Demonland 74,417 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 After an agonizingly long off-season the 2025 AFL Premiership Season is almost upon us and the Demons have their first practice hit out against the Kangaroos in a match simulation out at Arden Street. The Demons will take on the Kangaroos in match simulation play, starting from 10am AEDT and broadcast live on Foxtel and Kayo. The play start time was brought forward from the initial 11am bounce, due to the high temperatures forecast. The match sim will consist of four 25-minute quarters, plus game-specific simulations at the end of the second and fourth quarters. Following the match, the Casey Demons will face North Melbourne in a VFL practice match at 1pm. Please note there is limited shade, seating and amenities at Arden Street Oval, so please prepare accordingly. TRANSPORT Public transport is advised with North Melbourne Station, Macaulay Station and the 57 Tram all walking distance to the club Very limited street parking is available around the oval, however secure paid parking is available at Arden Gardens, 250m from the ground AMENITIES AND WHAT TO BRING Arden Street has limited seating so feel free to bring picnic blankets and portable chairs for your comfort Food trucks, coffee and ice cream will be available on site as well as water taps. Fans are encouraged to BYO food and water bottles Limited shade is available, so with high temperatures expected please wear sun smart clothes and hats, and apply sunscreen Match simulation Sat, Feb 22 North Melbourne v Melbourne at Arden Street Oval, 10am AEDT 2025 AAMI Community Series Sun Mar 2 Fremantle v Melbourne, Rushton Oval, Mandurah, 3.10pm AWST (6.10pm AEDT) 1 Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 10am Saturday?! At least North Melbourne is not far from the CBD, so us fans (and players) can go straight their from the clubs 1 Quote
Nietaphart 89 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 I’m hoping we come away with the 4 points. 🤞 1 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,447 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 WELCOME BACK GAMEDAY THREAD! I’ve missed you 🥹 ‘Til the first bounce that is, then you’re dead to me. 😅 ❤️💙 7 5 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,365 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 THE TEAMS MELBOURNE 2. Jacob Van Rooyen 8. Jake Lever 10. Daniel Turner 13. Clayton Oliver 14. Jack Billings 16. Bailey Laurie 17. Jake Bowey 19. Harvey Langford 20. Xavier Lindsay 21. Matthew Jefferson 22. Blake Howes 24. Trent Rivers 25. Tom McDonald 26. Jed Adams 27. Marty Hore 28. Will Verrall 29. Tom Campbell 30. Harry Sharp 32. Tom Sparrow 33. Tom Fullarton 35. Harrison Petty 36. Kysaiah Pickett 37. Kade Chandler 38. Oliver Sestan 39. Ricky Mentha Jnr 40. Taj Woewodin 41. Kynan Brown 42. Aidan Johnson 45. Andy Moniz-Wakefield NORTH MELBOURNE 2. Finn O'Sullivan 3. Harry Sheezel 4. Aidan Corr 5. Caleb Daniel 8. Bailey Scott 9. Luke Davies-Uniacke 10. Colby McKercher 11. Luke McDonald 12. Jy Simpkin 13. Darcy Tucker 15. Dylan Stephens 19. Griffin Logue 20. Nick Larkey 22. Taylor Goad 24. Tom Powell 25. Paul Curtis 26. Luke Parker 28. Jack Darling 29. Will Phillips 30. Charlie Comben 32. Toby Pink 34. Jackson Archer 38. Tristan Xerri 39. Finnbar Maley 41. Jacob Konstanty 44. Cam Zurhaar 46. Robbie Hansen Jnr 1 Quote
The Jackson FIX 3,505 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 10am Saturday slot and then onto a 6pm Sunday slot vs. Freo. The prime time Dees of old are back! 4 1 1 Quote
640MD 3,568 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Gameday. You blooody beauty. score doesn’t matter much. As long as it’s not like 186. Hoping we see no injuries for either side . Blowout cobwebs and see some skills from our younger lot. north probably want to see more than we do, they have a bit of experience with Parker and Darling, 4 Quote
dpositive 1,838 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 im in Just want to see as many of the new players as possible. Hope they all get a run and we show some revised systems from the bomb it long we adopted. With different skill sets the Jefferson, JVR, Turner , Fullarton, Lindsay , Langford, etc will show what is possible in attack. I reckon the defence is settled with May, Lever, Petty Tmac forming the tall base with big base and Hore, AMW, Salo, Bowey who knows as the smalls. Plenty of depth to cover peaks and injuries rest and recovery. Even without Max today will be great. See what Verrall and TC can do. Looking forward to meeting other Dland tragics. GO DEES 3 Quote
