Posted

These were the top-ten highest paid players for 2024 according to Zero Hanger.     

What it shows us is how badly affected the Demons were by injury this year with  Christian Petracca missing the last half of the season and Clayton Oliver coming off a limited pre season and carrying multiple injuries throughout the year. 

IMG_7709.thumb.jpeg.51fcf5d07166e2296aed79dff2a5d583.jpeg

22 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Lynch is the outlier....

Between him and Dustin Martin Richmond certainly sold the farm

Maybe, but they snagged 2&3 flags respectively with them in their team

30 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Lynch is the outlier....

Between him and Dustin Martin Richmond certainly sold the farm

I believe it's an Australian invention called afterpay, slightly more ethical than the Cash Converters that Collingwood supporters fence stuff in, in Smith St 1CL to pay their membership subs.

46 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Lynch's contract obviously started low and got higher - what do they call it? Backloading?

Did we do the opposite with Oliver and Petracca?

Do we even know whether (1) these payments are accurate? and (2) whether it's the actual amount paid in 2024 or just an annualised average of their estimated (or actual) lifetime contract?

8 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Do we even know whether (1) these payments are accurate? and (2) whether it's the actual amount paid in 2024 or just an annualised average of their estimated (or actual) lifetime contract?

I suspect they are actual. It has been reported that Clarry's pay will peak at $1.7m

Clubs manage total cap spending by front and back loading all the time.

12 hours ago, Chook said:

Bontempelli criminally underpaid.

I would not complain if Bont was no.1

33 minutes ago, BW511 said:

Lynch, McKay, Martin, Bolton all took the [censored] in ‘24

I wouldn’t be complaining if that Oliver / Petracca in 2027 after delivery back to back flags in 2025/26.

43 minutes ago, BW511 said:

Lynch, McKay, Martin, Bolton all took the [censored] in ‘24

It’s not untrue, but if it is true you have to acknowledge the same about Oliver.

4 hours ago, Roger Mellie said:

Ben Mackay

Spitting Out Coffee GIFs | Tenor

That works out at about $10000 per possession!! 

The McKay contract was a massive front loaded sham cooked up with AFL blessing to give North pick 3 in the 2023 draft.

Over the whole contract it averages out to about half the $1.4m.

Lynch's contract expires next year giving Rich $4.0m in additional sal cap over 2025/2026 and beyond.  If he plays on he would be on minimal $ having played only four games in each of 2023/204 and will be an injury prone 33 yo.

With the escalating TPP their kitty will be even larger.  Reckon they'll go hunting for FA's in the next few years.

They will come out of their downturn in a few years in great shape.  Lots of top end draft picks, sal cap space and FA's, thereby escaping the threat to list management posed by Tassie.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

2 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

It’s not untrue, but if it is true you have to acknowledge the same about Oliver.

Absolutely, although I’d happily argue Oliver’s output was above that lot - even though significantly below his absolute best.

5 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Lynch's contract expires next year giving Rich $4.0m in additional sal cap over 2025/2026 and beyond.  If he plays on he would be on minimal $ having played only four games in each of 2023/204 and will be an injury prone 33 yo.

With the escalating TPP their kitty will be even larger.  Reckon they'll go hunting for FA's in the next few years.

They will come out of their downturn in a few years in great shape.  Lots of top end draft picks, sal cap space and FA's, thereby escaping the threat to list management posed by Tassie.

Great call luci.

A lot has to go right of course, but I can't recall a team getting a bigger, better haul of top end draft picks - remarkably they have also managed to get the roos' first pick next season which is likely to be minimum top 10.

With salary cap space to bring in a couple of senior guns they are def in a good position to fast track a rise up the ladder.

8 minutes ago, binman said:

Great call luci.

A lot has to go right of course, but I can't recall a team getting a bigger, better haul of top end draft picks - remarkably they have also managed to get the roos' first pick next season which is likely to be minimum top 10.

With salary cap space to bring in a couple of senior guns they are def in a good position to fast track a rise up the ladder.

They'll be in the best position of Vic clubs to get Reid at the end of 2026:   More than most to offer WCE.   Tick all the boxes of Big MCG clubs for Harley.  Massive TPP space to offer him mega millions. 

He can grow with their recent top picks as ours from 2013 to 2015 did.  Add a few mature key players like we did and they will be contending before the end of this decade.

On 15/12/2024 at 21:52, rpfc said:

Ben McKay…

Season 2 What GIF by Curb Your Enthusiasm

I'd also say that Bolten, Kelly and Grundy grossly overpaid for their respective contributions.  Grundy somewhat at the expense of Collingwood I hope/assume.

Also says to me, how fortunate we are having Max as someone who could have demanded top dollar, but accepted a more modest salary for the benifit of team success.  His consistent output justifies a bigger pay day than so many others on that list.

Yes, we have been blessed with Max the last 7 years. Simply club changing contribution.

I only single out Ben M because at least with the others you can argue about some form of past contribution demanding that investment. Can’t say that for McKay.

It's worth reminding ourselves that none of these players (or their managers on their behalf) held a gun to the head of their respective club's list managers. That the players are getting the pay rates that they are is a decision of the club that contracts with them. Some clubs just happen to make better decisions than others.

is ZeroHanger a reliable source? Suspect its guestimation.

Some players ie McKay/Lynch are likely at peak year of front/backloading.

Edited by demoniac