View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, CHF said:

I posted this on Saturday after the game and, after watching the replay, have no changed my mind.

Out: Viney, Garland, OMac, Kennedy, Kent and 2 out of Bugg, ANB, Wagner and Newton.

In: Pedersen, Dawes or Weed (Dawes More Likely), Dunn, Frost Oliver, Trengove and either White or Terlich.

My team for the Hawks:

Backs: Jetta, Dunn, Frost

Half Backs: Vince, TMac, White/Terlich

Center: Hunt, Jones, Stretch

Half Forward: Watts, Dawes, Harmes

Forward: Garlett, Hogan, Petracca

Fol: Gawn, Oliver, Tyson

Interchange: Pedersen, Trengove, Terlich, ANB

I like your thinking CHF, I wonder if the Coaching Team are as imaginative (brave). Go Dee's

34 minutes ago, Diamond said:

Torn quadriceps. Out for three months.

WTF???

Kent must be held to account for his game - 43% disposal efficiency and many crucial turnovers. I also think Jeff Garlett gets off easy for his poor games. He seems to be one week on, one week off. 9 disposals is not acceptable. 

36 minutes ago, Diamond said:

If true our run of bad injuries does not end. Brayshaw Salem Viney and Oliver all at once. 

How are these kids ever going to develop sitting on the sidelines half of every season

As bad as it is that we seem to rely on a first year player Oliver has to come back. With him in the team is much more balanced.

Grimes in although deserved won't add anything. I recall he had similar form in vfl last year and when he came in nothing had changed.

Even if they haven't shown it with form in vfl Dunn and Frost need to come in and play back for a month so we can see if they have what it takes.

Edited by Garbo

19 minutes ago, olisik said:

If true our run of bad injuries does not end. Brayshaw Salem Viney and Oliver all at once. 

How are these kids ever going to develop sitting on the sidelines half of every season

Players can still develop on the sidelines. Viney can still do sprint, core, strength and plyometrics. Salem can still hit the gym (even with a thyroid issue), Brayshaw can still work on areas of weakness, and Oliver can still do upper body weights (if he is out for a quad). Also, players can analyze structures, team plays, etc. There is still a lot that can be done on the sidelines. Its not ideal, but so long as they aren't on the sidelines with a major injury, then it isn't the end of the world.

6 minutes ago, Garbo said:

As bad as it is that we seem to rely on a first year player Oliver has to come back. With him in the team is much more balanced.

Grimes in although deserved won't add anything. I recall he had similar form in vfl last year and when he came in nothing had changed.

Even if they haven't shown it with form in vfl Dunn and Frost need to come in and play back for a month so we can see if they have what it takes.

Oliver is a gun, and already one of our most important players IMO.

Time to swing the axe. White should get the nod over terlich. Forget Grimes not up to AFL standard.

Can we just clone 18 Nev Jetta's and just play them around Gawn, Hogan, Tmac and N,Jones?

Whatever is done at the selection table, it looks very depressing looking at the Hawks likely team sheet. We simply dont have the talent to match up.

19 minutes ago, hemingway said:

Whatever is done at the selection table, it looks very depressing looking at the Hawks likely team sheet. We simply dont have the talent to match up.

I don't think we'll win, but I'm sure you (as did most others) said the same thing before the Geelong game last year, or if you'd looked at the Carlton team before they beat Geelong this weekend.

We can win. I don't think we will win, but we can.

5 hours ago, Diamond said:

If you've got a source for that, now would be a good time to produce it. 

If you're having a laugh, take a good look around the site, because you won't be able to access it shortly. 

6 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

I don't think we'll win, but I'm sure you (as did most others) said the same thing before the Geelong game last year, or if you'd looked at the Carlton team before they beat Geelong this weekend.

We can win. I don't think we will win, but we can.

Wonderful stuff Titan, your last sentence is almost poetic and certainly priceless. 

10 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Kent must be held to account for his game - 43% disposal efficiency and many crucial turnovers. I also think Jeff Garlett gets off easy for his poor games. He seems to be one week on, one week off. 9 disposals is not acceptable. 