Kent 2,920 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 1 hour ago, deejammin' said: Is there anywhere to watch this online? Fox 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,365 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Years ago, there were no interclub practice games or match simulations for that matter. They just played intraclub games with probables vs possibles contesting each other in a very friendly atmosphere. They never played such games in the month of February either, given that the season started in mid-April and training started around four or five weeks before then. Somewhere in the early 70s, they started playing practice matches against interstate clubs and other VFL clubs. I remember Peter “Crackers” Keenan playing in a game vs Port Adelaide. Nobody took the results seriously either because the good clubs rarely put their best team on the park. I recall Melbourne beating Carlton one year in a praccy match and, a few weeks later, playing them again in the opening round. We did cop a couple of injuries in the game from memory. Demon fans turned up to Princes Park chock full of confidence thinking we were a chance after their preseason triumph against the Blues and we were up by a couple of goals at quarter time. We were still ahead at half time, but just by a point or two but Carlton took control after the break and we only kicked one more goal for the game and ended up with getting thrashed by eight goals and they doubled our score. Moral of the story - don’t take practice matches too seriously and just hope for no injuries. 10 Quote
danielE288 781 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 I'm gonna go watch the first half or so, looking forward to seeying the new recruits for the first time, result means nothing but hopefully start off with a win. Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 30 minutes ago, dpositive said: I reckon the defence is settled with May, Lever, Petty Tmac forming the tall base with big base and Hore, AMW, Salo, Bowey who knows as the smalls. Plenty of depth to cover peaks and injuries rest and recovery. With no May playing in this match, it will be interesting to see what Maxy's breakout boy Jed Adams can do. Really hope he gets some good gametime and opptunitiy to get a taste at the higher level. Not sure what is keeping Maysie from playing in this game, but I'm assuming the fitness department are just keeping him on ice a bit to save him getting banged up before the season proper, which I'd support (noting he also played the indigenous all stars game a week or so ago). It's not like experienced campaigners like him, Maxy and Vines really need that much match practice to hit their straps. It's a pity that McVee pulled that hammy, because our defence was starting to look solid as a rock like with the line-up we will play down there this season. I'd love to see us find a player the equivalent of Hibbo, but I guess some guys are almost one of a kind and hard to replace. 2 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Obviously not playing for sheep stations as a team, but I always hope to see signs from those battling for a spot in the starting 22 that they have further developed and give us some good options to pick from. Particularly looking at a few favourites like Kynan Brown, Woey Jnr, AMW, AJ and perhaps Sharp. If Jefferson does walk away with a bag, that could certainly make forwardline selection very interesting. Will also be good to see all of JvR, Jefferson, Disco and AJ all working in the same forward line in various combinations at times perhaps. Quote
Neil Crompton 5,849 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 I hope every one of our “possible” players have blinders today to make our selectors job for round 1 as difficult as possible. Really looking forward to seeing them perform. 4 Quote
picket fence 18,175 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Got some BIG salmon yesteday, rode some HUGE waves but come 10.00 am on Foxtell, I will be seriously engaged! 2 1 Quote
Rab D Nesbitt 8,952 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Got a nice shady spot under a tree in the outer. It’s a gorgeous morning to watch the footy but a hot one if you’re playing. 3 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,540 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 40 minutes ago, adonski said: Jefferson BAG WATCH Panic stations if he hasn’t kicked 3 snags by quarter time? 1 Quote
Robbie02 117 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 10 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said: Got a nice shady spot under a tree in the outer. It’s a gorgeous morning to watch the footy but a hot one if you’re playing. Jealous that you are there Rab D. Can you post a photo? Think I have only been to Arden St once or twice and that was back in the early 80’s Quote
Deeoldfart 8,201 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 (edited) As much as I value the outstanding reports from our track watchers, there’s nothing quite like watching footy through your own eyes. I’m excited at the prospect! The scoreboard will be irrelevant, but I’m hoping to get an early glimpse of what season ‘25 might look like for our Dees, both in terms of game style, and what our best team might look like. Edited February 21 by Deeoldfart Typo 6 Quote
binman 44,814 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 1 hour ago, adonski said: Jefferson BAG WATCH It's been stolen? 3 Quote