DubDee 26,674 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Strong EMGs in Wouldn't mind a late change of Bedford in for Spargo. We need speed and pressure in the fwd 50 1 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Not at all confident but gee whiz , Brisbane is not Prelim caliber. We should at least get there. A Geelong vs Brisbane Prelim is going to be a snorefest. 1 Quote
At the break of Gawn 4,512 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 2 minutes ago, praha said: Not at all confident but gee whiz , Brisbane is not Prelim caliber. We should at least get there. A Geelong vs Brisbane Prelim is going to be a snorefest. A win is just expected. It’d be a disaster if we don’t make the prelim. To lose two home finals in a row against 2 interstate sides would just be an embarrassment. 4 1 Quote
IRW 1,388 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 1 hour ago, Redlagged said: Hard to argue with this, isn't it? Premiers then backing up to finish second, in such a competitive environment. Not too bad. That judgement is on hold until the season is over. Lose tomorrow and it's 5th or 6th rather than 2nd Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Well maybe there will be late changes. Quote
Superunknown 4,246 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Sometimes reading this forum is like reading Christmas cards from a grandma what with the excess and redundant “ “ ”fair “ dinkum “<insert poster name” this post is just “not on” 👀👀😂😂😂😵💫😵💫😵💫❤️💙❤️⏱ Quote
Wells 11 5,502 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 3 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said: The conservative and probably correct decision. Cannot help but think that with all the walking wounded our season is sputtering to its end but let's hope not seems to sum up the mood here and in me too DJ. I’m open to being surprised but have that familiar MFCSS cloud around me. 1 1 Quote
faultydet 7,623 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 28 minutes ago, titan_uranus said: Embarrassed? Towelled? In our three H&A games against Sydney and Collingwood we led all of them at three quarter time. In the final against Sydney we led by two goals halfway into the third quarter of one of the best and most intense games of the year. In the Geelong game we weren't at our best but still closed to within a goal in the fourth. They were all in their own way frustrating/disappointing, as every loss is to an extent, but in no way were we embarrassed in any of them. Ok, so we led at 3/4 time against Swans an Colonwood in 3 games and lost ALL 3 OF THEM. We also lost to Geelong Whats your point mate? We are not playing like a challenger, and unlike last year we have shown NOTHING that would intimidate the other contenders. Tell me what I missed, because I don't think its much. 3 Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,353 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Captain Obvious here ... Reigning premiers, undefeated after 10 rounds. Going out in straight sets would represent a fail. Reaching a Prelim would be a pass ... One difference between 2021 and 2022 is our record against top teams. Thank you ... 1 1 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 I'd expect better games from Neal- Bullen & Melksham tomorrow night 1 Quote
The Reverend 1,736 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Oh ye of little faith, have trust in the word of the coach, for blessed are they who believe even in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary, for they will be rewarded with another premiership. Blessed are they who refuse to be weighed down by common sense and logic for they will inherit a dynasty the likes of which has never been seen before. Blessed are they who keep the faith for they will be smiling smugly on the way to get the paper on Saturday morning. GO DEES! 2 Quote
COOLX 209 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 I cannot see us winning this time around against Brisbane . We another tall to forward to back up B.Brown. Some how the MCG has become a bogey ground for us and it is certainly one for Brisbane yet they would have learnt something from their past two encounters against us . We the the other hand lack flair , we have bottomed out , we are frighten to make decent changes to the team . 1 Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,452 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 3 hours ago, picket fence said: How Melksham and Spargo both stay is the eight wonder of world! Also no way would I have risked tracc. MADNESS! Oh ffs, give it a rest, Spargo was good last week his delivery and decision making was fine. All you do every time you call for Spargo to be dropped is confirm your footy IQ is limited 8 2 Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Hard to understand ANB getting another game after his last six weeks... Has been putrid. Then again, maybe he so important to 'structures' that we couldn't take a risk in bringing in a replacement? 1 Quote
