Hell no. 

Lewis will retire at the end of the season and imo jones will be retired (respectfully). 

He needs to go back into the middle permanently and the club needs to recruit outside runners WHICH THE CLIB SHOULD HAVE DONE 3 SEASONS AGO  

FFS if the club did it 3 seasons ago we probably wouldn’t have this prob now. 

It’s ironic that since Gus has been moved he has lost form. 

This club does my head in with playing players out of position.  

Instead of thinking of getting rid of him get his brother to our club. 

Edited by DemonOX

22 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Everyone knows Viney has no 'right side'.  Opposition exploit it mercilessly. 

I just don't get why he and the coaches have not after 6 years developed his right side at all. 

He could be a much better player with a few right sided tricks by hand and or by foot.

The time to develop his right side was when he was 8 years old learning the basic skills.

7 minutes ago, Nasher said:

The time to develop his right side was when he was 8 years old learning the basic skills.

Not so sure.  There are all sorts of drills to teach people to use their non-dominant hand or foot depending on the sport or activity.  It eventually becomes instinctive even if not as 'natural' as preferred side. 

I'm not suggesting proficiency but it would be nice to see him turn to his right and bluff the opp rather than always turn to his left and get caught or forced into a rushed kick that bombs forward and comes straight back again.  As a minimum he would be a bit less predictable.

And his dad was a coach!  But didn't teach him?

Interesting discussion by Carey and Roos about the virtues of players kicking on their non-preferred side.

Balancing Act

Gus leads the league on non-preferred kicks with 43% on the 'wrong' side..  At that rate he won't have a preferred side soon.  In front of Betts, D. Smith, Coniglio and Sidebottom.

Great asset for a mid-fielder to have.  And, I'm very glad he is ours:  Smart, brave, talented and still developing.  A keeper!

No way in the world would I trade Gus, the kid is a gun.

• Author

Just for clarity sake, in case it wasn't explained well enough in the OP, this isn't a thread to say Angus is not a very good player and ripper young fella, this is to discuss the possibility of trading a very good young player for another very good young player that may have more strengths in the areas we have weaknesses. Seems to be a fair few saying 'don't trade Gus, he's a great player!', when that only backs up the point about him having value on the market.

FWIW I would prefer to keep him, he's a quality person, but I'm open to any ideas that can improve our list balance.

Thankfully people other than me are paid a lot of money to make decisions like this, hopefully free of emotion. The thought of trading Gus And Captain Jack makes me feel sick. 

1 minute ago, dees-picable said:

Thankfully people other than me are paid a lot of money to make decisions like this, hopefully free of emotion. The thought of trading Gus And Captain Jack makes me feel sick. 

It would make them feel sick too, because it would be a dumb idea. Don’t worry about it.

Unless Gus wanted out I couldn’t see it happening...he is a valued and respected player in our team we are building a culture of brotherhood at the club, mercenary decision like that often backfire (look at Carlton they gave away everyone)

God there's some idiocy on this site. Young player, just came third in the Brownlow, well liked and respected - hey, let's get rid of him. Too many people with too much time on their hands and zero knowledge of football or the importance of culture and cohesion to football teams. The trade maniacs should stick to Monopoly, or read a book.

Edited by Redlegged
error

• Author
7 hours ago, Redlegged said:

God there's some idiocy on this site. Young player, just came third in the Brownlow, well liked and respected - hey, let's get rid of him. Too many people with too much time on their hands and zero knowledge of football or the importance of culture and cohesion to football teams. The trade maniacs should stick to Monopoly, or read a book.

Hey mate, I just posed the question as a hypothetical. You're welcome to discuss it, even provide some solid reasoning either way, I'm here to talk footy not take pot shots at strangers on the internet. Cheers.

On 6/20/2019 at 11:37 AM, DemonOX said:

Hell no. 

Lewis will retire at the end of the season and imo jones will be retired (respectfully). 

He needs to go back into the middle permanently and the club needs to recruit outside runners WHICH THE CLIB SHOULD HAVE DONE 3 SEASONS AGO  

FFS if the club did it 3 seasons ago we probably wouldn’t have this prob now. 

