2 hours ago, Fat Tony said:

How is Turner going? Melksham?

Melky available for selection this week - on club website

3 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Luker is in full training. He looks (and feels) great.

I am still pretty upbeat about this kid.

Really looking forward to seeing him after a full pre season and the rest of this one developing at Casey.

He might be our next smokie along with Sesto.

Edited by Redleg

3 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Please keep your hands off the players!

I'd be more worried if they can't break GW's tackles.

25 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Melky missed because of injury though.

I’ve not heard the rumour about those boys being at the casino late on the eve of the Essendon match, but I’d be very surprised if Fritta was involved. That’d be entirely uncharacteristic of him.

yeah look i cant even find the original post so take it with a large ocean of salt

Listening to the podcast, the old chestnut of "loading" was brought up and @binman spoke about some teams apparently preferring to load early in the season. The inference from this is that, if we are loading, it could partly explain our 4th quarter fade outs. I have no idea on this, but it got me thinking about our training. Correct me if I'm wrong (as I'm sure someone will if i am) but didn't our main training days used to be on Tuesdays, and an easier one on Thursdays for a Saturday game? With the apparent swapping of the most strenuous training session to two days prior to a game, is this a form of loading for our players? Perhaps @binman could comment on this for me please. If it is, are we likely to see us swap our main training days back to Tuesdays later in the year when we have "achieved our designed loading levels"?

26 minutes ago, biggestred said:

yeah look i cant even find the original post so take it with a large ocean of salt

yea sorry this is most likely complete bs, iam from adl and every single crows or port game the casino is packed full before or after, theyd find it hard to get in aswell as it would be packed with a footy crowd for gather round. ppl would recognize them straight away and heaps of photos would be out there too

4 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

According to Chappy it’s because so many others use it. He said it’s always slippery too.

Was he still referring to the ground at this point?

5 minutes ago, jaydenh10 said:

yea sorry this is most likely complete bs, iam from adl and every single crows or port game the casino is packed full before or after, theyd find it hard to get in aswell as it would be packed with a footy crowd for gather round. ppl would recognize them straight away and heaps of photos would be out there too

well thats what i figured too but then 2 of them have missed games and the other didnt train today... which is how id do it if i didnt want it to be in the media. so yeah. or its just a massive cooincidence...

1 hour ago, Neil Crompton said:

Listening to the podcast, the old chestnut of "loading" was brought up and @binman spoke about some teams apparently preferring to load early in the season. The inference from this is that, if we are loading, it could partly explain our 4th quarter fade outs. I have no idea on this, but it got me thinking about our training. Correct me if I'm wrong (as I'm sure someone will if i am) but didn't our main training days used to be on Tuesdays, and an easier one on Thursdays for a Saturday game? With the apparent swapping of the most strenuous training session to two days prior to a game, is this a form of loading for our players? Perhaps @binman could comment on this for me please. If it is, are we likely to see us swap our main training days back to Tuesdays later in the year when we have "achieved our designed loading levels"?

I don't really know NS, however i doubt the change in training times is related to their loading schedule. It would have some sort of impact no doubt but i reckon the change is more about responding to feedback from players and perhaps changing things up just to freshen up the routine, one they had in place probably as far back as when Burgess started in 2020

4 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Kev will post his report sometime after 4pm. I hope that’s okay by you @Roost it far

Kev will surely mention absentees and Clarrie was on that list today. I asked Jacob (our club doctor) why Clarrie was a no-show and he said “Now come on Ghosty, you know I can’t tell you that.” I told him that was a crock since he always tells me stuff. He said on this occasion he can’t. That made me think it’s something serious. I said as much and Jacob said we’ll know soon enough why Clarrie wasn’t here.

Yeah, that's definitely not going to help the already anxious thinkers.

Edited by layzie

18 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

Kentfield looks like he is about to rip Langdon to pieces in Pic #34.