deanox 10,070 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 (edited) 18 hours ago, faultydet said: Staggering that so many on here can't see what's directly in front of them. We are not a premiership side this year. We may get over the Lions this week, and that has been well analyzed by a few on here who have mentioned the low pressure game that Brisbane play and that we thrive on. But as Colonwood and Sydney have shown very clearly this year, we are far from elite when it comes to moving the ball under intense pressure, particularly from the midfield into the forward line. As much as it pains me, it's Geelong/Colonwood/Sydney for premiers this year. We are making up the numbers. I definitely agree that Geelong and Sydney should be odds on, but although they've got a good record against us, I can't see the pies getting up in 3 more finals 17 hours ago, titan_uranus said: Embarrassed? Towelled? In our three H&A games against Sydney and Collingwood we led all of them at three quarter time. In the final against Sydney we led by two goals halfway into the third quarter of one of the best and most intense games of the year. In the Geelong game we weren't at our best but still closed to within a goal in the fourth. They were all in their own way frustrating/disappointing, as every loss is to an extent, but in no way were we embarrassed in any of them. I think this is something that's worth highlighting too. Yeah we've got a poor record against those teams this year but it is also a bit of a sliding doors moment in a lot of those games. We've got a strong defensive structure meaning teams need to play their best to beat us. I think most of us agree that rounds 11-13 we were outrun by Freo, the Swans and Collingwood, however this hasn't been an issue the last few weeks. In round 17 Geelong beat us comfortably. We got back within a goal, yeah, but I don't think we ever looked like deserving to win. To me this was the worst lost of the year. In round 19 the dogs kicks 17.8 to beat us by 10. In round 21 Collingwood had to kick 15.6 to beat us by 7 points. Last week the Swans kicked 14.7. In none of those games was fitness a factor, and I really think that a few luckier breaks in any game and we win. To me this means that come Prelim and GF (if we make either or both) it's still a genuinely open contest. Don't rule us out yet. Edited September 9, 2022 by deanox 8 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 2 hours ago, faultydet said: Even if we smash Brisbane this week, nobody in their right mind would be claiming they were wrong to doubt us. We have been embarrassed so often by top 4 teams this year. I reckon you would search long and far for a team that wins a flag after being towelled in every high-pressure game they played in that year. We are not winning the flag in 2022. We can reload for 2023, but prepare yourself for a letdown if you think dazzle is off the mark this year. That might be so but what's it got to do with this week's selection? 1 Quote
faultydet 7,623 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Just now, Dr. Gonzo said: That might be so but what's it got to do with this week's selection? Ah, nothing Dr G We (may) beat the Lions this week, but we are on a hiding to nothing the following week. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Strong union by the sounds of it Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 8 minutes ago, faultydet said: Ah, nothing Dr G We (may) beat the Lions this week, but we are on a hiding to nothing the following week. You never know, what if the Cats suffer a bout of gastro like the week leading in to last year's Prelim? 🤣 Many here have completely lost it going by this thread. Yeah we may not win the flag this year but we are still in it and a win tomorrow night will see us in the final 4. From there anything can happen so strap yourselves in and enjoy the ride. The whinging and moaning is unbelievable. 7 2 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Goody won us a flag and still apparently is a nitwit who knows nothing about coaching. 2 3 Quote
TheWiz 787 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 I’m weirdly excited for this game. Not confident, but genuinely excited because this game will help to answer so many questions around our loading, fitness, game plan, predictability and selection consistency. 3 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 Just now, layzie said: Goody won us a flag and still apparently is a nitwit who knows nothing about coaching. It's madness, you'd think he was overlooking AA stars - Bowey might consider himself unlucky other than that there's no real options to bring in from Casey. Bedford had a chance earlier in the year, had one good game and that was it. Chandler maybe but unlikely he offers much more than Spargo or ANB who are proven premiership players. TMac is underdone and JVR isn't going to debut in a semi final. The sooking on here is ridiculous. 7 1 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 (edited) No change. ANB owes Goody big time. Weeks of fumbles and turnovers again tolerated. He must simply have a “blinder” to repay the coach’s faith in him. I guess it’s either Duck or no dinner this week for Goody. No change and we win. He’s a genius !! No change and we loss. He simply tolerated lack of performance too many times. Let’s unleash hell !! Edited September 8, 2022 by spirit of norm smith K 1 Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 I for one look forward to an easier draw next year if this year is a straight sets fail #SilverLinings #OddYearsNotEvensThisTimeRound Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted September 8, 2022 Posted September 8, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, dees189227 said: I'd expect better games from Neal- Bullen & Melksham tomorrow night I would add Gus, Kozzy, Viney, Spargo, LJ & Max (to a lessor degrree) to that list Edited September 8, 2022 by Demon Dynasty 1 Quote