2 hours ago, Salems Lot said:

I wonder what they are saying over at Linda Crescent, Glenferrie....

They haven't  been there for decades SL.

Feel like we're due for a shock loss against a bottom team. Hawthorn always seems to come to play against us.

Teams like Carlton underperform. Hawthorn always performs exactly as you'd expect. They're getting Bruest back and their midfield is doing okay.

Should be at least a 7-8 goal win.

Thanks for the considered responses on Petty. Happy to be proved wrong at the moment I think we are below where we should be at both ends of the ground. If we get it right we will be very hard to beat.  

3 minutes ago, praha said:

Feel like we're due for a shock loss against a bottom team. Hawthorn always seems to come to play against us.

Teams like Carlton underperform. Hawthorn always performs exactly as you'd expect. They're getting Bruest back and their midfield is doing okay.

Should be at least a 7-8 goal win.

From Big Footy 

There’s not much to be happy about forward of centre.

17th for inside 50’s
14th marks inside 50
17th shots on goal
18th goal efficiency from inside 50’s
18th goal accuracy
17th for contested marks

6 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

From Big Footy 

17th for inside 50’s
14th marks inside 50
17th shots on goal
18th goal accuracy
17th for contested marks

That's Hawthorns stats right!?

I like Petty back.  I think Petty can be ok as a forward but ultimately is better as a key defender.  

Our success has been with Petty in defence over the past 2 years and he’s a key part of the defence.  

Last week we saw Lever having to man up more on Chol and our defence wasn’t as effective without Lever’s interception marking.   Other club want Lever to be static and defensive rather than come across to spoil or intercept.  Moving Petty forward helps other teams achieve this.  

48 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

knowing how the FD think.

Are you sleeping with one of them, you scamp?

There's another reason why Petty might be playing forward. Goodwin might be playing him there to make Brown and McDonald work harder to get their spots back. When there's little competition for spots, players might become a bit lazy; when they aren't guaranteed a place, they probably work on all aspects of their game better. 

4 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Against Geelong he would probably play Stewart and against the Pies probably Mihocek.

Petty wouldn't be playing on Mihocek unless we sent him to the backline.

You probably meant another "M" Collingwood defender.  Murphy or Moore perhaps?

1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

I like Petty back.  I think Petty can be ok as a forward but ultimately is better as a key defender.  

Our success has been with Petty in defence over the past 2 years and he’s a key part of the defence.  

Last week we saw Lever having to man up more on Chol and our defence wasn’t as effective without Lever’s interception marking.   Other club want Lever to be static and defensive rather than come across to spoil or intercept.  Moving Petty forward helps other teams achieve this.  

Petty WAS a member of a Premiership defence, the line from which you win flags.

I understand why the MC have played him forward, but that's over now. Flriting with danger to continue what is really just an experiment based on a few minutes in hte dying stages of the Lions final last year.

11 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

I understand why the MC have played him forward, but that's over now. Flriting with danger to continue what is really just an experiment based on a few minutes in hte dying stages of the Lions final last year.

Reckon this is all just some mud thrown at the wall to see if it sticks?

4 hours ago, Sydee said:

Hmmm and how exactly have you landed on that assessment?

Probably based on his historical body of work, which has shown he gets completely lost in the defensive zone and often gets caught on the wrong side of his opponent. Don't want to speak for TU, but there you go.

55 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

Not sure about that I think there is more to it 

Our lack of talls in the F50 that can physically compete and bring the ball to ground remains an issue. It probably explains in part why we are so keen to make sure a 6 gamer doesn't get suspended for something that wasn't reportable. Its not like he has been kicking huge bags of goals - its the work he's been doing to compete hard which has kept him in the team.

Consider this

Schache - not great at physically competing in air or ground IMO 

BBB - see above

TMac - seems to be laboring with some sort of injury or just terribly out of form

Joel Smith - injured and only just now coming back and according to @titan_uranus is not smart enough to be a forward (sorry mate couldn't resist)

Fritta - not really a contested beast

JVR - will he play? - does compete well but he is a 6 game player and will struggle if gets defender #1 each week

Matt Jefferson - a long way off being ready

Given the above we have done pretty well to date - having Petty in the F50 has helped IMO not sure how things would have panned out if he had stayed back

Edited by Sydee

1 hour ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

There's another reason why Petty might be playing forward. Goodwin might be playing him there to make Brown and McDonald work harder to get their spots back. When there's little competition for spots, players might become a bit lazy; when they aren't guaranteed a place, they probably work on all aspects of their game better. 

Perhaps, although I reckon it's more likely that Petty is just better at ground level than either of them.

17 minutes ago, Sydee said:

Not sure about that I think there is more to it 

Our lack of talls in the F50 that can physically compete and bring the ball to ground remains an issue. It probably explains in part why we are so keen to make sure a 6 gamer doesn't get suspended for something that wasn't reportable. Its not like he has been kicking huge bags of goals - its the work he's been doing to compete hard which has kept him in the team.

Consider this

Schache - no great at physically competing in air or ground IMO 

BBB - see above

TMac - seems to be laboring with some sort of injury or just terribly out of form

Joel Smith - injured and only just now coming back and according to @titan_uranus is not smart enough to be a forward (sorry mate couldn't resist)

Fritta - not really a contested beast

JVR - will he play? - does compete well but he is a 6 game player and will struggle if gets defender #1 each week

Matt Jefferson - a long way off being ready

Given the above we have done pretty well to date - having Petty in the F50 has helped IMO not sure how things would have panned out if he had stayed back

Couldn’t get past the bit when you compared Brown and Schache…

19 minutes ago, rpfc said:

Couldn’t get past the bit when you compared Brown and Schache…

short attention span 😃 ? or do you think one of them is strong in contested ball situations. 

btw not sure this contested ball stuff if legal anymore 

2 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I observed he covers lots of terrain according to the tracker

its the lead up work to get kicks out of defence at the hbf and then getting back to be an option in offence

also his defensive pressure in the fwd line will be superior to what bb offers

finally Goody gives things a chance to succeed

being a fwd takes timing craft and connections with ball carriers and that might take a few more games to get to work

A dubious  statement I know, but I reckon I might get more satisfaction in getting JVR  off than a 30- 40 point win v the hawks. Theres probably a tipping point where that changes, maybe a win over 60 points? I hope the players dont feel like I do though! 

How the worm has turned since 2017 when we beat the top of the table hawks and it was THE best dee feeling I'd had for years. 

3 hours ago, jnrmac said:

From Big Footy 

17th for inside 50’s
14th marks inside 50
17th shots on goal
18th goal accuracy
17th for contested marks

Geez they’d wanna try harder. 14th for marks inside 50 is not good enough. Should be pushing for 17th/18th

7 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

A dubious  statement I know, but I reckon I might get more satisfaction in getting JVR  off than a 30- 40 point win v the hawks. Theres probably a tipping point where that changes, maybe a win over 60 points? I hope the players dont feel like I do though! 

How the worm has turned since 2017 when we beat the top of the table hawks and it was THE best dee feeling I'd had for years. 

Couldn't agree more!

Bruest returns for Hawks, he’s always good for a few goals against us. Hibberd hopefully fresh for the big task. 
Mitchell Lewis will be a handful for our defenders - in saying that May should be up for his 200th and maybe the whole defensive group will be up for him! Dees by 39pts. #godees #freeVanRooyen