Not exactly under the Bevo thread, but we should go after horse as hard as possible if we're making a change.

If he plays 12+ games a year at the G, he'll win a flag.

4 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

yes, amazingly, the top tier players get treated very differently

that's the case at every footy club

if someone like jvr was behaving like jamara, i would expect he would be treated very differently to how oliver was treated too

Sure but you still need to draw a line somewhere even for the greats. The main issue is that we basically gave Oliver the 'shape up or ship out speech' and he threw it back in our face over the pre-season and we still had him back in the side for the first game of the season. Every other player on the list who is doing the right thing is seeing that and thinking 'why bother?'

Edited by KozzyCan

2 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Sure but you still need to draw a line somewhere even for the greats. The main issue is that we basically gave Oliver the 'shape up or ship out speech' and he threw it back in our face over the pre-season and we still had him back in the side for the first game of the season. Every other player on the list who is doing the right thing is seeing that and thinking 'why bother?'

didn't hurt us at all in the first half of the season when we completed the 'business trip' to adelaide and then beat a then-undefeated cats in a thriller at the g

what happened after that? boy oh boy wowee did the wheels fall off

clayton's second efforts thus far this season have been better than trac's for mine

2 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

didn't hurt us at all in the first half of the season when we completed the 'business trip' to adelaide and then beat a then-undefeated cats in a thriller at the g

what happened after that? boy oh boy wowee did the wheels fall off

clayton's second efforts thus far this season have been better than trac's for mine

Oliver was okay for about a month until he hurt his hand and he was awful for the rest of the year. Should have put him in for surgery but I reckon the club was afraid he would go off the rails again. Pretty poor situation for us to find ourselves in.

Big picture, I think we've managed the egos of our stars horribly since the flag and it's coming back to bite us in a very big way. We tried to sweep things under the rug to keep the premiership side together rather than making some tough decisions and now it's all catching up with us.

I have a few Doggies mates (still, after the GF haha) and I dunno fam, they are not happy with him.

Their gripes sound a lot like ours - weird selections, guys out of position (!!! this has to sound familiar, no?!!), stubborn.

Yeah, he's a little more animated and gives better pressers, and a little 'harder', but the Doggies output (no top 4) in recent years does not give me much confidence. This can't be all we're looking for, right? RIGHT?

This is all very speculative knee-jerk stuff, which should be relegated to passing thought only.

Not gonna happen, nor should it.

We don't need a premiership coach to be great (again) (sorry). It's been said before, but look at Fly and Kingsley. Look at Scott before joining the Cats. Say what you want about the Cats, but they have remained relevant and fiercely competitive for a long time. Yeah, Chris inherited a great list, but that was many, many moons ago. Still going. We could not sustain momentum and competitiveness a mere 2-3 years after a flag!!! We want that sort of commitment.

Anyway, I digress. Point is, if Goody were to go (and he won't, unless we're 0-15. Maybe), we need to think more broadly about who we want to take our list forward and build the sort of enduring culture of success that the Cats have (I know, sorry). But it's true.

Edited by Red But Mostly Blue

15 hours ago, Foopy on the telly said:

You go out and get the best, no matter what their background

Yes. I don't care if we appoint all Collingwood people. If we win the premiership, no one will care

15 hours ago, DubDee said:

He Missed finals after winning a flag

The ‘Is Bevo the right guy’ thread would have been immense if he did that with us

15 hours ago, wheaters31 said:

29th July, 2013, Peter Jackson appeared on "On the Couch".

Interview is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bu0NIDU-aC0

Jackson was one of, if not the best appointment the club has had this century.

He stated on the program, that at times "the club's gone back to too many people who have got red and blue...I think sometimes we don't have a propensity in this club to bring in the best from outside".

He then spruiked the culture and winning environments at clubs like Sydney and Geelong.

After that interview he went on to appoint a number of people within the football department from those cultures. Paul Roos, George Stone, Ben Mathews, Brett Allison, Brendan McCartney, Matthew Egan and Shannon Byrnes. Industry best appointments.

My worry is that we are now moving away from appointing the best, and reverting to this propensity of former MFC people.

Brad Green - President

Nathan Jones - Midfield coach

Mark Jamar - Ruck coach

Alastair Nicholson - rumoured as next CEO

Steven Smith - rumoured as next President

Luke Beveridge - rumoured as possible next coach

These people may very well be the best options, and that it's just a coincidence that they have had a MFC involvement before,I don't know from afar. But I just hope we are not reverting back to what we were before Jackson. To be a high quality and successful club, you need the best people in the industry, and I hope we are going after them regardless of whether they have red and blue in them or not.

