Posted
1 minute ago, DeeZee said:

Gee you’d think we were a bottom of the ladder side with that schedule.

We are top two and have been a consistent top 4 side for three years now, and all those bloody twilight games with not one Friday night game

Sunday 3.20pm is prime time TV and very family friendly.

Posted
47 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said:

They vote with their feet. Demonland is a very small subset of Melbourne supporters. 

When you said "us", I thought you were referring to Demonlanders. You are quite right that we're a small subset. However, I'm still not sure about your 99% claim. I suspect it's true that certain timeslots get bigger crowds, but can we be sure that's not because the better games are put into those timeslots?

Anyway, for what it's worth, if 99% of supporters like the 1.10pm Sunday slot, count me as being part of the 1%. It's my least preferred slot because it essentially means that the match ends up being the only thing I can do that day. (My preference is 3.20pm Sunday, but I recognise, as I said before, that as we all lead different lives, it won't be the preferred slot for everyone). 

Posted

I actually dislike Friday night games ..heaps of intoxicated people ..late to get home & usually dewy surfaces. Happy with the Sunday 3.20 slot which is a premium time now ..,

Posted
6 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

I actually dislike Friday night games ..heaps of intoxicated people ..late to get home & usually dewy surfaces. Happy with the Sunday 3.20 slot which is a premium time now ..,

I’m with you. As someone who works full time and lives more than an hour away from the MCG I hate Friday night games. It’s a pain to get to and I don’t end up getting home until midnight!

tired summer camp island GIF by Cartoon Network

Posted
13 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I’m with you. As someone who works full time and lives more than an hour away from the MCG I hate Friday night games. It’s a pain to get to and I don’t end up getting home until midnight!

tired summer camp island GIF by Cartoon Network

And Thursday nights are even worse given work the next day.

Posted
58 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

So with round 23 being a Sunday afternoon game, can I assume our round 24 game against Sydney will either be a Saturday night or a Sunday again? (I am away in Noosa so want to work out if I'll be able to watch it).

If Sydney's season has gone to the dogs by late July the game could even be Saturday afternoon or twilight and hidden on Foxtel.

Although it's more than likely it would be the Saturday night or Sunday afternoon slot given out finals seeding will probably rest on this game. 

But yes, you can rule out Friday night for the Swans V Dees game.

Brisbane V St Kilda, Essendon V Collingwood, Port V Richmond , Geelong V Bulldogs and even Carlton V GWS (just to see if Carlton can miss the 8 again at the last minute)  would all be vying for the prime time slots of Friday night, Saturday night, and Sunday 3:20pm.

Posted
47 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

+1 I've got 3 kids under 12 who play early Saturday morning sport so they don't even get to watch out the full game on tv  let alone go to the game

Posted

Ugh I hate the sunday games. I'll have to miss a couple as I work every second Sunday. Why can't we have  Saturday 1:45 games. 

Back to 1:10 sunday for the nth game. Dam I was hoping that would be on a Saturday afternoon. I'm going to Tassie and was hoping for the Saturday so I could go to Salamanca market in the morning then have the whole day sunday to explore. 

Posted (edited)
8 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

Channel 7 want better games in the Sunday 3.20pm slot, which is I think why Sat arvo is no longer premium.

I was gonna say, we have a lot of 3.20 games on a Sunday, what the hell is going on? This explains it then.

6 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I don't mind the Sunday 3:20.

However, for a team that's gone about 49-17-1 since the Port debacle in 2020, we're certainly not a prominent Friday night team during the home and away season, particularly in VIC.

We've definitely had a lot more night games though. Lots of Saturday night games and certainly an increase in Friday night games. But you're right about those Friday night games. They've mostly been interstate matches.

Posted

The Richmond v Dees game should’ve been prime time !! Instead of Essendon v swans on the Saturday night in round 20
That’s the one I’m shorty about everything else is ok…considering It’s probs more about who we play and where that has shafted us a bit

Posted

Pretty predictable fixturing in the end.

We deserve more prime time games but I honestly reckon the club will be happy with the Sunday/day games. I just feel our crowds are poor at night and better at day.

Sunday 3.20pm is becoming a marquee slot. It gets clean air (Saturday 1.45pm and 2.10pm overlap), it's on FTA, it's often the last game people think about of the weekend (the Sunday twilight game is often ignored).

Look at the Sunday 3.20pm games that don't feature us in that same period - Essendon v Adelaide, St Kilda v Carlton, St Kilda v Richmond. Games involving big and/or finals contending sides. It's not a timeslot reserved for random games or smaller clubs.

Collingwood has 5 Sunday games out of 6 in the Round 6-11 period.

Posted
23 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Pretty predictable fixturing in the end.

We deserve more prime time games but I honestly reckon the club will be happy with the Sunday/day games. I just feel our crowds are poor at night and better at day.

Sunday 3.20pm is becoming a marquee slot. It gets clean air (Saturday 1.45pm and 2.10pm overlap), it's on FTA, it's often the last game people think about of the weekend (the Sunday twilight game is often ignored).

Look at the Sunday 3.20pm games that don't feature us in that same period - Essendon v Adelaide, St Kilda v Carlton, St Kilda v Richmond. Games involving big and/or finals contending sides. It's not a timeslot reserved for random games or smaller clubs.

Collingwood has 5 Sunday games out of 6 in the Round 6-11 period.

I agree Titan…Dees fans seem to prefer the day/afternoon slots. The aging fan base don’t seem to come to our night fixtures. Although some seem unhappy, I reckon the AFL actually put research into it and know that we will do ok in those slots. We have had two absolute blockbusters this year, with the Anzac Eve and Kings Bday.

Posted

l thought the afl said they listened to the fans and there would be no more 7.50pm games, replaced with 7.20pm ones. Crowds are back so they don't care anymore, For young familes it makes a big difference. Very poor

Posted
10 hours ago, Nicko said:

The Richmond v Dees game should’ve been prime time !! Instead of Essendon v swans on the Saturday night in round 20
That’s the one I’m shorty about everything else is ok…considering It’s probs more about who we play and where that has shafted us a bit

Not possible. Bledisloe game is at the mcg on that Saturday night 

Posted
16 hours ago, BangBnagBang said:

Your missing that we have a bye in there.  Once again with the Monday game into a bye into a Thursday game the players pretty much miss out on having a break/weekend off compared to all the other teams.

No they don't they get the weekend in the middle if it is given by the Club. We may train on Sat but would be our choice I think. 

If you watch training times we always train light early in the week and if a 5/6 day break agsin we tailor our work load accordingly. 

Also not all shorter breaks are hard on the players.

Depends upon travel, and the hardness/ toughness of the previous game.

Posted
10 hours ago, Demonland said:

Why the love for Sydney?

IMG_6403.jpeg

Answer: A potential TV audience of 5 million in Sydney. The AFL needs to keep Sydney (the team) in the sight of Sydney (the people of the city), especially when both Sydney (the team) and GWS are having poor years.

Posted
18 hours ago, DeeZee said:

Gee you’d think we were a bottom of the ladder side with that schedule.

We are top two and have been a consistent top 4 side for three years now, and all those bloody twilight games with not one Friday night game

Its called lobbying and MFC doesnt appear to be very good at it. 

2024.... abandon the Alice Springs deal.  Too many interstate trips.

No more games at the Cattery. Wont happen unless either Haw / Rich'd are sent down there instead and thats unlikely.

Id be happy with getting just those two requests but really its only one because NT is our doing.

Posted
19 hours ago, FearTheBeard said:

Not possible. Bledisloe game is at the mcg on that Saturday night 

Ok that makes sense ….🤯