View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

‘Too big for the site’: Tasmanian AFL stadium should not be built, says independent planning commission | Tasmania | The Guardian

Would cost $1bn, rising to $1.8bn over a decade.
For a 23,00 seat stadium.
Not to mention that the artist's rendering is legitimately an eyesore.

Money where your mouth is, AFL.
Either pony up, or it's dead in the water.

Caro not taking calls ..

Sounds like the AFL basically expected this news? Rockliff has doubled down. It all comes down to the vote, but also wouldn't put it past the AFL to backflip on the stadium.

I suspect Buckley was given some assurances...

1bn for a 23,000 capacity stadium is utterly ridiculous. Insanity. taxpayers should not be footing a stupid bill like that

someone needs to come up with a sensible proposal for the stadium that delivers genuine value for money. not this pork barrelling waste of money

Surely NB would have been aware this was coming. Odd?

2 hours ago, Dr. Mubutu said:

‘Too big for the site’: Tasmanian AFL stadium should not be built, says independent planning commission | Tasmania | The Guardian

Would cost $1bn, rising to $1.8bn over a decade.
For a 23,00 seat stadium.
Not to mention that the artist's rendering is legitimately an eyesore.

Money where your mouth is, AFL.
Either pony up, or it's dead in the water.

Cop that, Buckley.

Hello, Brendan speaking.

G'day Windy it's Bucks

Nathan Buckley?

Um, yes

Hello Nathan, i prefer Brendan, how can i help?

Oh, ok Brendan - um, nothing big, i just happened to see some news about the stadium in Tassie and, um, some possible planning issues and, no biggie, but was just wondering if there's any risk it won't be built?

Nathan, are you asking in your capacity as a media representative?

Hah, hah, hah

Silence

Oh, you are not joking. No Brendan I'm asking in my capacity, um is this line secure?

Sorry?

Nothing, nothing - no I'm just asking as a private citizen, and you know in my capacity as the inaugural coach of the Tassie Devils

In your capacity as the inaugural coach of the Tassie Devils? Well, Nathan i don't know what you are referring to on that front but i can let you know we most certainly have a Plan B in the unlikely event a purpose-built stadium with a retractable roof is not build in Hobart in the next 18 months

Oh, ok. Thats sounds good. So, all systems go for the Devils to have their first AFL game in 2027?

Well Nathan, I'm not at liberty to discuss such sensitive matters with any Tom, Dick or Nathan but what i can tell you is that the Tasmania Football Club will field teams in the Victorian Football League and Victorian Football League Women’s in 2026 and those plans intersect with our Plan B, which will most certainly see us start in 2027

Oh, ok great Brendan. Sooooo Plan B is?

Well Nathan you might have read on our website that the Devils VFL and VFLW teams will play their home matches in Hobart and Launceston, with the possibility of also playing games in Penguin, in 2026. If yes, disregard that - this a fluid environment and, keep this under your hat for now, we will now be playing all our home games at Casey

Sorry Brendan, i think i might have misheard you. Where will we, sorry you, be playing our, sorry, your home VFL games next season?

Casey

I thought that's what you said. Where in Tasmania is Casey?

Did i mention Tasmania Nathan? Casey is out Cranbourne way, a lovely part of the world by all accounts, and our new ground is where the Melbourne Football Club sometimes train - perhaps you know it?

Um, yes. I've never been there but it's........ um, ah, Brendan what does that have to do with Plan B?

Well, Nathan, the AFL have advised us that we must meet their timelines and be ready to go round one of the 2027 season so until the stadium situation is sorted the Devils will train and play at Casey

They will do what now?

Train and play at Casey until a stadium us built in Tasmania.............Nathan are you ok?

.................................................um, yes, fine Brendan. Look, i have to go, good luck with everything.

Hello, Brad Green speaking

Greeny, old mate its Bucks

Click.

4 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

AFL will pony up, no way they let this go now with all the water under the bridge.

That's a lot of money though jeepers creepers.

Are/were we hoping to get AFL money for Caufield?

AFL shot themselves in the foot buying Docklands for some astronomical amount, when if they waited another year they’d only need to buy with $1.

Oh well, they had a good run.

Unfortunately any hopes of a 22 team VFL comp, with fewer byes, would disappear as well.

1 Billion? James Magner would do it for less

Built East Link for a couple mill

This is like a real-life episode of Utopia

Can we do a study? Already did that

What about a review of the site? Done that too

A review of the review?

4 minutes ago, DubDee said:

This is like a real-life episode of Utopia

Can we do a study? Already did that

What about a review of the site? Done that too

A review of the review?

You could be referring to the MFC home base initiative

Reckon they should hire the guy that got the Fed Square development approved

He can obviously do anything

53 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

AFL shot themselves in the foot buying Docklands for some astronomical amount, when if they waited another year they’d only need to buy with $1.

$200m for an extra 365 days

Jeepers the report suggests it will cost every household in Tas (not on Govt benefits for income) $5900 and require new state taxes of $50M per annum. Brave State Government to push that through in such a small state and their supporting legislation may fail in their upper house because the Govt doesnt have the numbers there. All that before any AFL subsidies for the team itself. Albo will be getting a lot of calls for help.

Does sound very Utopia.

Has to be considerable doubt on the timetable now.

On 12/09/2025 at 13:54, Ethan Tremblay said:

Non-committal and wouldn’t say if he were offered the job, if he’d accept it. Holding out for Tassie is risky, I honestly believe it won’t go ahead.

On 18/05/2025 at 13:31, Ethan Tremblay said:

I still don’t think a Tassie team is going to happen.

What doesn’t Ethan know?

Edited by Ethan Tremblay