BDA 23,048 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 I love seeing West Coast getting belted. High on my wish list is to see the Dees smash them by 100 points. At Optus 1 Quote
MT64 1,148 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 07:07, Whispering_Jack said: Am I allowed to express my dissent with the standard of football on display today - that includes players and the persons officiating? Watching Port v Eagles on the couch and I’ve already waved my hands in dismay 3 or 4 times. Expand How many 50's paid against you???? Quote
Deepfreeze 227 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 (edited) I never thought I would ever say this, about another side, but this Eagles team looks worse than us in our Neeld nadir Edited April 23, 2022 by Deepfreeze 1 Quote
picket fence 18,242 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:03, Deepfreeze said: I never thought I would say this, but this Eagles team looks worse than us in our Neeld nadir Expand Nar NOTHING was worse than this! 2 Quote
DemonWheels 1,118 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 Excuse my ignorance on this one but is the West Coast team playing today all AFL listed players or do they still have top-ups? Quote
BoBo 2,961 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 06:31, Webber said: I heard a stat some weeks ago (wish I’d paid more attention) that teams who lose the grand final by more than 45 points don’t win a final the next year. Something like 70% don’t make finals at all. And the bigger the margin, the worse it gets (sample group gets smaller though). Ergo, Dogs won’t make finals, and if they do manage to scrape in, they’re going straight out. Expand Huh, that’s a great stat! I wonder if it’s a collective thing like loss of belief in game plan, or an individual loss of belief, is it an emotional grieving type thing? Does the coach make changes that hurt team play as an over-correction? All of the above? Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 Never like to get too far ahead of myself but in 3 weeks time we have Eagles followed by the Kangaroos. Quote
Chook 15,088 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:08, BoBo said: Huh, that’s a great stat! I wonder if it’s a collective thing like loss of belief in game plan, or an individual loss of belief, is it an emotional grieving type thing? Does the coach make changes that hurt team play as an over-correction? All of the above? Expand Nick Riewoldt (who of course has gone through just this) seemed to think self-preservation kicks in at a certain point - like "I don't want to be hurt like that again" so you don't work quite as hard, commit quite as much, and so on. 2 Quote
Engorged Onion 10,226 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:21, Nascent said: Never like to get too far ahead of myself but in 3 weeks time we have Eagles followed by the Kangaroos. Expand Watch the match day thread light up if we only win by 4-5 goals 1 Quote
Chook 15,088 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:21, Nascent said: Never like to get too far ahead of myself but in 3 weeks time we have Eagles followed by the Kangaroos. Expand Isn't Obi-Wan being sarcastic when he says that? I guess this gif works if you're Eagles and Kangas fans preparing to play Melbourne. 1 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 (edited) On 23/04/2022 at 08:25, Engorged Onion said: Watch the match day thread light up if we only win by 4-5 goals Expand Nothing more certain. On 23/04/2022 at 08:25, Chook said: Isn't Obi-Wan being sarcastic when he says that? I guess this gif works if you're Eagles and Kangas fans preparing to play Melbourne. Expand I think you're right actually! Tongue in cheek nonetheless. The club will probably be happy to grind out a 4-6 goal win and nothing is a given in footy. Edited April 23, 2022 by Nascent Quote
old dee 24,097 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:02, MT64 said: How many 50's paid against you???? Expand His dinner has been reduced to a Vegemite sandwich and a glass of water 1 Quote
old dee 24,097 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:04, picket fence said: Nar NOTHING was worse than this! Expand Sadly picket I think you are incorrect however I enjoy it happen to the Weagles. Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 West Coast have kicked 1 goal to 3 quarter time. Hilarious Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,072 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 07:43, dl4e said: West Coast look like a 2nd division side of the vfa from the seventies. Dreadful. Expand What? Dandenong was a bloody good side back then. Quote
