View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

11 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

From the business side you can sell ads before after and make money for the AFL that's all it's about

Are you saying thereโ€™s a discernible spike in the ratings before and after the pre-match entertainment? Iโ€™m not so sure about that.

Edited by Mel Bourne

ย 

The AFL Grand Final is becoming a charity gig for has beens. Word from the hood is that the dawg is a sellout and his street cred has significantly diminished and now an irrelevance.

Edited by John Crow Batty

What a get by the AFL!

Snoop was the ambassador for the Olympics.

Love the man, love his tunes and will be fun and good times to the GF

3 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Canโ€™t believe the AFL have chosen this despicable individual for the Grand Final at the cost of $5,000,000. Indefensible and a shocking decision.

do you have a reason for calling him a despicable person?

sure he plays a role in his songs but has been married to his childhood sweetheart for decades

1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Whatโ€™s bloody wrong with Farnzy, Barnzy or Reynezy?

Thatโ€™s a lot of zyโ€™s, have you gone bulk-woke @Ethan Tremblay?

17 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

Thatโ€™s a lot of zyโ€™s, have you gone bulk-woke @Ethan Tremblay?

Iโ€™m so woke; I enjoy reciting feminism slam poetry at vegan cafes and calling out elderly people who donโ€™t understand what โ€˜non-binaryโ€™ means too.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Deep Purple were available Highway Star , Black Night ans Smoke on the Water would have been better than Snoopy Dag Dog!

3 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

I grew up in the 90s love snoop. The pre game act is all about getting casuals non fans to tune in and he will do that.

Every year there is triple m footy nuffy AFL supporters upset it's not cold chisel or hunters and collectors. Move on

Ummm Mark Seymour plays at the grand final every year.

Woke up this morning from the strangest dream

ย 
4 hours ago, 2021 said:

His name is spelt Snoop DoGG (2 G's at the end)

Is that like Ichabod Mudd, wit two Dees?

They should get Kasey Chambers and have just her performing her version of Eminemโ€™s Lose Yourself, over and overโ€ฆ I will never tire of that!!

Edited by hardtack

1 continuous hour straight, AFL themed, balls to the wall breaking from Raygun.

5 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

From the business side you can sell ads before after and make money for the AFL that's all it's about

Can they sell enough ads in that space to make a profit on the $5mil cost to be able to call it an investment?

Edited by rjay

5 hours ago, Mel Bourne said:

I just canโ€™t imagine a scenario where a person says โ€œI have no interest in this game, but I canโ€™t miss Snoopโ€.

I'm no fan of the pregame/half time entertainment but I do know people who will tune in & tune out when the game starts.

My partner for one...

She will watch snoop then wander off before the first bounce.

Is this what those at AFL HQ see as a good investment?

2 hours ago, BoBo said:

1 continuous hour straight, AFL themed, balls to the wall breaking from Raygun.

Would be especially interested in her artistic interpretation of the MRO process.

6 hours ago, DubDee said:

sure he plays a role in his songs but has been married to his childhood sweetheart for decades

season 13 GIF

7 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

It's about eyeballs on the tv those acts whilst great and Aussie won't deliver it

I reckon there would be negligible difference between Snoop and any of those acts in terms of viewers.

No one cares enough about who plays at the GF to make any material difference to viewing numbers.

No one, with the exception of Rjay's wife, turn on the TV to watch the GF just to see the half time entertainment - and in her case that's all she watches.

Where the AFL get a return on their investment, or at least hope to, that an Oz band can't deliver, or at least not to the same degree (which says something about our collectivecultural cringe i reckon) is the ability to get heavy press and social meda coverage and promotion, for example by leaking whispers about whose playing, the announcement, the arguments such as this thread and the obligatory pressers, photo ops and video content.

On that front surely they give Snoop a Bulldogs jumper.

20 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

Would be especially interested in her artistic interpretation of the MRO process.

I wouldnโ€™t want to frighten the children

6 hours ago, DubDee said:

Not to mention doing an uber successful lifestyle and cooking show with Marth Stewart, who is apparently super close too.

Very smart, switched on dude who has made way, way more money outside of music.

And very funny too.

He combined his humour and entrepreneurial chops to good effect a few years back getting huge coverage for his announcement he was giving up smoking.

A few months later he announced what he was referring to was he had become an ambassador for a smokeless wood fire stove company.

Might as well throw him in as a footy commentator on the day.

Much rather listen to him then BT.

My dream would be 100k people at the MCG being mesmerised through 25 minutes of The War on Drugs.

1 hour ago, BW511 said:

My dream would be 100k people at the MCG being mesmerised through 25 minutes of The War on Drugs.

Love The War On Drugs. Surely we are due for a new album soon.

I've got no real take on if Snoop is a good bloke or not, but I take total umbrage at the amount they are paying him for this gig.

$5M for 30min performance is just excessive for our code.

I don't give a rats about market rates for international performers, creating a spectacle, ra, ra, ra etc, etc.

To me it shows that the AFL executive are so totally out of touch with the everyday supporter, the clubs and playing group.

Are you really telling me that this bloke is worth paying 2x the annual salary of the best players for a single performance and is a non trivial amount with respect to things like soft caps etc. If the $5M was spread around the AFLW playing ranks it would be around nearly another $10k in payments for each player, taking them closer to a professional wage.

ย 

It's all good. There are no local grass roots clubs desperate for financial support at the moment, so there are definitely no issues topping up the super for an American criminal.

14 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

$5M for 30min performance is just excessive for our code.

They said Katy Perry got paid $5m and then a bit later someone came out and said it was $1.4m - So you who knows what figure to believe.

I think it's a peculiar pick in terms of recent hits - so I'm not sure what demographic they are targeting , but he's a rap icon.

I saw him at Rod Laver in 2006 and he put on a good show.

Would i have picked him? No. Will I watch him, Yes.