Get him in against C'wood at least.

Glad the staff are not giving out potentially personal information about where players are. Could be a funeral, a day off as agreed with the club, or a thousand other things

2 hours ago, Redleg said:

Really looking forward to seeing him after a full pre season and the rest of this one developing at Casey.

I agree, he has a football brain, hard in the contest. What he needs is good development by the club, and that's the bit that is letting JVR, Turner and Luker down. You could also include Jefferson in that.

Edited by demon3165

19 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Glad the staff are not giving out potentially personal information about where players are. Could be a funeral, a day off as agreed with the club, or a thousand other things

im sure the media will run with the narrative that he was down at gmhba today or some bs

Beautiful morning and a full session with 40 players tuning up, and with such a different collective emotion than last week (happy).

Lever and Hore in rehab. Lever looking close as he does some shoulder contact against the trainer, change of direction drills and running laps at about 70%.

May appeared niggled by some hammy awareness, stayed with the squad and worked through it.

Plenty of energy and noise from them.

The warm-ups, happened quickly, unlike previous seasons, they did most of it with ball handling and goal kicking after moving through the mannequins, after that they had some easy runs across the field, then some ×2 hard sprints, down the middle.

First up was two sets of handball games. The competitive nature was high, with each team getting around each other, cheering when a turn-over occurred or some class created the goal.

Into two groups, smalls and talls, they created one on one's off a high ball, with multiple efforts off a ground ball from the receiving trainer. Great to watch their effort and nous.

Next they did some sims from mid-boundary stoppage. Rivers, the mid receiving the tap from Gawny.

The last drill was groups of 5 on 3 (defenders), as the attackers carried the ball from back pocket, through mid to forward area. There was an emphasis of the attacking runners moving together as a swarm.

Finally, some full field sims, most of it was working within that congested style, with the emphasis being defensive zoning, causing turnover and going quickly into the transition. Finding a corridor was difficult, they used the boundary out of the backline.

Sestan doing much of the delivery from his backline area.

Johnson, having discussions wth Goody.

My impression is that they are encouraging them to compete, team run and congest.

Finished with some goal kicking for the mids and forwards as the backs kick to kick.

Again, such a difference a couple of wins make. Lots of energy and they appear happy and enjoying each other's company.

Edited by Kev

19 minutes ago, Greg Schneider said:

Was Kozzy there today ?

Yes, kossie looking quick.

Also got a hit to his nose in the one on one drill. Blood nose, got the stuffing into it, the discomfort continued to annoy him through the session.

Edited by Kev

13 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

2 hours ago, Redleg said:

I agree, he has a football brain, hard in the contest. What he needs is good development by the club, and that's the bit that is letting JVR, Turner and Luker down. You could also include Jefferson in that.

This year the only improved players seem to be Bowey and Chandler.

Too many seem to have regressed.

If I am correct and you all know I am rarely wrong on footy issues, 😀, then we have a problem.

We need to ask the question if our development of players is up to scratch as it certainly appears it isn’t.

An in depth analysis of the lost opportunity on the possible 2024 trade of Oliver to Geelong by Jake Niall has just been dropped by the Age

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/the-multimillion-dollar-decision-how-demons-missed-the-boat-on-oliver-20250501-p5lvrx.html

Co-incidence or did they want Oliver to avoid the media.

The article is mainly about dollars and doesn't really contain much we have not always known

One source close to the discussions reckoned 75 per cent was where it might have landed, not counting Oliver’s potential pay cut. Geelong’s position was that they would stump up a certain amount – let’s say $850,000 – and it would be left to the Demons, Clayton and his management, to work out the remains (how much he gave up, how much money Melbourne picked up).

If so, the Demons could have saved close to a million dollars per year, with the caveat that they would not gain much draft-wise.

seems Clarry is definitely not playing this week

7 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

seems Clarry is definitely not playing this week

I hope that he is OK.👍💕