Buzzy 992 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 2 goals 7 in a half of footy, how depressingly Melbourne. 3 1 Quote
DemonOX 8,857 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 2 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: I'm one eyed but the ANB over the line was obvious in my one eye It looked like the Brisbane player clipped his foot which caused him to trip. 2 1 Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 7 minutes ago, Sideshow Bob said: I counted 12 steps on Rivs goal kicking run - rough rough call that ultimately cost the gane Yeah, same on the reply, but he covers 20 in those steps... sadly. Quote
roy11 4,069 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 5 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: Yeah Petty 0.4 was horrible but he played his best game of the year plenty of strong marks and involvement. I'm not writing him off yet 5 Contested Marks, just flip him to the other end. 2 1 Quote
Dee*ceiving 1,738 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 2 minutes ago, Moonshadow said: For the love of God, put Petty back next week He's not a forward Petty actually hitting some form but I agree. He's a Backman. Play him back. Sadly we have no forwards. It's criminal that Harris goes to Fritsch. 1 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 1 minute ago, Grr-owl said: Always the same. Play slow = lose. Every time I see May hanging on to it in the goal square my heart sinks. Just sucks all the energy out of us. We are not batteries, we are human. Get the energy up and it gives you more energy, not less. We must be the dumbest team to never learn from it. Agree on the may kick ins. The centre square is always empty , wish someone would run into it and May kicked to them 1 Quote
At the break of Gawn 4,511 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 Feel like that was lost on fitness. In the game early we curtailed their uncontested game and we got them out the back a few times. As the game wore on we got more and more tired and couldn’t press up as much. I don’t think it was too much of saving the game, I just think we ran out of gas in the last qtr. Petty’s miss to put us up by 28pts ultimately changed the course of the game I feel. We would have been up 2 goals to 1 that qtr but instead he missed and they go bang bang. Petty’s marking was absolutely elite, but FFS you can’t be kicking 0.4. He needs to be working around the clock on his set shots. Overall, after seeing our contested game come back I think we beat West Coast and Essendon. We’re absolutely a finals chance if we can play like that each week. 12 1 Quote
DemonWA 3,941 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 18 minutes ago, BAMF said: I know this will fall on deaf ears right now, but that was a cracking game. Both teams had so many missed opportunities. We had so many young players, we were always going to fade late. Disappointed with the result but proud of the team. Lots to work on though and a few clear gaps still in the list. Vent away demonlanders! This. Bring on the Wet Toast next week Quote
dees189227 12,509 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 OK got home for the final quarter. Some tell neale bullen the state of origin was on Wednesday night. No need for a try over the boundary line. What a brain fade. I know he was probably tired but why in that final moment didn't max push himself further into the 50 & put himself in a position to mark it. Again 2 weeks in a row we are goaless. It just isn't good enough. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 Just now, DemonOX said: It looked like the Brisbane player clipped his foot which caused him to trip. It was a rugby try. Well done Nibbler 👍 1 1 Quote
Deelectable 1,043 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 Just now, Dave1711 said: We will win 2 more games and finish 12-13th Not the worst thing. Showed tonight what we can do at our best(Petracca plays we win). Get a pick in the top 10, get Petracca and Clarry back to their best but, most importantly, be very active in free agency and trade period. Josh Battle please. Add midfield depth and of course a support forward/ ruck. If that all occurs and Max and May can reproduce we will be right back amongst it in 2025. 2 Quote
The Stewster 220 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 the most infuriating part of tonight...Turner trying to take chest mark instead of on the hands, missed goals with instant rebound by Brisbane, May's non mark, Rivers non goal. Some really dumb football by AFL players that should do the basisc well. easy from the couch, I know, but FFS! 1 Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,449 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 7 minutes ago, DemonOX said: ANB was tripped over the line and they got that last goal from it. WTF. We don’t help ourselves though by not kicking a goal in the last AGAIN. Cmon he wasn’t tripped, he dived. Could see he had no options forward and didn’t want to turn it over, In hindsight if he wanted the boundary handball it of the Lions leg 1 2 Quote
