Posted

No doubt most of us would have read about what behaviour Martin exhibited at a restaurant the other night when he threatened a female patron with stabbing her in the face with a chopstick. KB is completely right in his call that Martin should be given a substantial ban from the sport and I reckon 12 months is around the mark and a big fine to go with it. As he has highlighted, I'm amazed that the RFC has approached this so meekly and I'm even more surprised this women accepted his apology. How would any of us feel if our wives were threatened in such a manner?

Surely the AFL needs to make a stance on this for risk that the sport turns into another NRL with players assaulting partners.

I bet Choc Williams is fuming overt this as much as anyone.

Who agrees with KB's sentiment?

I do.

dustin-martin-apologises-after-restaurant-altercation

give-martin-a-12month-ban-says-barlett

Oh, and a drug test would be a wise decision also. Or maybe he just has a weak bladder.

Posted

I guarantee you that if this was a lesser known player he would have had the book thrown at him by the club.

Why is the AFL not stepping in here? Surely this brings the game into disrepute?

Posted
1 minute ago, DeeZee said:

Has to get absolute minimum six weeks suspension plus $20000 fine.

A rap across the knuckles in this case simply will not do.

Don't hold your breath. If Richmond are from the Luke Hodge school of punishment he'll probably just get a $50 suspended fine.

Posted

Dill the likeable is waiting for the poll results to come in, then we can expect a strong statement from the AFL.

Should be anytime in the next few days...

This is the clown that wanted to run Bailey out of the game.

Posted

In all seriousness, it saddens me that a player of the calibre of Martin resorts to disturbing incidents such as this. He's been in the system long enough and even though he is a few snags short of a BBQ, he should know better on how to behave in public places - role model or not. And I agree that RFC should make a tough stance on it's player, the image that has been portrayed - violence against women.

On a lighter side, Dustin-son should have tried catching flies at Mr. Miyagi's restaurant....

File:Mr Miyagi catches fly with chopsticks.gif

Posted

given a richmond official described it as a "hiccup", i feel richmond will likely find a wet tram ticket and a bucket of spin.

of course if it was a lesser player they'd bring out the sledgehammer.

with the afl as a role model of problem containment what can you expect

Posted
18 minutes ago, Mr. White said:

I guarantee you that if this was a lesser known player he would have had the book thrown at him by the club.

Why is the AFL not stepping in here? Surely this brings the game into disrepute?

This is NRL type behaviour.

Posted

"This is certainly a bit of a hiccup, something that he’s not happy about and neither are we,” said Tigers football manager Daniel Richardson."

Hiccup? Not happy about?

Good grief, that sort of response is bewildering and in my view unacceptable from a club official.  

The reported incident would terrify anyone.  Leaving it to the end of the week and a leadership group is inexcusable. If it were one of our players I would expect our President, Ceo, coach and leadership to deal with it immediately with a suspension, a futher public apology to the woman involved and a statement about the unacceptability of threatened voilence in particular voilence towards women.

That would be the bare minimum.

Posted

When I heard the full description of the incident I was absolutely shocked at the tiny amount of reaction from RFC and the AFL. Clearly the woman has "accepted the apology" out of pure fear after being so intimated.

A supporter is pretty much banned for life from AFL games (as well as serving some jail time) for slapping a woman at a game, yet a star player can physically intimidate and threaten to kill a woman in a public place and he merely has to give the standard "embarrassed apology" and that's it?!

This needs to be a bigger issue than what the RFC and AFL have let it be so far, I'm glad KB has gone so hard about it given it's the club he's generally so biased about.

Posted

Martin is a bogan who plays football.  Gutless drunken fool who decides to bully a woman, the AFL should hit this [censored] between the eyes and ban him for 10 games, nothing less will be suitable for the bogan who wears a marsupial on his head.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Soidee said:

, nothing less will be suitable for the bogan who wears a marsupial on his head.

