Posted
11 minutes ago, Demon Jack said:

Great win! Saints have looked really good at times this year and Never really came close to us, even with their momentum in the third quarter (two goals to our one). 

Really looking forward to seeing how Salem fits back in the team when he's fit. Gus down back is playing career best football (may've played a career best game today) while Jordan keeps improving on the wing. Good problem to have!

For those who were watching closely, did St Kilda ever try to shut down Langdon? Seems like they just let him do as he pleased which was surprising considering the effectiveness of Hawthorn's tagging efforts last week.

I was sitting level 2A on Lingers wing. He could’ve laid out a blanket and cheese platter, such was the space he had/was given. 

• Haha 11

Posted
13 minutes ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Has any team ever gone through the Afl/Vfl season undefeated? Im pretty sure not..Do we look at this as motivational?? (not that we should need any).

Should we engineer a loss?!! (yes im kidding, i think)

.....oh the extraordinary problems of a top side.

I think Pies did in an 18 game season (lost a final, won flag) about 100 years ago

Posted
41 minutes ago, Thehardtackler said:

Was in the MCC. Had 6 feral Saints supporters insulting us the whole second half. Called our players ‘flops’. Said we were ‘weak’ and that they had ‘found us out’ and they would ‘beat us next time’. I have to admit that I got drawn in and called them ‘sore losers’. I am so glad we won.

Why didn't you use the line we have been hearing for decades & can finally say, at least I've seen my team win a premiership. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Webber said:

I was sitting level 2A on Lingers wing. He could’ve laid out a blanket and cheese platter, such was the space he had/was given. 

They couldn’t go with him so they tried taking him out. Pathetic side. 

Posted
38 minutes ago, Webber said:

As Meatloaf sang, you took the words…

Spargo’s off the ball work was massive…halved at least 2 contests where he was outnumbered, tackled to kill the release like he’s the best at it we’ve got. Love the boy! 

It wasn't just his tackling, it's how hard he pushes up & runs to provide a lead to get the ball

Posted

Wasn’t too bad. A very sloppy quarter in the third allowed them to come back. Still glad we came back and won the 4th.

Gawn a bit quiet. Clarry had a quiet game. Bradshaw was fantastic. Top notch game. May another standout. Really glad to see that we have finally beaten a top 4 team so critics can shut up a bit

Posted
11 minutes ago, Webber said:

Haha. 

AFL tactics are funny though. One week a team decides they're going to try and completely close him down, the next week a team decides to let him just do as he pleases. You'd think there'd be a bit more flogging tactics from each other.

Goody made the point during the week that every time a team tries a new tactic, such as closing down Langdon, it goes in to their "information bank" for tactics clubs might try during down the track and things we'll have to manage. I thought that was an interesting take, and a perspective you only get the luxury of having when you're the best team. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

Zac Jones is an embarrassment to the Jones name. 

We are a great team. 

Lever deserves the next 2 weeks off. 

Jones should get weeks for that reckless elbow on Oliver, as it was high, Intentional and had the possibility of causing serious damage eg Crushed Larynx, The dump on Langdon just as bad.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

I think Pies did in an 18 game season (lost a final, won flag) about 100 years ago

On the telecast, Bucks was asked if Melb due for a loss.  His reply was something to the effect of "definitely not!".  Went on to say something to the effect he'd love to see the dees go through the season undefeated!  I'm beginning to warm to the lad!  Thought his comments throughout the game were insightful from the way a coach looks at how a game is unfolding...Good stuff!

Posted
4 minutes ago, Vagg said:

On the telecast, Bucks was asked if Melb due for a loss.  His reply was something to the effect of "definitely not!".  Went on to say something to the effect he'd love to see the dees go through the season undefeated!  I'm beginning to warm to the lad!  Thought his comments throughout the game were insightful from the way a coach looks at how a game is unfolding...Good stuff!

Bucks is the best analyst going round (No offense Daisy).

