Posted

Feel like we're due for a shock loss against a bottom team. Hawthorn always seems to come to play against us.

Teams like Carlton underperform. Hawthorn always performs exactly as you'd expect. They're getting Bruest back and their midfield is doing okay.

Should be at least a 7-8 goal win.

Posted

Thanks for the considered responses on Petty. Happy to be proved wrong at the moment I think we are below where we should be at both ends of the ground. If we get it right we will be very hard to beat.  

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 03:07, praha said:

Feel like we're due for a shock loss against a bottom team. Hawthorn always seems to come to play against us.

Teams like Carlton underperform. Hawthorn always performs exactly as you'd expect. They're getting Bruest back and their midfield is doing okay.

Should be at least a 7-8 goal win.

Expand  

From Big Footy 

There’s not much to be happy about forward of centre.

17th for inside 50’s
14th marks inside 50
17th shots on goal
18th goal efficiency from inside 50’s
18th goal accuracy
17th for contested marks

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 03:11, jnrmac said:

From Big Footy 

17th for inside 50’s
14th marks inside 50
17th shots on goal
18th goal accuracy
17th for contested marks

Expand  

That's Hawthorns stats right!?

Posted

I like Petty back.  I think Petty can be ok as a forward but ultimately is better as a key defender.  

Our success has been with Petty in defence over the past 2 years and he’s a key part of the defence.  

Last week we saw Lever having to man up more on Chol and our defence wasn’t as effective without Lever’s interception marking.   Other club want Lever to be static and defensive rather than come across to spoil or intercept.  Moving Petty forward helps other teams achieve this.  

Posted

There's another reason why Petty might be playing forward. Goodwin might be playing him there to make Brown and McDonald work harder to get their spots back. When there's little competition for spots, players might become a bit lazy; when they aren't guaranteed a place, they probably work on all aspects of their game better. 

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 00:20, jnrmac said:

Against Geelong he would probably play Stewart and against the Pies probably Mihocek.

Expand  

Petty wouldn't be playing on Mihocek unless we sent him to the backline.

You probably meant another "M" Collingwood defender.  Murphy or Moore perhaps?

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 03:19, spirit of norm smith said:

I like Petty back.  I think Petty can be ok as a forward but ultimately is better as a key defender.  

Our success has been with Petty in defence over the past 2 years and he’s a key part of the defence.  

Last week we saw Lever having to man up more on Chol and our defence wasn’t as effective without Lever’s interception marking.   Other club want Lever to be static and defensive rather than come across to spoil or intercept.  Moving Petty forward helps other teams achieve this.  

Expand  

Petty WAS a member of a Premiership defence, the line from which you win flags.

I understand why the MC have played him forward, but that's over now. Flriting with danger to continue what is really just an experiment based on a few minutes in hte dying stages of the Lions final last year.

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 05:06, Demon17 said:

I understand why the MC have played him forward, but that's over now. Flriting with danger to continue what is really just an experiment based on a few minutes in hte dying stages of the Lions final last year.

Expand  

Reckon this is all just some mud thrown at the wall to see if it sticks?

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 00:38, Sydee said:

Hmmm and how exactly have you landed on that assessment?

Expand  

Probably based on his historical body of work, which has shown he gets completely lost in the defensive zone and often gets caught on the wrong side of his opponent. Don't want to speak for TU, but there you go.

Posted (edited)
  On 11/05/2023 at 05:06, Demon17 said:

Expand  

Not sure about that I think there is more to it 

Our lack of talls in the F50 that can physically compete and bring the ball to ground remains an issue. It probably explains in part why we are so keen to make sure a 6 gamer doesn't get suspended for something that wasn't reportable. Its not like he has been kicking huge bags of goals - its the work he's been doing to compete hard which has kept him in the team.