Nicholson would be a great choice for CEO tbf.

2 hours ago, MrFreeze said:

I do feel like Bevo could suit for head coach. At the same time, he regularly

• Has massive selection blunders

• Failed to capitalize post premiership success

• Major culture and standard issues

Would much prefer we go for another assistant coach like Enright

I like the idea of Enright. Played and coached in the most stable and consistent era of possibly any club in history. Coached under Scott and is now under Ross Lion.

The guy has been surrounded by success for decades so knows what it looks like. Doesn’t necessarily mean he’ll be an unbelievable coach, but you’d think he would have a good insight into what standards are required for stability and consistency.

I feel like Bevo is a coach of extremes. His strengths are very strong and his weaknesses are very weak. But ultimately, I don’t look at his record and think ‘get him immediately’.

Feel like either he takes us to a grand final in 2 years or he completely blows up the team and we spend the next decade rebuilding 50/50. At this stage I’d take the gamble.

Edited by Garbo

14 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Bevo is just a more charismatic version of Goodwin. He's a people leader but he's not a strategist. Bevo, like Goodwin , heavily relies on the brains (assistants) behind the game plan. McRae is the same. Personally I think we should go with Longmire. Before last year's Grand final he was in clear 2nd place as the best coach around. He's made 5 grand finals and one of the best win/loss ratio in the modern game.

I'm genuinely baffled why some aren't considering him. I'd take 5 grand finals over a 13 year period any day.

So which assistant at the Dogs has them playing good footy at the moment? They were robbed by the umpires from beating the Pies and whilst ultimately choked against the Lions found themselves 30 + points up early in the third. The Dogs are currently without Bont, Treloar, Weightman and JUH, many on here were citing the poor start to our season was due to the absence of Windsor, McVee and Pickett. This assistant has lesser names players playing unified and a modern gameplan.

I’d say that any potential player or coach would be insane to look at us until our new off field set up is (a) highly credentialed and (b) settled in place.

I have no inside knowledge but it now appears that the Pert/Roffey era has been quite damaging for the club. Did they ride the coattails of our fantastic premiership without using the opportunity to propel the club forward? I don’t know - but the noises and whispers of the past 2 or 3 years, coupled with on field stagnation in the same period would possibly suggest this.

I wonder if too much was based on the assumption that Gawn, Brayshaw , Oliver and Petracca would automatically and effortlessly bring an era of greatness? Instead, I think the untimely loss of Angus has brought the whole house of cards down and exposed a lot of rot behind the facade.

28 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

So which assistant at the Dogs has them playing good footy at the moment? They were robbed by the umpires from beating the Pies and whilst ultimately choked against the Lions found themselves 30 + points up early in the third. The Dogs are currently without Bont, Treloar, Weightman and JUH, many on here were citing the poor start to our season was due to the absence of Windsor, McVee and Pickett. This assistant has lesser names players playing unified and a modern gameplan.

Brendan Lade is their midfield and most experienced assistant coach. He's highly regarded and often been sounded out for a main coaching position.

I'm not saying go get him, but since he's joined, the Dogs have re-captured their midfield brilliance.

Edited by At the break of Gawn

It’s a NO for me although I don’t mind Bevo from a distance, I’d like to keep him that way. If Simon can’t get the team functioning as we expect him to be able to it will be sad state of affairs. However as previously mentioned we need to get our ducks in a row, we need to appoint an experienced intelligent CEO that has a strong character and excellent people management skills. Then if we do go down that path we should be searching for the best available asst coach out there that has proven specialist and team management skills, we know they are out there just need to identify them and sell the vision.

1 - Simon get the team back on track ASAP

2 - Strap on a parachute.

13 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Brendan Lade is their midfield and most experienced assistant coach. He's highly regarded and often been sounded out for a main coaching position.

I'm not saying go get him, but since he's joined, the Dogs have re-captured their midfield brilliance.

Could we find a role for Cale Morton somewhere? Perhaps 'Running Coach'?

1 hour ago, Fritta and Turner said:

No matter who it is we will need a much better list.

Different not necessarily better

That would be good too

2 hours ago, In Harmes Way said:

Not exactly under the Bevo thread, but we should go after horse as hard as possible if we're making a change.