Yeah 9 disposals 8 clangers, at the game port supporters were laughing at his antics

20 hours ago, Samael said:

The PC brigade will say things like "Its not a good look". "Punches to the head are not what we want to see in our game" "not acceptable" and despite the low impact (thick head, no brain no pain) he will get a week at least. My concern is that they looked pretty decent and yet Ebert barely reacted. Viney hits like a girl will be resonating around MFC games for a while methinks. Jones needs to give him some boxing lessons. 

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-2016-heads-you-lose-but-jack-viney-gets-off-lightly-20160530-gp7k25.html

What a surprise!

The lack of changes last week was shameful, and any less than five this week would confirm that Roos has left planet earth.

All of Kent, Newton, O.McDonald, Hunt, Neal-Bullen, Kennedy, Wagner, and Harmes should be seriously considered for a trip down to Casey. Plus Viney is out. Kent, Kennedy, Newton and McDonald should be certain outs.

We need experience, toughness and heart. In: Pedersen, Grimes, Trengove, Oliver, Terlich and White. Would seriously consider Spencer to give Max a proper chop out, but I assume Roos will find a way to get his love child Dawes in instead.

Out: Viney (inj), Garland (inj), O. McDonald, Newton, Kennedy

In: Oliver, Frost, White, Grimes/Trengove, Dawes/Pedersen

FB: Jetta McDonald Bugg

HB: Vince Frost White

C: Harmes Oliver Stretch

HF: Petracca Dawes/Pedersen Watts

FF: Garlett Hogan Kent

Foll: Gawn Jones Tyson

Int: Wagner, Hunt, ANB, Grimes/Trengove

16 hours ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

Can anyone shed light on Oliver..people saying they saw him on crutches. I thought it was a corky. Must have been a real bad one ..or he had a fair few beers aafter copping  it. Haha. Is he any chance?  Where is Vanders? Anyone have a link to our mostrecent Iinjury report..

Yes he was on crutches (Sat), but did not appear to be in pain, my feeling is that the crutches were precautionary. Should have asked him but he seemed ok.

Out: Viney (inj), Garland (inj), Kennedy, O. McDonald, ANB

In: Oliver, Michie, Dawes, Frost/Dunn, Trengove/Grimes

FB: Jetta McDonald Wagner

HB: Vince Frost/Dunn Michie

HF: Petracca Dawes Watts

Int: Bugg, Hunt, Newton, Trengove/Grimes

Thoughts:

• OMac may stay in with Garland out (I dont agree but wouldn't be surprised)
  • Frost is more likely a part of the future than Dunn but he may not be ready for a recall.
  • Dawes for Kennedy for forward height. Kent very lucky
  • Watts to continue Rucking, essentially provides extra midfielder Dawes would just be wasting energy, going to lose most of those hitouts either way.
  • ANB is a ball winner and may be given an extended run at it with Viney out 
  • Trengrove over Grimes but he may not be ready given the Casey bye at awkward time
  • Finally 5 changes is alot... you rarely succeed with large number of changes so idk what to expect
17 hours ago, Diamond said:

Source or GTFO.

Out: Viney, Garland, Newton, ANB

In: Oliver, Dunn, Dawes, Trengrove

Kids will be lucky but can't afford to lose leg speed (Harmes, Hunt, Kent) if we bring in Trenners and Dawes.
Can't see Frost getting in over Dunn if the comment about bigger bodies and experience from last week rings true.

Really interested in selection this week. I think it'll say a lot about the style of footy we want to play.  A lot of the kids look tired but I can't see the 2nd tier of players adding the necessary energy.

4 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Out: Viney (inj), Garland (inj), O. McDonald, Newton, Kennedy

In: Oliver, Frost, White, Grimes/Trengove, Dawes/Pedersen

FB: Jetta McDonald Bugg

HB: Vince Frost White

HF: Petracca Dawes/Pedersen Watts

Int: Wagner, Hunt, ANB, Grimes/Trengove

You'd keep Neal-Bullen ?  I thought he was terrible and just looks completely off the pace of AFL footy.  He's a fumbler and makes ordinary decisions and disposal under pressure.  He's the opposite to Oliver in traffic.  

He was good against Geelong last year, because he was played as a forward and was OK with time and space.  And he was OK running onto the footy near goals.  But he's not ready as a pure mid at AFL level - yet.  He may, or may not be in time.