picket fence 18,242 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:36, BDA said: West Coast have kicked 1 goal to 3 quarter time. Hilarious Expand So... are they still up?? 1 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 06:47, adonski said: They effectively try to play netball. Deliberately soft to not give free kicks away, and deliberately soft with ball in hand to draw frees from tackles as frequently as possible Expand I think there is some truth this. I reckon they deliberately train in how to draw a free. Don’t get me wrong, I mean it’s fun blaming the umpires, but in all seriousness it’s probably more the Doggies style that draws the free. I just wish the AFL umpiring dept would catch on already and pay attention to the disposal, lowering at the knees and falling forward. On the flip side it must take away from the required mind set to win games and we are seeing the transpire in front of our eyes. 1 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,072 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 (edited) On 23/04/2022 at 06:48, DEE fence said: Minor correction, I don't think any team is top 8 material after they play us. Expand The ol' JCV video cassette recorder was out over summer and running overtime. The other 16 clubs watched us dismantle the Dogs last September and have taken the leaf. Apply sustained pressure and they excrete themselves very, very badly. Calab Daniel is the number one offender . . . time and again. Edited April 23, 2022 by Queanbeyan Demon 1 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:45, CYB said: I think there is some truth this. I reckon they deliberately train in how to draw a free. Don’t get me wrong, I mean it’s fun blaming the umpires, but in all seriousness it’s probably more the Doggies style that draws the free. I just wish the AFL umpiring dept would catch on already and pay attention to the disposal, lowering at the knees and falling forward. Expand I think there can be no doubt they train to win frees. But that doesn't explain why they seemingly can't give away a free when they drop the ball, throw it, etc. And their opponents manage to give away frees that make even neutral supporters blow a gasket. None of it adds up. It's inexplicable, yet it keeps happening. 2 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 08:31, old dee said: His dinner has been reduced to a Vegemite sandwich and a glass of water Expand Why would that be? Quote
Demon Disciple 12,545 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 On 23/04/2022 at 07:27, John Crow Batty said: Do the betting agencies take wagers on the free kick counts? One could retire betting on dogs games. Expand Make it a multi with May perpetually kicking out to the left HBF. Nothing surer in life 1 Quote
gs77 4,624 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 Hinkley's seat is going to get pretty uncomfortable if Port cough this game up from here. Quote
picket fence 18,242 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 (edited) On 23/04/2022 at 08:47, Queanbeyan Demon said: The ol' JCV video cassette recorder was out over summer and running overtime. The other 16 clubs watched us dismantle the Dogs last September and have taken the leaf. Apply sustained pressure and they excrete themselves very, very badly. Calab Daniel is the number one offender . . . time and again. Expand The amount of uncontested ball he gets is off the charts but his contested ball is insanely poor, but as soon as he is made accountable he turns it over time and rime again. OVERATED player Edited April 23, 2022 by picket fence 2 Quote
Macca 17,132 Posted April 23, 2022 Posted April 23, 2022 (edited) On 23/04/2022 at 08:48, Mazer Rackham said: I think there can be no doubt they train to win frees. But that doesn't explain why they seemingly can't give away a free when they drop the ball, throw it, etc. And their opponents manage to give away frees that make even neutral supporters blow a gasket. None of it adds up. It's inexplicable, yet it keeps happening. Expand Clarkson complained about the Bulldogs 'method' of disposal by hand back after the 2016 semi final ... mentioned that his own team would need to learn how it's done, hinting that they would do the same That's 6 years ago now So all the clubs do it and try to disguise it but again, the Bulldogs do it better than the rest (probably in all facets of a free kick, if we're being honest) For instance, as you and most others know, the handpass used to require a clenched fist punching the ball from another hand/arm that was reasonably stationary (certainly not moving about at a great rate of knots) Now, the hand holding the ball can be moving at a great rate of knots and the slightest of 'taps' on the ball is allowed ... so that new interpretation can be exploited and is exploited. And the Bulldogs are the best at it. Again, in close with a mass of bodies around the ball, the release of the ball after immediately being tackled is difficult to see clearly. Especially into what has actually happened My eyes see a throw only being paid when it's absolutely obvious. The rest of the time it's play on And it's gone way past blaming the umps ... this is a rules of the game issue which is an AFL issue Edited April 23, 2022 by Macca 1 Quote