24 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Absolutely thrown to the wolves and Goodwin and his team need to explain the rationale for his inclusion on the weekend after minimal form and injury he is plucked from obscurity to play. Well it reeks of desperation because in the end, they have set him up for failure. If he is dropped as expected his confidence will be shot to the shizzen and I will be very angry. The ONLY salvation is if they have come to the conclusion that come whatever may, form or no form play him for weeks and see what he can do. If he plays this week I will be mildly surprised but expecting the knee [censored] reaction and he plays at Casey. Fritsch and Van Rooyen will somehow survive. As I suggested they have potentially set him up for failure!

Another ridiculous comment from you on Jefferson and inconsistent as expected with your views on other players

Thrown to the wolves, FFS itโ€™s called getting an opportunity. Some grab it some donโ€™t. Plucked from obscurity for Christ sake have a look at yourself. I know you badly want him to make it to fly your flag, but despite some glimpses in Rd 1 there are concerning signs of a real lack of intensity and fight

ย 
29 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Absolutely thrown to the wolves and Goodwin and his team need to explain the rationale for his inclusion on the weekend after minimal form and injury he is plucked from obscurity to play. Well it reeks of desperation because in the end, they have set him up for failure. If he is dropped as expected his confidence will be shot to the shizzen and I will be very angry. The ONLY salvation is if they have come to the conclusion that come whatever may, form or no form play him for weeks and see what he can do. If he plays this week I will be mildly surprised but expecting the knee [censored] reaction and he plays at Casey. Fritsch and Van Rooyen will somehow survive. As I suggested they have potentially set him up for failure!

Youโ€™ve been calling for him to get game time and when he does you still complain. The kid was all at sea yesterday. Looks like a 16 year who got bullied at school.

I heard Chris from Camberwell on the radio the other day, referring to Jefferson as a future star, has anyone ever seen Picket Fence and Chris in the same room (asking for a friend), the way they talk about footy seems familiar

2 hours ago, Greg Schneider said:

Jason Taylorโ€™s done some good things, drafting a key forward is not one of them

Turner could be anything from the mid season draft and Petty from the second round.

Otherwise, I'd agree.

Still early in his career, but MJ is not showing much to prove he is an AFL level talent.

JT not having much success in landing KPFโ€™s from the draft.

26 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

You are a hard man old dee. PF has the rose coloured glasses, yours are cack brown ๐Ÿฅธ๐Ÿ•ถ๏ธ๐Ÿ‘“

34 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Jeffo is still finding his way. 3rd year in for a skinny kid still developing with body as a KPF should be given more time. He may be a bust, he may turn out ok.

He does ok at VFL and will develop more. he was always going to take time.,

Ok! He is bog average in most matches at Casey. He just doesn't have it. Reminds me of The Weid. He just doesnt show any intent . Runs around achieving very little. Our future is elsewhere. As Jack would say stand still son the ball will eventually hit you.

On 15/08/2024 at 16:19, picket fence said:

BUMP THIS, but club which has the BEST CULTURE going around๐Ÿคฎย refuses to play a guy who actually HAS FORWARD form! OOOHH SHEEEIT i forgot.... we have Royce Hart playing at CHF!ย 

On 15/08/2024 at 16:37, picket fence said:

ONE CHANGE ONE LOUSY CHANGE BOWEY for Clarry, This really stinks, MFC for the following reasons

1 Royce Hart 6 goals in the season nuf said

2 Melksham..... been BOG HORRIBLE for 3 weeks but STILL GETS A MATES RATES GAME

3 Chandler ANY chance of a goalย 

Shhhhhhhhhheeez just pathetic season gone and not only dont they play Jeffo, but Brown Dog,Woey and Laurie dont get a chance to impress.Should have played all these young guys GOODWIN OUT is my call!ย 

On 27/01/2025 at 14:08, picket fence said:

Gee he looks very solid

On 02/02/2025 at 11:41, picket fence said:

Pencilled one M Jefferson for round 1 baring any mishaps!

On 02/02/2025 at 13:36, picket fence said:

I'm very optimistic based on what I saw last season and in the 5 or so sessions seen recently!

58 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Confused Joe Biden GIF by CBS News

Goodwinโ€™s fault for not playing him. Goodwinโ€™s fault for playing him.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

4 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Weid would be serviceable in our forward line this year.

At least he can take a contested mark unlike JVR and Jeffo.

Thats re-writing history if ever I have seen it

ย 
3 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

@dazzledavey36 not sure that the demonlanders were convinced with JTs selection back in the 2022 draft. Iโ€™m still giving Jeffo some time (I think he needs to go back to Casey for a block of games 6-7) before we give him another go. Your prediction of Jeffo being โ€œmore of a 3rd forward type in the mould of Jack Wattsโ€ is closer to the mark.

I think i was one of a few who were completely gobsmacked by this selection at the time. To me this simply wasn't a standard JT style pick.

He lacked the complete physical and intensity aspect of what you need as a key forward. You can get away with it at school footy level which he did, but it simply doesn't translate to AFL level.

I know we needed a key forward at the time but I had preferred we just went best available instead of reaching for Jefferson who was very underwhelming for my liking. He has zero physical presence, no intensity, no defensive efforts and has the urgency of a snail.

In saying that I was also a staunch supporter of Jefferson at VFL level and have even been strong on my argument that he just needed time over the lasy couple of years. This year I was hoping for a huge jump in his development but I've seen nothing to suggest otherwise

Look at Logan Morris last year in his first year last year. Played all of last year as a 18 year old and kicked 24 goals in his debut year. He plays with intensity and urgency. Same as Nate Caddy.

