Posted

Interesting article about a number of stadiums trying to uplift the quality of food served to the masses.

Is it a good thing?

I reckon the quality of the traditional four n twenty "rat's coffin" has dropped a lot over the years.

Let alone the taste of an overpriced plastic cup of foamy mid strength soap.

Just curious about people's thoughts and their eating habits, favourite places to eat before a game and routines.

I'm sceptical about most things the AFL does and like to support smaller places to eat outside the ground where possible before heading in.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/article/2024/jul/10/australia-stadiums-food-options-afl-nrl

Posted

The new bar on level 2 of the northern stand now sells bahn mi rolls for $16 to go with their bland alcohol choices. 

Posted

I can't eat anything at the footy exceot for some "hot" chips. Even my kids won't eat the pies, one some bought one at the last game we were at and lasted a couple of bites before binning it. Greasy, disgusting slop.

Posted
3 hours ago, Brownie said:

Interesting article about a number of stadiums trying to uplift the quality of food served to the masses.

Is it a good thing?

I reckon the quality of the traditional four n twenty "rat's coffin" has dropped a lot over the years.

Let alone the taste of an overpriced plastic cup of foamy mid strength soap.

Just curious about people's thoughts and their eating habits, favourite places to eat before a game and routines.

I'm sceptical about most things the AFL does and like to support smaller places to eat outside the ground where possible before heading in.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/article/2024/jul/10/australia-stadiums-food-options-afl-nrl

I don't go to the footy for a gourmet meal or a gourmet pie. I in fact look fwd to a pie at the footy.  A regular FnT 

Posted

It's a strange one; stadium food logistics doesn't seem to have been figured out. Some of the vendors seem barely better organised than a Hume Highway truck stop. Hmm, actually, that's not a surprise now I think of it because those truck stops are often catering for sudden rushes as a tour bus or intercity bus pulls in with 40 people who all need to drop a Maynard and have a snack before they get back on the bus.

Seems to me the key problem will always be that if you try to 'elevate' food you always get the penalty that slightly fewer people will want a particular item. The fewer potential customers per item becomes a serious problem when the potential buyers are trying to make a decision and complete a transaction in 5 minutes, and there is a lot of geographic segmentation of the 'marketplace', so to speak. I'll make the trip to Petersham for a Portugese tart on a saturday morning, but would I willingly miss the start of the second half because I'm circling the concourse of the MCG looking for a Portugese tart?

Anyway, I think we can all agree that the answer is gozleme.

• Haha 10

Posted

It’s a matter of risk versus reward. 
It looks and smells like things have improved, but I’m not going to risk sitting on the crapper for the next few days, just to find out. 
I can confirm that the chips have improved.

Posted

Always go for a footy Franks dog and hot chips. No issue so far and the price was not too bad, but I haven't been to the footy for more than 12 months.

Posted

AFL cheese platters are a disgrace.

• Haha 13
Posted

I took my loved one to the footy on Sunday. We took a thermos with tea etc, a thermos with soup, some cakes and didn't buy anything. I don't mind the cost of the food, it's the quality. You can either get great chips or shocking ones, so I just nearly always take my own food. If I have time I will buy sandwiches etc at Southern Cross or other healthy options at Woolworths there. 

Posted

It was my second game for the year making the 6 hour drive south with the wife and wee-one to sit in the MCC.

I thought I'd have a couple cheeky froths but was shocked at the $15.50 price tag for one plastic cup of Asahi.  So that was it for me.

Posted

Each to their own I guess but I enjoy buying my four n twenty pie and cappuccino in the Hasset Room? On the way to our seats, usually buy a water as well and that gets me through the day. Pies are of a regular standard, you can also purchase a reasonable meal there as well. When we win we always buy jam donuts to eat on the way back to the car.😁😁

Posted (edited)

I've been taking my own sandwiches/drinks/snacks etc into the 'G all season so far. At some point, you just have to ask yourself if it's worth lining up for 10 minutes just to spend $6 on a lukewarm pie.

The only exception are the jam donuts outside the G following a win!

Edited by Demon Jack
Posted
27 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

no truffled brie?

No Stilton

No Aged Cheddar

No Foie gras 

No pickled walnut

The list goes on.

Its like a Monty Python sketch.

• Haha 5

Posted
3 minutes ago, Biffen said:

No Stilton

No Aged Cheddar

No Foie gras 

No pickled walnut

The list goes on.

Its like a Monty Python sketch.

more like Kraft cheese slices and danish blue.

Posted
4 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

The new bar on level 2 of the northern stand now sells bahn mi rolls for $16 to go with their bland alcohol choices. 

And isn't the new Betty Cuthbert bar set up appalling. It's like a noisy cattle enclosure. Totally stuffed up a good bar by putting the TV commentators panel where the old bar was

Posted

Also a non-buyer at the ground. Not that hard to survive three hours without having to get something to eat or drink and I can always take something in with me if needed.

Last week we sat behind a couple who had two drinks each every quarter, plus food. In all, it would have cost them well over $200 on [censored] food and drinks in plastic cups.

Cost of living crisis though they reckon........ 

Posted

I catch a train in and make a stop at Springvale to buy a pork belly roll. Then back on the train to the G.

Love it when someone at half time asks me where did I buy that from.

Posted
1 hour ago, Little Goffy said:

It's a strange one; stadium food logistics doesn't seem to have been figured out. Some of the vendors seem barely better organised than a Hume Highway truck stop. Hmm, actually, that's not a surprise now I think of it because those truck stops are often catering for sudden rushes as a tour bus or intercity bus pulls in with 40 people who all need to drop a Maynard and have a snack before they get back on the bus.

Seems to me the key problem will always be that if you try to 'elevate' food you always get the penalty that slightly fewer people will want a particular item. The fewer potential customers per item becomes a serious problem when the potential buyers are trying to make a decision and complete a transaction in 5 minutes, and there is a lot of geographic segmentation of the 'marketplace', so to speak. I'll make the trip to Petersham for a Portugese tart on a saturday morning, but would I willingly miss the start of the second half because I'm circling the concourse of the MCG looking for a Portugese tart?

Anyway, I think we can all agree that the answer is gozleme.

Gold.

Posted
1 minute ago, Wodjathefirst said:

I catch a train in and make a stop at Springvale to buy a pork belly roll. Then back on the train to the G.

Love it when someone at half time asks me where did I buy that from.

Bun Bun?  That place is the best!

Not sure how the roll survives all the way from Springvale station to the MCG though. Mine wouldn't get far beyond Westall station 😁