Consider this

Schache - not great at physically competing in air or ground IMO 

BBB - see above

TMac - seems to be laboring with some sort of injury or just terribly out of form

Joel Smith - injured and only just now coming back and according to @titan_uranus is not smart enough to be a forward (sorry mate couldn't resist)

Fritta - not really a contested beast

JVR - will he play? - does compete well but he is a 6 game player and will struggle if gets defender #1 each week

Matt Jefferson - a long way off being ready

Given the above we have done pretty well to date - having Petty in the F50 has helped IMO not sure how things would have panned out if he had stayed back

Edited by Sydee
Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 03:50, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

There's another reason why Petty might be playing forward. Goodwin might be playing him there to make Brown and McDonald work harder to get their spots back. When there's little competition for spots, players might become a bit lazy; when they aren't guaranteed a place, they probably work on all aspects of their game better. 

Expand  

Perhaps, although I reckon it's more likely that Petty is just better at ground level than either of them.

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 05:23, Sydee said:

Not sure about that I think there is more to it 

Our lack of talls in the F50 that can physically compete and bring the ball to ground remains an issue. It probably explains in part why we are so keen to make sure a 6 gamer doesn't get suspended for something that wasn't reportable. Its not like he has been kicking huge bags of goals - its the work he's been doing to compete hard which has kept him in the team.

Consider this

Schache - no great at physically competing in air or ground IMO 

BBB - see above

TMac - seems to be laboring with some sort of injury or just terribly out of form

Joel Smith - injured and only just now coming back and according to @titan_uranus is not smart enough to be a forward (sorry mate couldn't resist)

Fritta - not really a contested beast

JVR - will he play? - does compete well but he is a 6 game player and will struggle if gets defender #1 each week

Matt Jefferson - a long way off being ready

Given the above we have done pretty well to date - having Petty in the F50 has helped IMO not sure how things would have panned out if he had stayed back

Expand  

Couldn’t get past the bit when you compared Brown and Schache…

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 05:43, rpfc said:

Couldn’t get past the bit when you compared Brown and Schache…

Expand  

short attention span 😃 ? or do you think one of them is strong in contested ball situations. 

btw not sure this contested ball stuff if legal anymore 

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 03:50, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Expand  

I observed he covers lots of terrain according to the tracker

its the lead up work to get kicks out of defence at the hbf and then getting back to be an option in offence

also his defensive pressure in the fwd line will be superior to what bb offers

finally Goody gives things a chance to succeed

being a fwd takes timing craft and connections with ball carriers and that might take a few more games to get to work

Posted

A dubious  statement I know, but I reckon I might get more satisfaction in getting JVR  off than a 30- 40 point win v the hawks. Theres probably a tipping point where that changes, maybe a win over 60 points? I hope the players dont feel like I do though! 

How the worm has turned since 2017 when we beat the top of the table hawks and it was THE best dee feeling I'd had for years. 

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 03:11, jnrmac said:

From Big Footy 

17th for inside 50’s
14th marks inside 50
17th shots on goal
18th goal accuracy
17th for contested marks

Expand  

Geez they’d wanna try harder. 14th for marks inside 50 is not good enough. Should be pushing for 17th/18th

Posted
  On 11/05/2023 at 06:16, Wells 11 said:

A dubious  statement I know, but I reckon I might get more satisfaction in getting JVR  off than a 30- 40 point win v the hawks. Theres probably a tipping point where that changes, maybe a win over 60 points? I hope the players dont feel like I do though! 

How the worm has turned since 2017 when we beat the top of the table hawks and it was THE best dee feeling I'd had for years. 

Expand  

Couldn't agree more!

Posted

Rooey had been selected 

image.jpeg

INS – Hibberd, Spargo
OUTS – Turner (omitted), Jordon (omitted), Harmes (Round 8 sub, omitted)

Posted

Bruest returns for Hawks, he’s always good for a few goals against us. Hibberd hopefully fresh for the big task. 
Mitchell Lewis will be a handful for our defenders - in saying that May should be up for his 200th and maybe the whole defensive group will be up for him! Dees by 39pts. #godees #freeVanRooyen