I was wondering what that was...I thought it was a Tony Mokbel hand me down. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, nutbean said:

I was wondering what that was...I thought it was a Tony Mokbel hand me down. 

it's certainly scary just in itself

it would be right up there in the worst afl hairstyle stakes and there is certainly some doozies

Posted

Dustin Martin needs to be put in a cage over summer. What a disgraceful excuse for a human species

threatening to stab someone in the eye with a chopstick

just outrageous when you are sitting in a nice restaurant. 

Bloke deserves to be castrated and thrown to the pigs. 

But he will get away with it because he is a class footballer. 

"Chopsticks" will be reminded in every game he plays in from now on..

Turd. 

Posted
33 minutes ago, Robbie57 said:

"This is certainly a bit of a hiccup, something that he’s not happy about and neither are we,” said Tigers football manager Daniel Richardson."

Hiccup? Not happy about?

Good grief, that sort of response is bewildering and in my view unacceptable from a club official.  

The reported incident would terrify anyone.  Leaving it to the end of the week and a leadership group is inexcusable. If it were one of our players I would expect our President, Ceo, coach and leadership to deal with it immediately with a suspension, a futher public apology to the woman involved and a statement about the unacceptability of threatened voilence in particular voilence towards women.

That would be the bare minimum.

With out having seen it I'm guessing the Tigers have a tough draw, this will wrongly be their main concern.

Posted

Rosie Batty says hi!  In this year of all years when violence towards women is trying to be stamped out his actions should not be tolerated.

Posted
12 minutes ago, Lamashtu said:

So he'd spent the whole day at Stereosonic, yet there were no drug testers in sight to investigate after this bizarre outburst. How [censored] convenient! Any idiot can put two and two together on this one.

Amazing how a single incident can highlight all the gaping problems with this sport that Gil is utterly incapable and completely uninterested in doing ANYTHING about.

Richmond, you look like a pathetic bunch of idiots. And to think, they are the only club with a female president! Shameful. 

Wouldn't it be handy to have a 'strike' coincide with a ban for the threatening behaviour.

Some have suggested the AFL have form with disguising such things with other players.

Posted

He is a less likable version of Fev.  and will follow the same route as he is a fool. id be surprised if he is still playing AFL in 4 years.

he does a lot of damage tio the image of the AFL and its support of women in general.  the tigers will not suspend him for any more than 2 games just like the Hawks did as he is too important to them.  they cannot improve without him.  so its a perfect example where the AFL should step in

And get a [censored] haircut!

Posted
4 minutes ago, DubDee said:

So its a perfect example where the AFL should step in

Agree. 

Round 13 next year the Dogs v Geel game is promoting the game for White Ribbon Australia for 6 weeks with the backing of the AFL. Recognising the problem of violence against women. 

Organisations like White Ribbon Australia, AOTY recipient Rosie Batty should have a keen eye on proceedings here with RFC and to a greater extent the AFL.

Posted
40 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Dustin Martin needs to be put in a cage over summer. What a disgraceful excuse for a human species

threatening to stab someone in the eye with a chopstick

just outrageous when you are sitting in a nice restaurant. 

Bloke deserves to be castrated and thrown to the pigs. 

But he will get away with it because he is a class footballer. 

"Chopsticks" will be reminded in every game he plays in from now on..

Turd. 

I agree with your sentiment that his behavior is reprehensible and he needs to be dealt with by both Richmond and the AFL.

I am not sure how "castrating and throwing him to the pigs" makes you any better than him though.

Posted
5 minutes ago, nutbean said:

I agree with your sentiment that his behavior is reprehensible and he needs to be dealt with by both Richmond and the AFL.

I am not sure how "castrating and throwing him to the pigs" makes you any better than him though.

i think wyl is struggling to feed his pigs and will accept donations from anyone :lol:

Posted
4 minutes ago, nutbean said:

Ever had a sharp object held close to your eye?