View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Sam Blease wants out

I'm sure they'll appreciate his one-way running.

cute-cute-cat.jpeg

Good Luck

so they wouldn't join in a trade - got him for nothing.

Another chance for a team to say to themselves - "it's just the Demons, they couldn't develop an indoor plant..." (arrogant chuckling)

Ok, let's see how it goes, champs...

Are Geelong kidding themselves: quote- "GEELONG hopes axed Demon Sam Blease will help cover the loss of quick midfielders Travis Varcoe and Allen Christensen."

I'm not a Blease fan but the facts are that our game plan and that of Neeld didn't suit Sam. He could make it at Geelong where they are much better placed to use his attributes and other players far better at covering his weaknesses.

If he makes it at Geelong so be it but I doubt he'd have ever made it at MFC and it has little to do with development.

Lots of potential that was never able to tbe realised. Maybe the delisting will jol;t a response fromt eh young fella and he will come good. A number of Dees coaches, both good ones and bad ones were never able to get it out of him. Good luck to the lad but I suspect hemay be another Grgic.

For a bloke that says something like "I realised AFTER the season that I need endurance, so have been working on that with a specialist coach.".. Sheesh!

Why didn't the guy build his endurance before, or during? Why wait? And don't you like Roosey's game plan where it is not about one way running?

Don't care what he does at Geelong. He was never going to make a difference to Melbourne with that sort of selfish approach. I reckon these are the sorts of elements that need to be weeded out of the club before we can get a culture of success. If it works for Geelong, so be it. He was a list clogger at the demons.

For a bloke that says something like "I realised AFTER the season that I need endurance, so have been working on that with a specialist coach.".. Sheesh!

Why didn't the guy build his endurance before, or during? Why wait? And don't you like Roosey's game plan where it is not about one way running?

Don't care what he does at Geelong. He was never going to make a difference to Melbourne with that sort of selfish approach. I reckon these are the sorts of elements that need to be weeded out of the club before we can get a culture of success. If it works for Geelong, so be it. He was a list clogger at the demons.

This for mine is a real indicator of where this guy's at mentally. Too lazy and soft to put in the hard yards at the Dees. Good riddance you absolute waste of time.

AFL level footy is way beyond him, he couldn't get a regular game with the worst team of the last 10-15 years! No goolies (ie hardness).

I think Sam's problem was that he had a pretty high opinion of himself......A bit like Gysberts

Sam is obviously the major cause of his own downfall at Melbourne, but that type of player will always be a much greater factor in a strong side. I have no doubt he has the talent, it will be interesting to see whether he can find a position at Geelong.

Sam's in for a rude shock. HE says he wasn't suited to the defensive gameplan at Melbourne, what he means is he didn't want to do the work. Now he's off to one of the best sides in the competition and he thinks they'll let him train at his own pace and gift him games when he shows no defensive intensity? Good luck with that mate. This is another ex-demon who's going to spend the next year twiddling his thumbs in the seconds and wondering what's gone wrong.

give him a break. he was only in the system for 6 years...

one good preseason , thats all it takes you know !!

Another chance for a team to say to themselves - "it's just the Demons, they couldn't develop an indoor plant..." (arrogant chuckling)

Ok, let's see how it goes, champs...

Gysberts, Silvia, Morton, Bennell, McLean, Scully, Rivers, Moloney - all either stayed at the level they left or didn't improve.

The only player who has gone to another team and improve has been Martin.

Could almost say Pettard too (noting I'm just drawing on improvement, not the overall talent)

The odds don't look good for Geelong, but more damning on our initial selections.

[if I've missed someone add them on]

Kyle Cheney

Cam Bruce (though already on the downhill run when he left)

Blease will spend all of 2015 at VFL level, can almost g'tee it, as desperate for pace as Geelong are, I can't see this gamble paying off unless they simply accept having a passenger defensively in the midfield that everyone else will have to cover for...... As good as the rest of the side is, no team can afford passengers defensively in a big game final and he is not anywhere near damaging enough offensively to make up for it imo. Further, if he couldn't or was unwilling to do this under Roos, why would he start at the Cats?

Good luck Sammy, hope the penny drops eventually mate! Till then I won't be losing any sleep over this move.