Maldonboy38 6,435 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 (edited) 38 minutes ago, wizardinoz said: Surely Jeffo time. Petty must be dropped if he can’t kick. I have been saying for most of the year that Jefferson is not ready, but I am willing to concede we must give him a go. Petty has become a negative net result player. If he takes a contested mark he is either on the wing, or he can't kick goals. His goal kicking is becoming demoralising. Jefferson might at least produce a neutral net result. And Fritsch is a shadow of his former self. Opposition players are playing him close so he cannot run and leap at the ball so he is being physically dominated. Edited June 28, 2024 by Maldonboy38 2 Quote
titan_uranus 25,253 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 A lot of posts about the inaccuracy. Confident we would have lost on xScore too. Each of the fourth quarter misses was a shot that on average gets kicked less than 50% of the time. It’s still a problem, but in a game where our opponent was making the same sort of errors at the other end, I’m far more interested in our mindset, tactics and fitness. 5 Quote
1858 285 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 Petty 4.13 for the year now. After kicking 12.1 last year, wtf has happened? Technique gone? Mental? Both? Killed us tonight. As a team, 4 behinds in last two final quarters. What message are they getting at 3/4 time? 3 Quote
Kick_It_To_Pickett 3,293 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 5 minutes ago, Moonshadow said: And the dumb thing is he had 2 lose team mates in front of him had he attempted a bounce handball Which is ironic, because he is king of the unnecessary underground handball..this was the one time we needed it 1 Quote
dees189227 12,509 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 OK got home for the final quarter. Some tell neale bullen the state of origin was on Wednesday night. No need for a try over the boundary line. What a brain fade. I know he was probably tired but why in that final moment didn't max push himself further into the 50 & put himself in a position to mark it. Again 2 weeks in a row we are goaless. It just isn't good enough. Quote
Dee*ceiving 1,738 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 1 minute ago, Pennant St Dee said: Cmon he wasn’t tripped, he dived. Could see he had no options forward and didn’t want to turn it over, In hindsight if he wanted the boundary handball it of the Lions leg I reckon he over balanced but I don't blame the umpire for paying it. There were several others though that were complete BS Quote
The Stigga 1,097 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 (edited) 2 minutes ago, 1858 said: Petty 4.13 for the year now. After kicking 12.1 last year, wtf has happened? Technique gone? Mental? Both? Killed us tonight. As a team, 4 behinds in last two final quarters. What message are they getting at 3/4 time? He''s a premiership full back Edited June 28, 2024 by The Stigga Quote
DemonOX 8,857 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 (edited) 15 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said: Cmon he wasn’t tripped, he dived. Could see he had no options forward and didn’t want to turn it over, In hindsight if he wanted the boundary handball it of the Lions leg I thought when they did the slowmo on tv it showed his foot being touched by the Brisbane player which caused him to fall over even though he was heading in that direction. Edited June 28, 2024 by DemonOX Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 Just now, 1858 said: Petty 4.13 for the year now. After kicking 12.1 last year, wtf has happened? Technique gone? Mental? Both? Killed us tonight. As a team, 4 behinds in last two final quarters. What message are they getting at 3/4 time? 99% mental I'd say. He's got the yips and he knows it. Every set shot looks like a heavy burden for him currently. 3 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,532 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 3 minutes ago, Fork 'em said: Sick of Goodwin trying to save games with defence instead of winning 'em. Contest, defence. Hes not a fan of going out and winning it off our own boot, too busy worrying about what the opposition is doing (and taking far too long to decide what to do). It’s such a negative and uninspiring game plan. Go out and try and win the game, be proactive. 1 1 2 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted June 28, 2024 Posted June 28, 2024 2 minutes ago, titan_uranus said: A lot of posts about the inaccuracy. Confident we would have lost on xScore too. Each of the fourth quarter misses was a shot that on average gets kicked less than 50% of the time. It’s still a problem, but in a game where our opponent was making the same sort of errors at the other end, I’m far more interested in our mindset, tactics and fitness. Can the misses in the last quarter be simply down to fatigue? We were really run off our legs and couldn't lock it in 50 for long enough. Quote