View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

On a sobering note I wouldn't be too swift to swing the axe. We have little or no draft capital to trade with. Cal and Toby will be the new blood and the lab talks about getting in more 25-28 year olds.

A stay of execution and allow a new coach 12 months before making wholesale changes. It would be nice to find some players that can kick, hit a target and handball who know how to ice a close game

14 hours ago, DeeZone said:

The only 3 that could miss are TMac, Milkshake and Lever. A new coach will rekindle the playing group but I will watch this space with much interest.😁👍

Unless we pick Buckley, I fear a mass exodus!

Love Demonland in large part because I get to hear different views from people who view footy differently (often much more astutely) than me. But when it comes to Melksham I honestly feel like I'm watching a different player in a different game to many of you.

The 50 he gave away at THAT time in the game is the antithesis of great leadership. It's selfishness of a rare variety.

Zero interest in seeing him play on.

I continue to believe we do not need a rebuild or empty-out.

Sparrow, Salem and Petty have some currency and other clubs could show interest easily.

TMac and Melksham due to age, but I would prefer them both to stay. Amid all our woes this year, these two have been outstanding.

McVee only because he has not re-signed which is a sign he is possibly moving on.

A handful of our Casey players might be moved on - Campbell, Henderson, AJ, Billings

Laurie will look for game time at a club like North, WCE or Tigers.

Having listed all these possibilities, I would be astounded if more than 6 are actually moved on.

Get ready for 18 at least of that 23 playing round 1 next year.

We are banking on a new coach getting more out the list; you literally cannot make that many changes without major concessions to the other parties like paying wages and/or accepting far less value in trade.

Great ways to become NM or WCE for a decade.

22 hours ago, DeeZone said:

Jeez bottom 2 if that the case JR three of our top four players on the list???

Start somewhere - 3 of our top 4 players have got battered bodies, and the other one just hasn’t come through

11 hours ago, Adam The God said:

I hope Judd stays, but he needs to play back.

There was a passage of play tonight that reinforced my view that he's no midfielder and doesn't execute quickly enough with genuine frontal pressure. Our mids did a brilliant job of flicking the ball around and keeping it in motion, and away from Collingwood's frontal pressure, probably 5 or 6 Demons involved and it finally got to Judd and he choked it up, Collingwood slung shot off it for a score.

that moment changed the game. horrible turnover in the worst possible spot.

as much as i think we need to move out the poorly skilled players the reality is Rome wasn;t built in a day

we'll need a couple of draft and trade periods to make the necessary changes and hope the new coach can coax better performances from this group than what we've been getting the last 2 years

13 minutes ago, BDA said:

that moment changed the game. horrible turnover in the worst possible spot.

But the 1goal 5 in the last wasnt a telling factor

10 minutes ago, BDA said:

as much as i think we need to move out the poorly skilled players the reality is Rome wasn;t built in a day

we'll need a couple of draft and trade periods to make the necessary changes and hope the new coach can coax better performances from this group than what we've been getting the last 2 years

Pretty much agree. I see 26 as a sorting out year, transitional in a way. Better than this year but setting groundwork for a fair crack in 27.

Go us

Please tell me we didn't give Sharp a long term contract when we traded for him?

Genuinely stunned he's managed to play 17 games this year.

15 minutes ago, BDA said:

Agree, with the poor quality and amount of kids that are already tied to clubs in this draft I’m hoping we really attack next years draft before Tassie really compromised the following one.

Hoping and praying JT remains with us to pick us some gems.

I don’t think the list is horrendous, a few minor changes are inevitable.

Players like Melksham and Tom Mac, have had really good years. I mean I’d rather have those guys on the list, if the worst case is you use them as depth for injuries then so be it. Make the younger guys earn their spot, if they aren’t better than the older players so be it. On the flip side to be afraid to drop the older guys if the younger players are equal or better.

I would rather see us look to bring in players or draft picks, to compliment the squad we have. We have the goat ruckman and a raft of premiership players, let’s give them one more crack under new leadership before signalling wholesale changes.

1 hour ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Love Demonland in large part because I get to hear different views from people who view footy differently (often much more astutely) than me. But when it comes to Melksham I honestly feel like I'm watching a different player in a different game to many of you.

The 50 he gave away at THAT time in the game is the antithesis of great leadership. It's selfishness of a rare variety.

The umpire was standing 5 minutes away screaming at him to move back and Jake just didn’t hear.

I actually hate that rule. The players don’t know exactly where they are on the ground, and it’s also the loudest part of the stadium. They need to get a little more leeway IMO. Protected zone is protected zone everywhere, but knowing that you’re 9 minutes from goal, not 11 is asking a lot.

20 hours ago, Damo said:

I dont know who of our veterans have been playing with injuries and are not at their best.

Viney, Salem, Tracc, May and Lever could all have been struggling with injuries. Until that puzzle is unlocked I think it is difficult to make a call. If many of them have been playing with injury, then next season things might get rosy again.

I can tell you that Clarrie has been playing with sore (very tender) ribs for at least three weeks.

2 hours ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

That was a horrendous 50, Melk’s often prone to them although it’s more of a tunnel vision/lack of awareness thing than straight poor discipline.

As it stands we have a heap of list spots so I’m ok with him going on but we’re in trouble if he’s a walk up start still. Should be more for a playing coach type role.

We have to pick some young athletic forwards with a future rather than extracting the most out of the current patch work set up.

I'd like to see both Melky and T-Mac go around again. Tommy must be very close to playing 250 games.

11 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

I can tell you that Clarrie has been playing with sore (very tender) ribs for at least three weeks.

He was really good last night - very encouraging

3 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I'd like to see both Melky and T-Mac go around again. Tommy must be very close to playing 250 games.

Tommy… 250 games, round one next year.

Melky… 250 games, round two next year.

1 minute ago, Ghostwriter said:

Tommy… 250 games, round one next year.

Melky… 250 games, round two next year.

Hope so, I like to see players get milestones. At the MFC sometimes thats all they get.

18 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Ugh I sound so much like Caro with “I can tell you…”

Difference is though, I’m not making sch!tt up.

13 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

247 by my count

1 hour ago, Demon Jack said:

Please tell me we didn't give Sharp a long term contract when we traded for him?

Genuinely stunned he's managed to play 17 games this year.

Contracted to 2027

2 minutes ago, Fritta and Turner said:

Hope so, I like to see players get milestones. At the MFC sometimes thats all they get.

I distinctly remember Melky’s 200th. The awful things being said about him on here: we’re nursing Goody’s mate to 200, he must have photos of Goody’s wife etc. etc. [censored] etc. It was my first time raising the banner and to see him proudly run out with his kids, and all the while all’s that was ringing around in my head was Goody’s wife, Melky’s dog getting run over etc. etc. [censored] etc.

Nek minnit those selfsame knobs were singing his praises as they have all along dontchya know.

#stillAngryAfAboutThat