Posted
1 hour ago, Thehardtackler said:

Was in the MCC. Had 6 feral Saints supporters insulting us the whole second half. Called our players ‘flops’. Said we were ‘weak’ and that they had ‘found us out’ and they would ‘beat us next time’. I have to admit that I got drawn in and called them ‘sore losers’. I am so glad we won.

Is that all you said ?? I would have given them Larry Dooley!!

Posted
5 minutes ago, Vagg said:

Agree Baz Post-game discussion on Fox with young Kath was informative and relaxed.

With winter approaching Bucks looked a million in that snappy well tailored pullover jacket number. Smart!

Posted

Watching the Goodwin footage of the Granny and seeing how calm he was when the doggies had full momentum knowing full well we would swing momentum back… I don’t get nervous when teams start kicking a few goals together. Wasn’t even worried in that 3rd term, I knew we would get momentum back and hold them off.

It’s just a part of the game knowing that teams will be able to come back at us for a while, not be able to maintain their pressure and attack long enough, then we get a lead and just defend it for the rest of the game. 

Posted
21 minutes ago, Vagg said:

I enjoy listening to Bucks a lot. I reckon he’s got a lot of insights into the game and he seems to see it pretty clearly. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Is that all you said ?? I would have given them Larry Dooley!!

No l. I said a few other choice things but I can’t say them on here. 

Posted

Sorry I haven't read the first 5 pages but just got back from the game....

Our first half was incredible. The Saints were clueless as to how to play us, they were stagnant, tried switching, tried short passing and in the end then they just kept bombing the ball into our fwd line. Our ability to cover the switch play was supreme.

Our structure and system is so sound my heart rate didn't get above 50.

I knew the Saints would come out after half time and try to move the ball quicker and through the corridor but it didn't matter. They kicked 2 goals to our 1 in the 3rd.

Amazing performance and we are blessed to be watching such an outstanding team.

Brayshaw, May, Langdon, Tracc, Brown, TMac, Spargo, Petty, Bowser, Viney, Lever, JJ and Jacko take a bow.

I love youse all.

• Like 14
Posted
51 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Why didn't you use the line we have been hearing for decades & can finally say, at least I've seen my team win a premiership. 

I did l. Can you believe they said that it was a fluke and we wouldn’t win another anytime soon! I told them they were dreaming!

Posted
38 minutes ago, Vagg said:

Was talking to a collingwood supporting mate the other day at work, both agreed we like Bucks more now as a commentator/radio host than as a coach. So much insight that we don’t normally get

Posted
1 minute ago, —coach— said:

Was talking to a collingwood supporting mate the other day at work, both agreed we like Bucks more now as a commentator/radio host than as a coach. So much insight that we don’t normally get

I think he came across as very arrogant as a coach, but now what I can see is that he is an INTENSE person when he’s representing a team in any form. He played like a soldier and as a coach, had the mentality that the world was against him, which I think he created in a way to give him the feeling he was in a battle. The guy gets motivation from a fight I think.

As a neutral commentator though, he comes across a relaxed guy that thinks about the game a lot.

My perception of his arrogance was misplaced.

Posted

This was not just a win, this was a phenomenal win. This is what happens when you poke the bear, Saints brought huge heat, time and again the Saints had us outnumbered 3:1 and the Demon player concerned (everyone did it) ran from contest to contest pressuring every single Saint in the chain. This was like a boxer throwing repeat 8 punch combinations, takes massive fitness. We CRUSHED them in the contest, respect to the Saints for not dropping their heads and making a game of it, but it was clear over the course of the game that there is daylight between us. Hardest ever votes. Ryder is a great ruckman, but his fitness while OK doesn't match the elite Gawn.

Shout out to Spargo in the 1st, thought he was dead when he got nailed by two Saints, he got the handball away and shook it off. Spargo is an elite player.

My mum was at the footy today (without her sons), thanks to the Dee's supporters that kept her company, she probably talked their ears off. 

Will have alot more to say, this game was the best this season of any match for so many reasons.