39 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

DeGoey is what I wish Petracca would become.

Tracc has as much talent but its the fitness/strength/work rate vs the Hollywood that is off skew compared to de goey

Collingwood have managed to find space for there players to run free in,  they switched the ball beautifully and the richmond stars hardly had an impact. Martin just the 18, Riewoldt yes he seemed to have hurt his wrist kicked nothing and you noticed the difference without Rance. 

Magpies ball movement genuinely scary at times. With speed, precision and skill they tore Richmond to pieces.

According to precedent, Grimes should get 2 weeks for his elbow to Elliot. Won't happen though

22 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

They've been favouring the black and white team tonight though

Big time.  7 frees to 1 at one stage in the last.  And the same throw that should have been paid against the Pies in the same place at the end of the 3rd was paid against the Tiges.

Also the blatant one handed scoop / throw by Pendles in the middle which was ignored at one point.

Grundy also treated with kid gloves in a few of the throw in ruck contests didn't help either.  Game was in the balance and all these little things can swing the pendulem in a team's favour.

The commentators were in good form tonite. In the first quarter I heard them say " Moores hands have been good this season ". It is only the second round for crying out loud. Then in the third it was "there is Beams in a collingwood jumper". Had to grab another beer after hearing that one.

3 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

According to precedent, Grimes should get 2 weeks for his elbow to Elliot. Won't happen though

....and Cox flattened Grimes off the ball, just before that......nothing will happen tho..

Unfortunately it looks like the pies are back BUGGER! Hopefully we can have a turn around in form like they did?

So much love for the pies here tonight, its making me feel ill........

Tigers are done. The new 6-6-6 rules have curbed their gameplan. They were 17th ranked centre clearance team last year, and it’s showing as they can’t swarm contests as well now and teams can win the ball first and then just hold onto it.

Pies very slick. They’ll be right up there again this year. 

1 hour ago, DubDee said:

No Houli

No Richmond

?

Always thought this and to a less degree RFancid!

55 minutes ago, DemonWheels said:

Very impressive Magpies.

So quick and skillful.

Treloar is still a butcher; I'd physically target Aish and Cripps every time (both are soft); Howe is a so-so kick; and their defence is ordinary.

However, their forwardline has now surpassed Richmond's for dangerousness. They have so many options and they don't rely on height (except for Cox), which makes them pretty unpredictable.

I said over the off season that I thought Lynch would make Richmond more predictable. Let's see how that continues to play out. Richmond's pressure game was barely there tonight, which makes that tough to tell.

It was almost like Rance's injury last week knocked all the air out of them for the rest of the season. It'll be really interesting to see how they respond next week.

Collingwood, for me, are the ones to beat this season. Their midfield is in the perfect premiership age bracket too. They have the edge on West Coast, if only because the Grand Final will always be played at the G. If they get their chance against this year, I reckon Collingwood will take it. It's early, I know, I know. Let's hope they're peaking too early like Richmond did last year.

I wonder how much Buckley will use that Hawthorn keepings off style in other games this year. I also wonder whether it'd stand up in finals. It reminds me of the way Klopp's Liverpool and Guardiola's Man City play in the EPL. It's about possession, possession and waiting for the opposition to break structure, before they try and go in behind you with pace. It suits Collingwood's speedy forward line too. And when that's not working, they have the high kick to 30m out to Cox.

A fascinating season ahead I reckon. I'm expecting a lot more tricks from our mob this year, because we've got some innovators, certainly Goodwin and Jennings are. I'd like to see how we work on the smaller grounds and then like last year, how we adjust that game style to the bigger grounds like the MCG and Optus.

1 hour ago, Petraccattack said:

But never will!!

33 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Tigers are done. The new 6-6-6 rules have curbed their gameplan. They were 17th ranked centre clearance team last year, and it’s showing as they can’t swarm contests as well now and teams can win the ball first and then just hold onto it.

Pies very slick. They’ll be right up there again this year. 

They’d smash us on our form. Collingwood are a very good side and play well.

Though premature it appears once again teams like pies & hawks will prob win flag before we do..  fed up seeing my mates celebrate their flags!

1 hour ago, Clint Bizkit said:

De Goey is far more agile than Petracca and is a better mark.

Yes he is.   However I have always seen Petracca as more of a forward than a mid,  and he showed he was capable when he kicked 4 goals on Michael Hurley when we beat Essendon. (was last season or the season before)

2 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

Sadly, not likely, with his mindset.   And he's way too heavy, compared to Deegoey.

We've recruited another boy in a mans body.

4 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Certainly twice as bad as May. 

4 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

....and Cox flattened Grimes off the ball, just before that......nothing will happen tho..

No doubt some Christian charity will be forthcoming. 

It looks like lady luck has deserted the Tigers:  Riewoldt may be out for a few months! Riewoldt wrist injury

They are fortunate to have Lynch but missing Rance and Riewoldt; doubt they'll make the top 4.  A good thing for the rest of us!!!

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=12&pid1=4041&fid1=C&playerStatus2=A&tid2=5&pid2=4043&fid2=C&type=A

Pretty neck and neck statistically. IMO Petracca is the more defensive/wing sweeper whereas De Goey is a Bruest/Jack Riewoldt type forward. Like I said earlier in this thread I think the comparisons are really unfair.

9 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

They've been favouring the black and white team tonight though

Wow, 25:9!  Did Hardwick sook about it in his press conf? 

Maybe Coll is the AFL's anointed team this year.  Had thought it was Ess given the unearned prime time FTA exposure the AFL have given them this year; a plan that may backfire just as badly as Carlton's unearned prime time FTA exposure did last year.