It’s ironic that since Gus has been moved he has lost form. 

This club does my head in with playing players out of position.  

Instead of thinking of getting rid of him get his brother to our club. 

Not sure you giving 666 enough respect here. Hard for the club to see the future and know outside class will become crucial when we built a list of contested beasts that was working just fine until 666. We did make a prelim Afterall. 

Viney is possibly our most important player. He reminds me of the quote about Brett Kirk: "Can't kick, can't handball, can't mark, gun."

Haven't looked through the thread but I assume it's about trying to trade FOR Andrew Brayshaw as trading Gus (our highest polling Brownlow last year) would be ridiculous.

According to the Age this morning Petracca could be trade bait. It seems to be journalist nowadays you think you have to have a brainfart to get noticed.

On 6/20/2019 at 12:27 PM, Lucifer's Hero said:

Not so sure.  There are all sorts of drills to teach people to use their non-dominant hand or foot depending on the sport or activity.  It eventually becomes instinctive even if not as 'natural' as preferred side. 

I'm not suggesting proficiency but it would be nice to see him turn to his right and bluff the opp rather than always turn to his left and get caught or forced into a rushed kick that bombs forward and comes straight back again.  As a minimum he would be a bit less predictable.

And his dad was a coach!  But didn't teach him?

I thought gus IS a right footer. No?

1 minute ago, binman said:

I thought gus IS a right footer. No?

The comment was referring to Viney.

11 hours ago, dimmy said:

According to the Age this morning Petracca could be trade bait. It seems to be journalist nowadays you think you have to have a brainfart to get noticed.

Can you post the link mate??

No way we trade Brayshaw or any of the young midfield group we have assembled. Brayshaw, Oliver, Trac and Harmes will be our core mids going forward. 

12 hours ago, dimmy said:

Yes, facts seem to have disappeared in sports journalism, appears to be conjure up as any articles as you can and hopefully one miight turn out to be correct

• Author
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Can you post the link mate??

Found it here guys, interestingly using the same logic as the Brayshaw hypothetical in the OP:

"Do they need to give up a talented contested player in their line up to find a runner who uses the ball well? They have been bold at the trade table in recent years, but finding a quality they lack by giving up a good player such as Christian Petracca might be the next brave step the Demons have to make to go forward."

Source

On 6/18/2019 at 3:54 PM, Little Goffy said:

Nah.

I could argue the point, I even typed it out, but now I've deleted because it is just going to end up being one of those odious back-and-forth threads where gradually people become more irritated and actually pump up their original soft opinions into more extreme versions just to annoy the other person who is annoying them.

Congrats, you just explained the internet.

• Author
On 6/18/2019 at 3:54 PM, Little Goffy said:

Nah.

I could argue the point, I even typed it out, but now I've deleted because it is just going to end up being one of those odious back-and-forth threads where gradually people become more irritated and actually pump up their original soft opinions into more extreme versions just to annoy the other person who is annoying them.

So just, nah. Brayshaw good. Better value than what we'd get in a trade. Our inside midfield is not actually that deep, either, so not an area we should talk about trading quality players out of.

Haha somehow missed this post earlier, this is amazing.

Believe it or not I'm actually up for discussing it as I don't have a set opinion on this and can see both sides. Definitely agree about our inside mid depth to a point, but for me it's countered somewhat by having no great outside players which seems to be hurting us a bit, especially with our inside 50s.

Anyways, thanks for the sharp take on internet culture, it's spot on!

1 hour ago, Lord Nev said:

Haha somehow missed this post earlier, this is amazing.

Believe it or not I'm actually up for discussing it as I don't have a set opinion on this and can see both sides. Definitely agree about our inside mid depth to a point, but for me it's countered somewhat by having no great outside players which seems to be hurting us a bit, especially with our inside 50s.

Anyways, thanks for the sharp take on internet culture, it's spot on!

Ha ha, thank you.

But I'm sure it has been noticed that I still couldn't quite resist the need to say at least something about the topic.

Mea Culpa. We are all miserable sinners on the internet.

On 6/24/2019 at 10:13 PM, dimmy said:

Interesting dimmy. Can you link to article or re-post quote and journo who said it? Cheers.