Jefferson is in his 3rd year in the system and he looks no where near it.

Unfortunately I think JT has butchered this pick.

I like him, but I agree it was an odd pick for us. MJ was rated at that pick and had the form to be picked that high. He might have been told he was coming in to play the Melksham roll this week on Sicily and heโ€™d be out of the team next week for Melk. Ie no pressure on him, just play a roll.

I want him to succeed because we need him to. We need the key forwards and backs to work.

From watching him at Casey I always felt he was a third tall, not a true KPF. I think his upside is as a taller version of Fritsch.

But that is a really hard role to play when we already have Fritsch and Melksham effectively competing for that role, and we don't really have first or second talls in place either due to injury/form/etc.

Not hard enough, not good enough, not tough enough.

40 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Thats re-writing history if ever I have seen it

Not that you would have a clue.

3 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Youโ€™ve been calling for him to get game time and when he does you still complain. The kid was all at sea yesterday. Looks like a 16 year who got bullied at school.

So did Jack Watts and by the way your footy credentials??? Now be careful!!

2 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Are u stalking me Ethan, coz u know I could be JACK THE RIPPER!๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿคฏ or GROUCHO MARX!

4 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Jeffo is contracted until the end of 2026 and is 21 years old. Like some I'm not sure if he'll make it as a senior footballer but I wonder if we're conflating our urgent need for key forward with the speed of his development. It didn't happen for Max until he was 24 years of age.

4 hours ago, red and blue forever said:

He has played 3 games....

Give him a chance.

Thinking emoji ๐Ÿค” desperately needed, mods

its a bust. It is clear as day. The kid has not shown a glimpse or sparkle of anything. i.e. a strong contested mark, game awareness a tackle. Even in the magoo's he is not busting the doors down like JVR was in his 2nd season.

The kid has to fight for an AFL career, best thing for him is to be told it isnt happening this season... it'll take the pressure off and we will see whether he fights for a new contract or just stands idle as his footy career slips him by.

Time to focus on a JVR, Turner, Petty combination of forwards. Personally i think we can make it work with those three the moment we start to fix our forward connection and forward craft.

1. Insider Delivery

2. Running / leading patterns

3. structure ahead of the ball / game plan

None of the above requires a KPF superstar. Pies dont have one and they are on top; Brissy dont have one and they are top 4, Hawthorn have a 3rd stringger (Chol) and a veteran in GUnston and they make it work. Work on forward craft and forward connection and we will not need one either.

PS Hogan if you are reading this, please come back!

why is everyone giving sh-t to jt? without him we would be no where and maybe in tassie or cbr by now, he won us the flag. this is all on the player. he has put on no size at all in three years, look at players like thilthorpe who came into the league like a stick he is a brick wall now and probably the best key forward in the comp. if he doesnt want to put in the hard work in the gym its not on anyone but him

I want all Dee players to succeed, I hate wasting picks and hate the turmoil that these kids go through. I would be playing Matty Jefferson at Casey on the half forward flank until he builds the confidence to replicate it at AFL level, he needs a key forward mentor to teach him the tricks of the trade and hope that a Jeffo works his butte off in the gym and on the track.

With Rooey play him at CHF in the oneโ€™s and give him the freedom to get out on his own, use Disco or Petty to share the workload and use AJ off the bench for ruck duties, we need to bed these boys into the side and get a mentor for Rooey and Disco, whatโ€™s Shwarter or Neita doing in their spare time, we canโ€™t afford to waste this talent.

Hope Jefferson makes it, our track record of drafting and developing KPP forwards hasnโ€™t been great & canโ€™t remember our last power except for Neitz who retired in 08, watching Hogan today was frustrating as this what we need & even more so as he started with us! Is it our development or our list mgt just continue to miss the mark

9 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

get a mentor for Rooey and Disco, whatโ€™s Shwarter or Neita doing in their spare time, we canโ€™t afford to waste this talent.

Have we ever had mentors / off books specialist coaches ?

Sounds a great idea - and I am sure someone at the club has thought of it. Hell, the current acting president had great forward craft, even though not a KPF. Canโ€™t he have a quiet word with these guys??

4 hours ago, napster said:

Josh Weddle was also still available when we took Jeffo.

if you typed that on draft night it would be relevant. hindsight is always with 20/20 vision.

ย 
4 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

That happens, thats the game. Why the rage? I wonder what the poster / player relationship is? Surely no one gets that fumed by a regular 21 y.o kid who had had his chance but in all reality prob wont make it.

Edited by Wizard of Koz

54 minutes ago, jaydenh10 said:

why is everyone giving sh-t to jt? without him we would be no where and maybe in tassie or cbr by now, he won us the flag. this is all on the player. he has put on no size at all in three years, look at players like thilthorpe who came into the league like a stick he is a brick wall now and probably the best key forward in the comp. if he doesnt want to put in the hard work in the gym its not on anyone but him

I donโ€™t think anyone is giving [censored] to JT; rather, the criticism relates largely to his first round tall selections.

The Weideman pick is the ugly one; with McKay taken with the pick directly after and Curnow also on the board at that point (not to mention, Hipwood and Himmelberg were also taken after, though โ€˜berg was an academy product).

JVR; well the jury is still out on that one to a degree.

Jefferson didnโ€™t seem like a great pick at the time either, although he went in his expected range. Overall the 2022 draft crop is fairly poor outside the top 12 or so, but having Weddle taken three picks later doesnโ€™t look great now.

Personally, Iโ€™m not necessarily looking at the decision to take a certain type of player over a tall (i.e., Spargo at 29 in 2017 when TDK went at 30), but rather the individual selection of talls and the corresponding talent identification.

Edited by BLWNBA