Posted

It’s strange opening a game day thread on a Friday!

Dees fancied to win by the bookies, I hope they’re right.

Last chance to get to a game unless you’re @Clintosaurus - get along if you can, it might marginally improve our chances for Friday night games next year!

Posted

I think it'll  be like the Ted Whitten Game tonight.

• A couple of farewell games (see K.Jack)
  • Players going through the motions waiting for the season to end
  • Zero Defence Intensity

nb: * I suspect though this match will have poorer skills on display.

• Demonland changed the title to GAMEDAY: Rd 22 vs Sydney
Posted

Well Im going. Gee do you think 7 and the AFL are rapt that this game is on tonight? There are so many other great game son this weekend. Be prepared for next year to get the crappy spots back. 

Anyway it's our last game in melbourne and im going because I paid for my membership and it really there isn't much of  care factor because the result doesn't mean much. However I just do not want to see any injuries to our important players. We do not need to have nay players on a shortened pre season or have surgery. 

For the 3rd week in a row this could really be a poor poor crowd. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Well Im going. Gee do you think 7 and the AFL are rapt that this game is on tonight? There are so many other great game son this weekend. Be prepared for next year to get the crappy spots back. 

Anyway it's our last game in melbourne and im going because I paid for my membership and it really there isn't much of  care factor because the result doesn't mean much. However I just do not want to see any injuries to our important players. We do not need to have nay players on a shortened pre season or have surgery. 

For the 3rd week in a row this could really be a poor poor crowd. 

Not a go at you dees, I say stiff poo to the AFL and 7 about the scheduling. It made sense at the start of the year to schedule this tonight. Sheesh, remember Carlton’s Friday night programming last year on the back of many crap seasons. 

Posted
2 hours ago, In Harmes Way said:

It’s strange opening a game day thread on a Friday!

Dees fancied to win by the bookies, I hope they’re right.

Last chance to get to a game unless you’re @Clintosaurus - get along if you can, it might marginally improve our chances for Friday night games next year!

you won't have to worry about that next year!

Posted (edited)

Hold on folks.  We are almost there!

8 Days 6 Hours 53 Minutes
Season 2019 Ends
Edited by DubDee

Posted (edited)

Dropping Jayden Hunt feels like it may be the end for him, i honestly cant believe it. He has taken the most marks inside 50 for us this season, a poultry 28, but he has shown he get son the move and he can separate from his opponent. This is might be the FD's darkest day. Mind boggling to say the least. How ANB can get another game over Hunt is just, i don't even know how to explain it. I understand Spargo and stretch and Chandler getting ago, but ANB is a C grade footballer... at best with not one redeeming feature.

Marks Inside 50 - 2019 

Hunt - 28* /T Mac - 26*   / Trac - 23  / Fritsch - 22  

Others in named in our Fwd line:

Corey Wagner - 3 / James Harmes 12 /Jordan Lewis - 3 / Melk 15 

I assume we are going to kick it along the ground. Our fwd line has not looked this bad since we debuted the Cockatoo Collins Twins in 1996 as fwds and basically tried to just kick the ball inside 50 along the ground.         

We lost by 127 points to Geelong that night.

Edited by Demon3
Posted

So many weekends ruined this season. I now look forward to next season when most of our games are back to late Sunday afternoon. Relief it will be all over next week. Tonight dinner at a cheap Chinese restaurant. Might check the scores in between the spring rolls and the stir fry. 

Posted
21 minutes ago, Demon3 said:

Dropping Jayden Hunt feels like it may be the end for him, i honestly cant believe it. He has taken the most marks inside 50 for us this season, a poultry 28, but he has shown he get son the move and he can separate from his opponent. This is might be the FD's darkest day. Mind boggling to say the least. How ANB can get another game over Hunt is just, i don't even know how to explain it. I understand Spargo and stretch and Chandler getting ago, but ANB is a C grade footballer... at best with not one redeeming feature.

Marks Inside 50 - 2019 

Hunt - 28* /T Mac - 26*   / Trac - 23  / Fritsch - 22  

Others in named in our Fwd line:

Corey Wagner - 3 / James Harmes 12 /Jordan Lewis - 3 / Melk 15 

I assume we are going to kick it along the ground. Our fwd line has not looked this bad since we debuted the Cockatoo Collins Twins in 1996 as fwds and basically tried to just kick the ball inside 50 along the ground.         

