd take him, especially as we can get him for nothing.  As it says above, we could do a lot worse than having his foot skills coming off half back, and at 22 he still has plenty of footy and potential improvement ahead of him.

Posted

Make him a crumber/defensive forward and stick him in the forward pocket 

Posted
Just now, demonstone said:

Wonder why the Pies don't want him back.   They'd know him better than any other club.

They just kept Elliott, have Grundy and others looking for more money and have Howe, Langdon, Phillips, Aish, Scharenburg, Maynard, Quaynor etc off hbf. That is why.

Posted

Are the Pies looking to get a late pick by not delisting?  Seems if we wanted him, we could grab him in the rookie draft if no other suitors.  We have pick 2.

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said:

Are the Pies looking to get a late pick by not delisting?  Seems if we wanted him, we could grab him in the rookie draft if no other suitors.  We have pick 2.

They might be looking for a very late pick if anything. But you are right, as with every other player in every draft, if they are there at your pick you can take them, unless other teams have the right to match.

Edited by Redleg
Posted
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

They just kept Elliott, have Grundy and others looking for more money and have Howe, Langdon, Phillips, Aish, Scharenburg, Maynard, Quaynor etc off hbf. That is why.

Just surplus to requirements you reckon?  They can't rate him that highly I guess.

Posted
3 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

I'd take him, especially as we can get him for nothing.  As it says above, we could do a lot worse than having his foot skills coming off half back, and at 22 he still has plenty of footy and potential improvement ahead of him.

Worse kicks out of the backline than Murray:
- Frost
- ANB
- Jake Spencer
- Tom McDonald
- Helen Keller

He can run and win the ball and is a nice size for a flanker but there's nothing appealing about his kicking.