Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 2 minutes ago, Roost it far said: Of course it could but he’s not played a big part this year. We have options. I remain confident. At no point have I said I am not confident But it would be delusional to suggest that losing Petty for perhaps the rest of the season, isn’t going to really hurt the one part of the ground that has been lacking for us. We also have no idea when or in what state Fritsch will return. 5 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,137 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 6 minutes ago, adonski said: Enter the wizard, Jeffo!! 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 10 minutes ago, Smokey said: Hugely disappointing but on the bright side we have our number 1 key forward locked in for the foreseeable future. He looked good again today before he went down. He's been injured a lot. It's a worry. 1 Quote
Floody100 193 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 I mean I’m no expert but judging Petty’s spirits after the game I highly doubt it’s a long term injury. 2 Quote
Smokey 4,391 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 2 minutes ago, leave it to deever said: He's been injured a lot. It's a worry. No point worrying about injuries, they are bound to happen 2 Quote
Jibroni 5,057 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 The problem with losing Petty was that he was forming a good partnership with JVR and the other forwards. As for replacements Smith seems the best option and playing Gawn/Grundy a kick behind the play. 2 Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 1 minute ago, Smokey said: No point worrying about injuries, they are bound to happen Your right. I feel sorry for the bloke. He's had a shocking run with them. And it wonderful form. Not sure who we replace him with. Grundy will probably get the nod. 2 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,678 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 4 minutes ago, Floody100 said: I mean I’m no expert but judging Petty’s spirits after the game I highly doubt it’s a long term injury. Goodwin’s already said it’s not short term. Petty is probably being a good team man, no point sooking and bringing down the mood for everyone else Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 15 minutes ago, adonski said: Enter the wizard, Jeffo!! No chance, he is not senior ready yet by a long way. Quote
Billy 2,575 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 That’s a blow, anyone who thinks that Brown, McDonald or Smith can replace him need to take their rose coloured glasses off 6 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 Clarry back next week and petrecca spends more time forward. 9 Quote
Mel Bourne 4,541 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 It’s a blow, but to all the wrist-slitters might I gently remind you that we beat Collingwood with not only Oliver out of the team, but Petty as well. 13 1 5 Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 5 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: Goodwin’s already said it’s not short term. Petty is probably being a good team man, no point sooking and bringing down the mood for everyone else You might do well to take a leaf out of his book. 1 2 1 6 2 1 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 all teams get injuries. Port are shorthanded at the moment and pies just lost Daicos. we'll adapt and win the flag anyways 13 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 Injured because of a terrible kick inside 50 that should've hit him on the chest 🤬 12 1 1 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 (edited) Said it in the post game thread. Post game Lever went up to Petty and appeared to check on him but had a very shocked look on his face from what Petty told him Edited August 6, 2023 by david_neitz_is_my_dad 1 2 Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 8 minutes ago, Billy said: That’s a blow, anyone who thinks that Brown, McDonald or Smith can replace him need to take their rose coloured glasses off I think we will see Grundy back. Maybe he will surprise us all. 3 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 Sounds like a Lisfranc which is what he had before coming back 1 1 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 25 minutes ago, titan_uranus said: I’m taking solace from when Ross Lyon said Max King was done for the year a month ago yet he’s back playing today. But it does seem Petty’s going to struggle to get back soon. Yes please, I'm going to hang onto this as well. 1 Quote
Colm 2,204 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 God damn it. I was behind the goals today and had a great view of Pettys goal just after half time not long before he went off. It was a fantastic goal for lots of reasons- the ball looked like coming in just before hand and I watched him take his defender and then put body on Melksham defender to free up space for Melksham. When the ball wasn’t delivered he faked a lead and then led into space and took a great make before kicking a tough kick. Awesome goal. I turned to my partner and said if he plays like that for rest of season we win the flag. Two mins later I watched him hobble off ☹️ 2 10 Quote
mo64 5,910 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 27 minutes ago, Roost it far said: Of course it could but he’s not played a big part this year. We have options. I remain confident. What options do you suggest who haven't recently failed? BBB and T Mac are cooked. Grundy has never been a capable forward, and Smith is unproven. Petty and JVR are the only 2 key forwards who have looked like taking a contested mark, in addition to being mobile. Petty is not replaceable. 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 10 minutes ago, chook fowler said: Sounds like a Lisfranc which is what he had before coming back He could not have had a Lisfranc. That’s a 12 month injury not a 5 week injury. 3 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 (edited) I prefer Joel Smith behind the ball. He’s athleticism is better suited to straight lines. He won the ball back a couple of times today and looked great. I’d like Grundy in, and a chance to look at him and Max again. Edited August 6, 2023 by The heart beats true 2 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted August 6, 2023 Posted August 6, 2023 All the worry over the best 22 once Oliver and Frisch back problem solved 3 Quote