We lost by 127 points to Geelong that night.

I don't reckon putting totals is a fair assessment mate. Particularly given games played (injuries) and players who have played at the other end of the ground more (Fritsch, Lewis).

Averages is a more fair assessment:

Screen Shot 2019-08-16 at 10.43.04 am.png

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Only posting to save this thread from disappearing into the second page

Sadly, a measure of DL's interest level in the game. 

The only interest is that the loser will be who gets pick #2.  We lose it is ours.  We win and it is still up for grabs and if the cards fall Sydney's way it is theirs.

Posted

As neither team seem capable  of crafting a win I therefore  predict a draw

66 v 66

The Rossi's or the Volkls ??? Hmmm

Posted
3 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

I don't reckon putting totals is a fair assessment mate. Particularly given games played (injuries) and players who have played at the other end of the ground more (Fritsch, Lewis).

Averages is a more fair assessment:

Screen Shot 2019-08-16 at 10.43.04 am.png

Thats fair and i am not having a crack at the players we need to play someone, ibut my point really is all about dropping Jayden Hunt, a guy who has tried his guts out every game and had a good year,  and by the averages, he is second only to Melksham of the players playing tonight, even more reason to scratch your head over his omission. 2nd in our goal kicking as well. any way you look at it, its just bizarre in my opinion.

Posted

Imagine how irrelevant next week's game will be.

Like many I was looking forward to stress free games post bye as we built towards 2020.

Soul destroying.

Let's hope the cricket is good tonight

Posted
3 minutes ago, Demon3 said:

Thats fair and i am not having a crack at the players we need to play someone, ibut my point really is all about dropping Jayden Hunt, a guy who has tried his guts out every game and had a good year,  and by the averages, he is second only to Melksham of the players playing tonight, even more reason to scratch your head over his omission. 2nd in our goal kicking as well. any way you look at it, its just bizarre in my opinion.

Yeah, I haven't been a big fan of his form the last few weeks though, and I think he's been moved to the backline at times as well, so must be struggling to impact.

Reckon we'll pull a few surprises tonight anyway, wouldn't be surprised to see one of Preuss or Keilty come in as a late change, and I still have this feeling Hore may be used forward at some stage.

Posted

I like the look of the forward line.  All year we have been bombing out on the head of the talls, and the entry patterns have been so obvious.  Now we will have a forward line that works like the pies - have to hit a fast leadup target. Milky, Fritzy and Trac are all good marks, and good in the contest.  This might just work.

If I was going to add a tall it would not be Preuss.  He has a lot of work to do over the summer to get into the team.  And he only got 75 hit outs and 3 x the possessions of Chandler at Casey. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Lord Nev said:

Yeah, I haven't been a big fan of his form the last few weeks though, and I think he's been moved to the backline at times as well, so must be struggling to impact.

Reckon we'll pull a few surprises tonight anyway, wouldn't be surprised to see one of Preuss or Keilty come in as a late change, and I still have this feeling Hore may be used forward at some stage.

Yep, he has been down a bit, i wont bang on about it anymore, just another frustrating selection.

I think there will have to be a change, would like to see Hore go Forward, he reads it so well, great hands.. why not.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Demon3 said:

Yep, he has been down a bit, i wont bang on about it anymore, just another frustrating selection.

I think there will have to be a change, would like to see Hore go Forward, he reads it so well, great hands.. why not.

Story of our year hey!

Posted
Just now, Lord Nev said:

Story of our year hey!

yep, its been a bit groundhog dayish. Anyway, im going to try my best to be positive for the rest of the day, would love a win tonight and i know its probably against the feeling but it may be our last Friday night for a while such has been the year, that a good impact, some good footy, Chandler show a bit, id be happy. 

Posted

I would love to know the reason why we dropped Hunt, our second highest goal kicker, and picked two midget forward pockets. Particularly when we have no key forward/relief ruckman.

Posted

Marty kicked that great goal in Round 8, remember? His first goal. Maybe looking to add to his total tonight. That would be great to see. Going to the game to have a look for the last time this season. The last hurrah.