Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GAMEDAY: Rd 06 vs Brisbane

58 minutes ago, Macca said:

Let's just hope all our tall forwards can apply some defensive pressure

So we've got JVR, Mihocek, Jeffo & Fritsch up forward and none of them are noted for their chasing or tackling skills

Groundball possessions? Maybe Fritsch if he's having a good day

And then there's Heath? Where does he play when Gawn is rucking 80% of the time? Another tall forward?

Agree, way too tall with minimal groundball capability.

My first game for the year, going with 8 year old son.

Extra interest as Xavier Taylor is from our local club East Ringwood, goes to show you don’t need to be from private school background to make it.

Hope he has a cracker, along with Moose 🫎

Oh and if Cameron can kick 10, surely Jeffo can too? Eh Pickett? 🤞

1 hour ago, Macca said:

Let's just hope all our tall forwards can apply some defensive pressure

So we've got JVR, Mihocek, Jeffo & Fritsch up forward and none of them are noted for their chasing or tackling skills

Groundball possessions? Maybe Fritsch if he's having a good day

And then there's Heath? Where does he play when Gawn is rucking 80% of the time? Another tall forward?

it’s a major worry

Hopefully Cross is a late in and one of the big 3 up fwd/ Moose can be on the bench for most of the game

Internal monologue:

"Well, I am not expecting a win, but I want a minimum 4 goal loss...

Huh what, how does that marry up with the fact that we are still embedding a new philosophy and style, with multiple new players in for today, let alone the season..

It doesnt..."

Anyone know how long these things take to embed? 😁

27 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Agree, way too tall with minimal groundball capability.

The other concern is Brisbane's enhanced rebounding ability from our forward line

In the words of Saville’s brother Normie, “Que sera, sera!”.

Comparing the 2 benches is very sobering

I'll be happy if we get within 5-6 goals today.

Looking forward to our 2 debutantes and I hope Bill takes his opportunity this time.

Rosie , Thanks for getting me a cap, I will watch with a grey Italians cap and pretend

2 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

Looks like Cross, Kentfield and Henderson are all playing for Casey right now, which would probably suggest Fritsch is OK to play?

Aidan Johnson did not play for Casey.

55 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

I'd rather be sitting at the G in sunshine today than under the roof at marvel

It’s quaint that a joint named Marvel is such a *&%#hole.

47 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Internal monologue:

Huh what, how does that marry up with the fact that we are still embedding a new philosophy and style, with multiple new players in for today, let alone the season..

It doesnt..."

Just had a hip replaced. About 90 minutes.

The media has written us off.

I believe we will see if King has the team, and whether they have bought in and play his system.

I would love to see a defining statement by hammering the Lions early in the first quarter. If not, then we need intent, smart plays, being clean with the ball, and four quarters of effort.

2 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

Looks like Cross, Kentfield and Henderson are all playing for Casey right now, which would probably suggest Fritsch is OK to play?

Cross came off early, so maybe not.

We've had some entertaining clashes against the Lions over the last five or so years.

Not expecting a win today but hopefully we put up a good showing.

2 hours ago, sisso said:

Interesting to see how all our young blokes go, I thought we went in too old last week but it’s flipped the other way now! I reckon if we play our best run and gun footy on the wide expanses of the G we can be competitive, but expecting a win is probably a bit of a stretch today.

I agree with this. Last week we should have rested TMac, Melkie Fritta and gone with Jefferson , Kentfield AMW. Maybe run Heath.

Even Windsor Kolt Langford who all played ok could have been rested and saved for this bigger game.

The older experienced bodies should be playing against the older bigger body teams.

It6 does depend how they turn up, I reckon our best is as good as Lions and sorry i wont be there.

GO DEEES

Pre game hydration. Def don’t want to dehydrate!!

Was watching some footy show on 7 and they went to the dees and lions rooms pre game.

Dees kicking SOCCER BALLS and lions kicking footies. God I hope that’s not an omen.BA1AF55C-6EA4-432D-9186-23C4722274C4.jpeg

Any word on who the sub might be?

TIA

1 hour ago, Fork 'em said:

Sick of this sunday arvo BS.

All our Sunday games at the G this year the weather has been sensational and the side has played really well.

I’m loving the Sunday arvo games.

1 hour ago, Engorged Onion said:

Internal monologue:

It doesnt..."

Well the Dawks had a scratchy start to the year a couple seasons ago.
By late in the season they were a top 4 threat.