If he plays 12+ games a year at the G, he'll win a flag.

Does Horse want to Coach again?

After last year’s GF he looked completely done and dusted

We need a Coach who is fully 100% committed

My favourite candidate (gut feel), if he were to ever consider coaching which he apparently isn't, is Hodge.

Yes i realise he hasn't done the apprentice of say Mitchel but of all the players to have recently left the game i feel he is as switched on and knowledgeable as anyone.

He is also tough as old boots both as a player and in his view of what's required to compete and win at this level.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

1 hour ago, DeeZone said:

It’s a NO for me although I don’t mind Bevo from a distance, I’d like to keep him that way. If Simon can’t get the team functioning as we expect him to be able to it will be sad state of affairs. However as previously mentioned we need to get our ducks in a row, we need to appoint an experienced intelligent CEO that has a strong character and excellent people management skills. Then if we do go down that path we should be searching for the best available asst coach out there that has proven specialist and team management skills, we know they are out there just need to identify them and sell the vision.

1 - Simon get the team back on track ASAP

2 - Strap on a parachute.

According to Chris from Camberwell.... there will be no CEO appointed until Smith is appointed as President. Which i think he said won't happen till end of this year...

Take it to the bank

2 hours ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

I have a few Doggies mates (still, after the GF haha) and I dunno fam, they are not happy with him.

Their gripes sound a lot like ours - weird selections, guys out of position (!!! this has to sound familiar, no?!!), stubborn.

Yeah, he's a little more animated and gives better pressers, and a little 'harder', but the Doggies output (no top 4) in recent years does not give me much confidence. This can't be all we're looking for, right? RIGHT?

This is all very speculative knee-jerk stuff, which should be relegated to passing thought only.

Not gonna happen, nor should it.

We don't need a premiership coach to be great (again) (sorry). It's been said before, but look at Fly and Kingsley. Look at Scott before joining the Cats. Say what you want about the Cats, but they have remained relevant and fiercely competitive for a long time. Yeah, Chris inherited a great list, but that was many, many moons ago. Still going. We could not sustain momentum and competitiveness a mere 2-3 years after a flag!!! We want that sort of commitment.

Anyway, I digress. Point is, if Goody were to go (and he won't, unless we're 0-15. Maybe), we need to think more broadly about who we want to take our list forward and build the sort of enduring culture of success that the Cats have (I know, sorry). But it's true.

There is some truth with the stubborn side for sure.

Great example is Noughton. Imagine the reaction here to him getting constantly selected by Simon.

2 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

To what are you referring?

4 hours ago, Dr Don Duffy said:

Correct on all counts. This century we’ve been clubhouse leaders in having non-supporters on the board, or at least very recent adherents to the cause. And that includes presidents. Stuff on the public record would suggest that there is more than one on the current board who saw their first Melbourne AFL game as a supporter after they were appointed to the board, or thereabouts.

You don’t want linament sniffers on the board, but if they are strong supporters at least you know they care in making decisions on the direction of the club. 

Unlike with other businesses directors can’t be shareholders of MFC, so they can’t align their interests with outcomes by having shares. However you would like their interests to be aligned with the future of the club by at least having the emotional investment as a red and blue lover.

I used to LUUURVE The smell of linament and the trainers used to put gallons on me each time I played.GREAT STUFF!

18 hours ago, The end is nigh said:

Don’t mind it. Very different coaching style; has a hard edge about him and can back foot the media if they come at us. Feel like when one of our players gets poked in the eye from a fend off which isn’t called high, bevo would work it into the press conference post match.

My thoughts exactly.

Not my absolute first choice if we did get a new coach but if we're looking for a shake up and a new approach then this would be it. Bevo is a matchday coach and not afraid to swing the changes if things aren't working.

In 2023 I was lucky enough to attend a Bulldogs inner sanctum event at Marvel with Bevo and Bont. His journey to senior coach was quite different to a lot of others, after his playing career and first assistant gig at Collingwood he actually went and worked for a Governement Financial intelligence agency and gained good people management skills in business before coming back to work under Clarko at Hawthorn. He's extremely well read, believes in constant personal development for everyone and a really good listener. The kind of listener that makes you feel important no matter who you are.

Plenty of respect.

I think Bevo's generally not an all-time coach by any means but for our list and coming off a robot like Goodwin he could actually be quite a good fit.