Posted

Frawley's interview with Matt Burgan on the Melbourne FC website has to be one of the funniest I have ever seen.

And to think some wanted the guy Captain ! Ha!

Imagine some of the post match interviews we would get?!

Get yourselves a pen and some paper and jot down the amount of times he uses the word 'spose.'

It's got to be a world record of some sort.

Posted

When he plays footy like he does then I 'spose' it's more than ok with me. He leads by example on field and from what I gather he is a good bloke and the 'joker' in the pack.

More power to him.

Posted

Frawley's interview with Matt Burgan on the Melbourne FC website has to be one of the funniest I have ever seen.

Get yourselves a pen and some paper and jot down the amount of times he uses the word 'spose.'

Certainly not the most comfortable or confident interviewee. You could add to saying s'pose heaps the amount of times he says mate. Even Burgo (mate) gets in on in the act by the end of the interview. Happy for Frawley to lead by example.

I've really enjoyed the interview series with the LG. On the whole they seem a a pretty switched on group, quiet, considered and intelligent. Also some very interesting insights into the new regime, training program and possible match day strategies.

Some random thoughts:

Burgan an ok interviewer who goes extremely red - paint a blue line on his face and he'd be demon mascot. Tends to repeat questions (ie same q, slightly reworded several times in the one interview, eg "what do you see as your leadership qualities?")

Clark very nervous but seems a pretty quiet guy.

Jones surprisingly articulate and thoughtful.

Garland a ripper, would be great to sit down and talk footy to (the dees should tap in to this somehow)

Grimes oozes a quiet confidence

Trengove is really young and will take a while to find his feet as captain (unsurprisingly)

Bartram seems a pretty switched on bloke and likes the new coaching set up

Posted

Burgan's post scratch match interview with Bale is also pretty interesting in terms of what role Bate see's himself playing, the Neeld game plan and the training "volume". In some ways the Dee TV interviews are much more revealing than the standard group media door stoppers or conferences, in part because of their length (ie stuff sometimes just pops out) but also because of the players seem to like Burgan

Posted

33 times. 33 and a half if you count the half stutter about a minute in. As long as he keeps playing the way he does he can say 'spose a million times. [censored] thread!

Posted

He was always behind the 8 ball with Danny Frawley as an uncle for being able to speak intelligently, happy the footy genetics got passed down as well though!

Posted (edited)

Frawley's interview with Matt Burgan on the Melbourne FC website has to be one of the funniest

I have ever seen.

You're the guy who laughs at others out loud whilst everyone laughs at you amongst themselves.

I didn't realise how one spoke in front of camera was a measure of their intelligence.

With some of the dribble you go on with on this site I'm surprised you laugh at others so easily

Edited by Roost It

Posted

Frawley may not quite be captain material.

But if he takes on the best forwards, leads and inspires the backline and the rest of the players, helps get us into the 8, then the 4 and to a premiership, I don't care how many times he "mates" and "s'poses" in a TV interview.

Posted (edited)

Ha ha ha, funny stuff. Talking in front of a camera is quite hard. I tutor and lecture at uni, and it doesn't bother me much at all. When I was filmed doing an introduction (for an online unit, hence being filmed), I found it quite tough!

I 'spose it is a matter of practice I suppose.

Edited by Samsara
Posted

Is that a Charlie Manson cross on Clarkes forehead ?

Guest fitness
Posted

I 'spose it is a matter of practice I suppose.

S'pose he's been listening to Brett Ratten's press conferences. S'pose is his favourite word by the length of Royal Parade...

Posted

You're the guy who laughs at others out loud whilst everyone laughs at you amongst themselves.

I didn't realise how one spoke in front of camera was a measure of their intelligence.

With some of the dribble you go on with on this site I'm surprised you laugh at others so easily

You're the guy who sums up most* of demonland as a whole....

It's a funny interview.

Are you related to Frawley? Or are you the man himself?

Posted

I was in a situation season before last where I was with a small number of people with the player group. Off his own bat, Chip came over to me, shook my hand, introduced himself and welcomed me. I thought it showed outstanding personal qualities. Mix that with a tough, skilful on-field presence and you have a couple of essential leadership ingredients. Any polishing of personal style (if needed) is the easy part.

Posted

Frawley's interview with Matt Burgan on the Melbourne FC website has to be one of the funniest

I have ever seen.

I s'pose it is fair to suggest that if, after his extensive experience public speaking, Kevin Rudd can get so flustered in front of the camera, then surely we can give Chip a little bit of leeway here. He is, after all, a footballer, not a public speaker.

Posted

Because it's a known fact the premiership is given to the best post match interviewee...

Seriously, the way some of you guys go on about the importance of interviews etc you'd think we should have Clive James as our captain!

Posted

Sow, hey izent real artikulat - but kan he play footy??

He isn't there for his oratory skills, but for his on field leadship by example.

Posted

Matt Burgan Is possibly the worst interviewer I've ever seen, its embarrasing they let him do it. Having a rambling vague interviewer who needs 30 words to say what can be said 4 doesnt help an interviewee either. Bit like the standard of play being dragged down when you play a poor standard footy team

Posted

with some of the stuff that gets 'moderated' around here, I find it appalling that apparently there is no problem with using the site as a vessel to personally denigrate one of our finest players, whom by all accounts is a fantastic bloke also. If it makes you feel better about yourself because he gets to play footy and you don't, that's your problem. Poor form, threadmaker.